Spring Moderator August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 Naturally forumers will post less as they adjust to the new site and settings. I myself also posting less as I need to get up scratch to the new surroundings but I’m sure posts will go back to normal once the teething issues are solved and we are more familiar👍 ↡ Advertisement 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 I think the reliability issues turned off some people. But any place is the same lah. After renovation... 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 18 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I think the reliability issues turned off some people. But any place is the same lah. After renovation... I am one of them. Hard to navigate. Search function is terrible as well as Posts I Participated. Why fix it if it ain’t broken? Don’t trouble trouble if trouble doesn’t trouble you. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 Just now, Fcw75 said: I am one of them. Hard to navigate. