mercedes-amg-glb-45-spy-photo.jpg

Mercedes-Benz debuted its new GLB-Class in early June, but we have a bit longer to wait until the high-performance AMG variant arrives. However, with the GLB’s squarish shape officially revealed to the world, camouflage is falling from AMG GLB 45. This prototype was caught up close near the Nürburgring during a fuel stop, and our spy team wasn’t shy about getting a close look.

Technically speaking, we can’t say for certain whether this is the GLB 45 or the lesser-powered GLB 35. Ordinarily, we’d be able to tell the difference with a quick look at the rear, where a set of quad exhaust tips would reveal this as the 45. There are only two exhaust outlets on this SUV, though they obviously aren’t standard-issue GLB 35 tips. The wheels don’t help either, as we’ve seen the GLB 35 riding on spokes like these, and on black five-star wheels captured on camera with a GLB 45 prototype.

Ultimately, both muscle SUVs will have a similar appearance on the outside with tweaks to the front and rear fascias, and of course the trademark grille. Upgraded brakes and suspension will also be part of the AMG makeover, but the real difference comes under the hood. The GLB 35 should get the same 2.0-liter turbocharged four-pot that powers the AMG A35, generating 302 horsepower (225 kilowatts), and actually, the GLB 45 will probably have the 2.0-liter as well. It will be tuned considerably higher though, possibly up to 416 hp (310 kW) as found in the A45 S. At the very least, it should offer 383 hp (286 kW), which would still be enough to give this compact seven-seater plenty of thrust.

We’ve heard nothing official from Mercedes on when the AMG-tuned GLB models will debut. With the base model out and about right now, logic says the GLB 35 should arrive sometime later this year, possibly in September or even sooner. The GLB 45 should land either very late this year, or more likely, early in 2020.

I don't like the look either.

But if the pricing is not too far off, it will sell like hotcakes lah. It's a merc afterall [laugh]

price differential very huge leh.

jap/korean suv/crossover vs merc proper sized crossover/suv (GLB and above)

You are right loh, Price differential is high. But there was a saying, a man must have one of the B in his life.

Well, when the time come, hope my left and right brain can fight it out and draw a decisive decision.

Boh Bian ah, our car price here three time of others....:)

You are right loh, Price differential is high. But there was a saying, a man must have one of the B in his life.

Well, when the time come, hope my left and right brain can fight it out and draw a decisive decision.

Boh Bian ah, our car price here three time of others....:)

Glc also being refreshed. But minor changes with mbux system also coming in.

Lower OMV does not translate to lower selling price. Ask PML/Wearnes

thats true , Nothing beats Long waiting time  :D  OMV is nothing 

Some queries

GLB is front wheel drive with compact car MFA2 platform

GLC is rear wheel drive with class see platform

Is their NVH comparable?some say C is the ”real” entry to real MB......any insight from any folks here?

upzzzzzzzzzzz

any updates on pricing? I heard UK started pre-order (for RHD models). Any news on others? be it LHD or RHD?

Seems like the price of GLB will really sit right in-between the GLA & GLC... or to put things in perspective, GLB250 (7 seater) will be price around that of GLC200 (5 seater). [gossip]

For those that are keen and can read German, the full details (in PDF file) can be found on Mercedes-Benz (Germany) website.

Mercedes-Benz GLB Launches With Attractive Starting Price In Europe

11a77a83-2020-mercedes-benz-glb-pricing-

The Mercedes-Benz GLB will arrive in showrooms at the end of the year, but the company is currently accepting orders in Germany, where it’s offered with a choice of six powertrains, from €37,746.80 ($42,293).

In comparison, the more urban- and hatch-like GLA starts at € 30,333.10, while the larger GLC, from € 46,237.45 in Merc’s home market. In America, the respective starting MSRPs for the two models are $33,950 for the GLA and $40,700 for the GLC.

