DFS to leave Changi Airport

Tohto

3 hours ago, Kusje said:

So the high rental isn't landlord's fault but the fault of these fellows who are willing to rent despite losses.

A combination bah.

Some businesses might be used to a certain place and don't want to risk losing customers if they move away, so LL just accept any increase in rent. Then if one accepted, landlords will become bold and raise for all, and they might not give in even if other shops can't tahan...

On 8/30/2019 at 9:50 AM, Kusje said:

both are problems.

I can never understand the problem with rentals tho. If it is too high, why do people keep renting?

Actually, if you go and look around, a lot of malls now struggling to attract tenants to fill up shop space. Centrepoint is obvious recent example but the situation is common in many malls.

I feel it's probably going to reach breaking point soon. If economy continue to be sluggish then I think we could see the bubble burst.

15 minutes ago, Benarsenal said:

Actually, if you go and look around, a lot of malls now struggling to attract tenants to fill up shop space. Centrepoint is obvious recent example but the situation is common in many malls.

I feel it's probably going to reach breaking point soon. If economy continue to be sluggish then I think we could see the bubble burst.

That's good to hear.

Landlords have been making supernormal profits for far too long and doing far too little work.

5 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Lotte who is taking over DFS must be sweating over the covid-19.

Shag.

Ask for 1 year rental waiver

Edited by inlinesix

4 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Ask for 1 year rental waiver

If they allow, then alot of shopping malls will follow suit. hahaha. mai lah. will recession one. I scare.

Just now, kobayashiGT said:

If they allow, then alot of shopping malls will follow suit. hahaha. mai lah. will recession one. I scare.

It will be cheaper to cancel the rental contract now.  Just pay the damage to Changi Airport.

Let those space empty for months.