Voodooman Supersonic September 22, 2019 Share September 22, 2019 On 9/20/2019 at 4:32 PM, Watwheels said: Go thru so much hassle just to have the vrn. I think only in sg. What difference does it make whether it's your wife or you who uses the vrn? I cannot understand why ppl like to chase after numbers especially the Chinese. I'm Chinese too but when I see ppl spend thousands on a vrn I think they are kumgong cos they donate so much to LTA but all they get is a number. LTA dont even give you a lion dance around your car and put an orange "huat" on your car.🤣 My current plate has been with me for more than 18 years. I don't think I am kumgong and I don't buy 4-D as well. The plate has some sentimental value to me due to its origin, so I don't mind spending some money once in a while to keep it in the family. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bibimonky Neutral Newbie September 23, 2019 Author Share September 23, 2019 23 hours ago, Blackknight88 said: Hi, just to share, I did it too. they only allow transfer between immediate family members and the owners of the VRN must authorised the transfers . it can be done as one of the member has pointed out but there is an 'admin' fees to be paid. just call or email them for the details and process. Hi, thanks for sharing. For transferring of retained VRN, say from my wife to me, must I already have a vehicle for the transferred VRN to be registered to? Would like to know the 'admin' fee too... is it also $1.3k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackknight88 1st Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 16 hours ago, Bibimonky said: Hi, thanks for sharing. For transferring of retained VRN, say from my wife to me, must I already have a vehicle for the transferred VRN to be registered to? Would like to know the 'admin' fee too... is it also $1.3k? if I remember correctly , the admin fees are on top of any retainer fees payable . pls call LTA or email them directly for latest fees payable or you can contact one of the member in this thread that have done it more recently . good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 On 9/20/2019 at 4:32 PM, Watwheels said: Go thru so much hassle just to have the vrn. I think only in sg. What difference does it make whether it's your wife or you who uses the vrn? I cannot understand why ppl like to chase after numbers especially the Chinese. I'm Chinese too but when I see ppl spend thousands on a vrn I think they are kumgong cos they donate so much to LTA but all they get is a number. LTA dont even give you a lion dance around your car and put an orange "huat" on your car.🤣 Maybe it's his password to MCF account or whatever email. Loss the VRN and he dont know how to log on liao.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shawnigami 1st Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 On 9/20/2019 at 12:31 PM, Bibimonky said: Hi hi, newbie here and sorry if this question of mine has been asked before. I have tried reading up one motoring and this forum but is unable to come up with a good solution/answer. I wish to use my wife's VRN (when she sells her car) on a used car which I intend to purchase under my name. What is the most cost effective way to go about it assuming both cars are/will be under finance? 1. Transfer her car to me before selling? That would lower the resale value, but that would mean I only pay $1300 in getting the VRN retained on my newly purchased used car and probably also the most straight forward method? 2. Wife pays $1300 to retain VRN, then transfer to me for using on my new used car and I pay another $1300. So total $2600? is this correct? 3. Any other ways? Thanks and advice is much appreciated 😃 Write an appeal email to LTA, ask for transfer on VRN within family members. probably need to prove that she is your wife. LOL. They will reply the request then just go to counter pay. No transfer required. No change in number of transfer of the car also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shawnigami 1st Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 (edited) On 9/20/2019 at 4:32 PM, Watwheels said: Go thru so much hassle just to have the vrn. I think only in sg. What difference does it make whether it's your wife or you who uses the vrn? I cannot understand why ppl like to chase after numbers especially the Chinese. I'm Chinese too but when I see ppl spend thousands on a vrn I think they are kumgong cos they donate so much to LTA but all they get is a number. LTA dont even give you a lion dance around your car and put an orange "huat" on your car.🤣 May be you never had a nice number to retain. 😜 Edited September 24, 2019 by shawnigami Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saablover 2nd Gear September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 On 9/20/2019 at 4:32 PM, Watwheels said: Go thru so much hassle just to have the vrn. I think only in sg. What difference does it make whether it's your wife or you who uses the vrn? I cannot understand why ppl like to chase after numbers especially the Chinese. I'm Chinese too but when I see ppl spend thousands on a vrn I think they are kumgong cos they donate so much to LTA but all they get is a number. LTA dont even give you a lion dance around your car and put an orange "huat" on your car.🤣 To each it own..... not all are kumgong... if you value its importance.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 Reading about this topic about how it works. I'm still using the same VRN since i got my 1st car back in 2008. Last time was to new car so $100 only. But since not getting new car this time, have to pay the 1.3k. Got some sentimental value to me, my kids call us by our VRN (their nicknames for us). 6 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 (edited) On 4/21/2023 at 10:25 AM, Lala81 said: Reading about this topic about how it works. I'm still using the same VRN since i got my 1st car back in 2008. Last time was to new car so $100 only. But since not getting new car this time, have to pay the 1.3k. Got some sentimental value to me, my kids call us by our VRN (their nicknames for us). If the VRN got sentimental value to you, just pay $1.3k to retain the number lo. At least now they allowed to retain number to an used car. Last time even you want to pay also cannot, only can retain to new car. Or you buy the cheapest new car in the market, then you only pay $100 to retain the VRN. Edited April 21, 2023 by 13177 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 On 4/21/2023 at 10:30 AM, 13177 said: If the VRN got sentimental value to you, just pay $1.3k to retain the number lo. At least now they allowed to retain number to an used car. Last time even you want to pay also cannot, only can retain to new car. Yes i thought that was the case few years ago. That's why i was seriously considering giving up the VRN cos given the COE, it's almost impossible that i get a new car in 2025. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 If it makes you happy pay the 1.3k and keep the no. If not don't 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 When looking at cost of car 1.3k is not the most significant amount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 I pay high salary I pay high rental. It's just the cost of doing business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 I'd scrap the car...save the 1.3k...take off the plates and hang them on the wall at home as display, including the 1.3k then i'll also feel rich at the same time while looking at all of them 😁 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 On 4/21/2023 at 10:32 AM, Lala81 said: Yes i thought that was the case few years ago. That's why i was seriously considering giving up the VRN cos given the COE, it's almost impossible that i get a new car in 2025. You only need to change car in 2025, so maybe still have chance for the COE to soften. In 2025 then you start to see how la. If not just pay $1.3k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 On 4/21/2023 at 11:05 AM, 13177 said: You only need to change car in 2025, so maybe still have chance for the COE to soften. In 2025 then you start to see how la. If not just pay $1.3k. Haha won't happen lah. If weaker, only weaker by a bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 On 4/21/2023 at 10:25 AM, Lala81 said: Reading about this topic about how it works. I'm still using the same VRN since i got my 1st car back in 2008. Last time was to new car so $100 only. But since not getting new car this time, have to pay the 1.3k. Got some sentimental value to me, my kids call us by our VRN (their nicknames for us). The No is something $$ cannot buy small sum. I retained mine and it has been w me since 2007 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 21, 2023 Share April 21, 2023 I had an old car. Wanted a period correct VRN. So decided to pay for one. Found a XYXY one with SC#, was older than the car but it works. Worked out cheaper then had I used the number from day one. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...