Built on the same basic underpinnings as the new A-Class, albeit bigger to offer more passenger room and the option of a third row of seats, suitable for occupants up to 1.68 meters (about 5.6ft) in height, the boxy GLB technically rivals the Audi Q3 and BMW X1. However, the base X1 is available from €32,700 ($36,639), whereas the 2020 Q3 starts at €38,600 ($43,249).

The only petrol engines available are the 163 PS (161 hp / 120 kW), 1.3-liter in the GLB 200 and 224 PS (221 hp / 165 kW), 2.0-liter in the GLB 250 4Matic.

The diesel lineup is more generous, being offered in GLB 180d, GLB 200d, GLB 200d 4Matic and GLB 220d 4Matic guises. Pricing ranges between €37,770.60 ($42,320) and €44,601.20 ($49,973). These models share the same 2.0-liter power unit between them, which churns out 116 PS (114 hp / 85 kW) and 280 Nm (207 lb-ft) of torque in the most affordable variant, and 150 PS (148 hp / 110 kW) and 320 Nm (236 lb-ft) in the mid-range grades. The 220d 4Matic has 190 PS (187 hp / 140 kW) and 400 Nm (295 lb-ft).

Models packing the 4Matic all-wheel drive system have the standard Offroad Engineering Package, with Downhill Speed Regulation, an extra driving mode and additional off-road light. Elsewhere, you can spec your GLB with a wide range of options, including LED headlights and fog lamps, 360-degree camera system, head-up display, Burmester premium audio, heated steering wheel. Several packages, like the Business, Driving Assistance, Night and Start, with the latter being offered until the end of the year, are also on the list.

Additionally, Mercedes-Benz is offering the GLB Edition 1 for a €9.044 ($10,133) premium, with 20-inch alloy wheels with opal orange rim flanges, bahia brown interior with coral red topstitching and walnut wood with coral red pattern.

I find it interesting that the 1.3l petrol has a much faster 0-100 than the 2l diesel. The hp of the 1.3l is much higher than the diesel but the diesel’s torque is slightly higher.

Just my opinion but I think from standstill, the diesel may have enough to overtake the petrol who will undoubtedly be the quicker car after say 80-100m?

And with the above, some points for consideration are:

1) 0-100 numbers must be taken in the context of local driving conditions. I know of some car owners who swear by 0-100 but I believe these nos. are only appropriate in racing conditions not day to day driving.

2) so much for the saying “there’s no replacement for displacement”

I know it’s not a very Apple to Apple comparison between a petrol v diesel as engine characteristics are different but just soliciting opinions.

Agree? Or are my assumptions flawed?

Open to discussion tks!

I find it interesting that the 1.3l petrol has a much faster 0-100 than the 2l diesel. The hp of the 1.3l is much higher than the diesel but the dieselâs torque is slightly higher.

Just my opinion but I think from standstill, the diesel may have enough to overtake the petrol who will undoubtedly be the quicker car after say 80-100m?

1) 0-100 numbers must be taken in the context of local driving conditions. I know of some car owners who swear by 0-100 but I believe these nos. are only appropriate in racing conditions not day to day driving.

2) so much for the saying âthereâs no replacement for displacementâ

I know itâs not a very Apple to Apple comparison between a petrol v diesel as engine characteristics are different but just soliciting opinions.

Open to discussion tks!

Yeah. Someone mentioned Torque is > Hp in SG driving. There is only so much you can sprint before meeting the red light. With greater torque the “burst” of power and pull more shiok over here.

0-100 as provided by the manufacturers are a good gauge but take it with a grain of salt. The types of tyres, humidity, etc. Then there are some manufacturers that like to +/- secs off their 0-100 timings.

Edited by Atachi

I find it interesting that the 1.3l petrol has a much faster 0-100 than the 2l diesel. The hp of the 1.3l is much higher than the diesel but the diesel’s torque is slightly higher.

I know it’s not a very Apple to Apple comparison between a petrol v diesel as engine characteristics are different but just soliciting opinions.

