Mkl22 Supersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 Reasonable to spike. 1. lock down, everyone at home. 2. Meter not read during lockdown so estimated. Once meter read, they claw back the difference. a mete does not suddenly jump and run so much faster. Especially more so for a water meter which is mechanical. More likely it gets jammed and stop moving. Same thing like old school car odometer. Got cases where the bugger suddenly spin so much faster meh? More often than not it just stops moving. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 26 minutes ago, 13177 said: Water meter at the void deck? Mine is. It’s a 42 years old estate. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 51 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Only for the newer meters which can send data back. I love the newer meter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 (edited) 4 minutes ago, inlinesix said: I love the newer meter The PUB guy who came said the new smart water meter very problematic so they are still using mechanical meter. Edited August 23, 2020 by Fcw75 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 Just now, Fcw75 said: The PUB guy who came said the new digital meter very problematic so they are still using mechanical meter. What kind of problem? I keep track of my daily electricity usage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 4 minutes ago, inlinesix said: What kind of problem? I keep track of my daily electricity usage The water meter, not electricity meter. PUB to start installation of 300,000 smart water meters at 7 locations in 2021 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/environment/pub-to-start-installation-of-300000-smart-water-meters-at-7-locations-in-2021?xtor=CS3-18&utm_source=STiPhone&utm_medium=share&utm_term=2020-08-23 11%3A08%3A29 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 12 hours ago, Fcw75 said: The PUB guy who came said the new smart water meter very problematic so they are still using mechanical meter. Spoiler I remember as a kid, one of my favorite hobby is watch the numbers tick on the meter. It's kind of therapeutic 1 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 23, 2020 Share August 23, 2020 On 9/19/2019 at 11:17 AM, Bluepica said: Hi, Have you switched? I have switched to Senoko since early this year and since then, every month billing date and payment due date is different! Sometimes I have to pay twice in a month !! look at my billing date :- 26 May22 Jun11 July30 Aug17 Sept complained to Senoko they said they can’t do anything because the reading was provided to them by SP Power. Taiji here n there . They said it’s like that throughout the industry. so for those who have switched to other electricity provider, are you facing the same problem? I am with iSwitch, billing date have been spot on every month on the same date. But recently I think because of WFH, bill went back to the rate of SP days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 10 hours ago, Windwaver said: I remember as a kid, one of my favorite hobby is watch the numbers tick on the meter. It's kind of therapeutic Bring back the childhood memories eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 mine is also damn weird. Negative amount for this mth! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JanM 2nd Gear August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 10 hours ago, Windwaver said: I remember as a kid, one of my favorite hobby is watch the numbers tick on the meter. It's kind of therapeutic me too, I used to knock it to try to make it turn faster .. 🤦♂️ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 My household consumption almost like my neighbours. Feb to July Elect increase in tandem with neighbours but still slightly lower than national average. Water was slightly above national average in Feb. Then July almost double national average. 🤔 Work from home all toilet breaks at home. 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Bring back the childhood memories eh? Yeah, simple life but happier. 2 hours ago, JanM said: me too, I used to knock it to try to make it turn faster .. 🤦♂️ I use eye power try to make it turn slower It never works. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 27 minutes ago, Windwaver said: Yeah, simple life but happier. I use eye power try to make it turn slower It never works. Fully agreed bro. Life’s simpler back then. Not so crowded, not like UN now. Now want to talk to people also have to analyze see what language they speak first. Anyway, coming back to the water meter, it does get faulty. The old meter jumped by 3 CuM in 3 days but the new meter jumped by 2 CuM In 4 days only. Same number of people and same usage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 5 hours ago, Windwaver said: Yeah, simple life but happier. I use eye power try to make it turn slower It never works. 4 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Fully agreed bro. Life’s simpler back then. Not so crowded, not like UN now. Now want to talk to people also have to analyze see what language they speak first. Anyway, coming back to the water meter, it does get faulty. The old meter jumped by 3 CuM in 3 days but the new meter jumped by 2 CuM In 4 days only. Same number of people and same usage. Damn, I didn't know my eye power actually works..... After so many years Yeah, back then we only have like 3M people? I'm lucky to have a color TV so all the kids from my neighbors come over to watch then we go catch spiders. I had Malay, Indian and even a Eurasian neighbor and as kids we fought and become good friends again hahaha, those were the days. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 (edited) https://www.facebook.com/groups/complaintsingapore/permalink/1002816450165249/ The more I look at it, the more it seems weird. I think authorities should start investigating on what is going on here. There could have possibilities that previously the guy that supposed to go take water and electricity meter reading did not do his job. Meaning that he/she was assigned to the said area to take the reading, but instead of doing his/her job, he/she maybe rest at home, go out with friends, go shopping and etc and then he/she just key in based on what he/she thinks the reading should be. (so perhaps this person is lazy and should not be working to go take meter reading in 1st place). So the reading keep on estimation for super long period of time. Then when CB is in phase 2 and they could start going back to take reading, perhaps the guy already left or is assigned to someone else or this person finally did his job and go take the reading. So now the reading is way too off the mark, some maybe negative as posted by one of them here, some maybe way too off. Like from 50plus dollars bill every month to suddenly become 1k plus bill even though the family electricity and water usage did not change much. Now we are seeing majority of people complained because the bill suddenly shoot up so high. There could have a lot more of them also could have negative bill just like @toyotashuttle shared but they keep quiet, coz they need not pay anything so why complaint? If authorities could go take a deep look at the July water and electricity bills and compare and see whether there are also large spike in people that are paying negative in water and electricity bills. If yes.. Then my assumption might be more of a possibility already. Edited August 25, 2020 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 23 hours ago, JanM said: me too, I used to knock it to try to make it turn faster .. 🤦♂️ haha. knock only? I'd go around the house and turn on all the taps and flush all the toilets. see if it is working properly. 21 hours ago, Atonchia said: My household consumption almost like my neighbours. Feb to July Elect increase in tandem with neighbours but still slightly lower than national average. Water was slightly above national average in Feb. Then July almost double national average. 🤔 Work from home all toilet breaks at home. 😅 You even know your neighbor's consumption - whether increase or not? Don't spy on people in the toilet leh. 20 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Fully agreed bro. Life’s simpler back then. Not so crowded, not like UN now. Now want to talk to people also have to analyze see what language they speak first. Anyway, coming back to the water meter, it does get faulty. The old meter jumped by 3 CuM in 3 days but the new meter jumped by 2 CuM In 4 days only. Same number of people and same usage. Funny how the meter starts to read more when it is faulty. Pray my meter becomes faulty and gives lesser reading! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 17 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: haha. knock only? I'd go around the house and turn on all the taps and flush all the toilets. see if it is working properly. You even know your neighbor's consumption - whether increase or not? Don't spy on people in the toilet leh. Funny how the meter starts to read more when it is faulty. Pray my meter becomes faulty and gives lesser reading! No spying lah. We held weekly meetings over zoom to discuss and share how many times we cook, wash dishes, laundry, mop floor, water plant, shower, flushes toilets a day. Any aquarium etc.... Done survey on average household occupants. How many toilets per unit and if we use full or half flushes. Utilise skills of an IT expert to crunch these with data analytics.... Then one of the business analyst compile into simple grahps for the rest to understand...... 😂 ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...