Open to discussion tks!

I truly believe in 0-100 timing especially for our start-stop traffic. Downgraded from a 7s car to a 14s car. It really is a struggle. Even my fren taking a lift from my car ask me to stop torturing the 14s car. Car engine roar very loud but speed is not there.

0-100 timing roughly lets you gauge how fast you can merge with expressway traffic, make a successful quick right turn, zoom out from slip road while traffic lights for oncoming traffic turns green or simply overtaking or undertaking.

Pricing:

Glb200 7 seater RHD. Available only Feb 2020

Sport: $122k + CoE

AMG line: $128k + CoE

AMG line premium: $138k + CoE

AMG line premium plus: $148k + CoE

Specs and comparison join my Whatsapp group. I will share the pdf

Pricing:

Glb200 7 seater RHD. Available only Feb 2020

Sport: $122k + CoE

AMG line: $128k + CoE

AMG line premium: $138k + CoE

AMG line premium plus: $148k + CoE

Specs and comparison join my Whatsapp group. I will share the pdf

U got this from C&C or PI?

Have a feeling this is PI price.

Open to discussion tks!

i think seeing how those older 2l sonata taxi accelerate from standstill can be good gauge.

diesel engine deals with weight better than similar sized petrol engine.

I have owned 13s, 10s and 7s car. but i never outrun them from standstill to like 50m. maybe my driving style is more relaxed. but i'm quite sure i have to step the gas quite hard to match them. 

of cos, at higher speed, diesel engine can feel out of breath, cos they cannot rev as high as petrol engine

i think seeing how those older 2l sonata taxi accelerate from standstill can be good gauge.

diesel engine deals with weight better than similar sized petrol engine.

I have owned 13s, 10s and 7s car. but i never outrun them from standstill to like 50m. maybe my driving style is more relaxed. but i'm quite sure i have to step the gas quite hard to match them.

of cos, at higher speed, diesel engine can feel out of breath, cos they cannot rev as high as petrol engine

That’s the gist of my point actually.

On paper some of the 0-100 can look impressive but as u have rightfully pointed out, u might still not be able to outrun a lesser 0-100 car at least for the start as its torque that determines this. I know there will be some that say can’t compare petrol v diesel which is true also but point is don’t be seduced by the 0-100 numbers.

I’m sure the Sonata taxi 0-100 will be nowhere near your 10s, 7s nos.

The other point was that all the big hoo ha on displacement is not really true in modern day engines which can be tuned to get higher output. Of course the old school guys will disagree on this.

That’s the gist of my point actually.

On paper some of the 0-100 can look impressive but as u have rightfully pointed out, u might still not be able to outrun a lesser 0-100 car at least for the start as its torque that determines this. I know there will be some that say can’t compare petrol v diesel which is true also but point is don’t be seduced by the 0-100 numbers.

I’m sure the Sonata taxi 0-100 will be nowhere near your 10s, 7s nos.

The other point was that all the big hoo ha on displacement is not really true in modern day engines which can be tuned to get higher output. Of course the old school guys will disagree on this.

haha there is a debate is another tread on NA vs TC. fact is in today's emission conscious world, big cc NA engine is losing its place

ya 0-100kmh is just one gauge. some even compared 0-50kmh and quarter mile timing

but for our daily drive, normal road car....i think these figures don't matter much

U got this from C&C or PI?

Have a feeling this is PI price.

yes self import price.

C&C i think at least $20k more on top of PI price going by the current trend 

haha there is a debate is another tread on NA vs TC. fact is in today's emission conscious world, big cc NA engine is losing its place

ya 0-100kmh is just one gauge. some even compared 0-50kmh and quarter mile timing

but for our daily drive, normal road car....i think these figures don't matter much

I have had an NA 8.9s car and turbo 8.9s car. but when driving, the turbo one just feels a lot more pull and shiok!! but go up genting the turbo car overheat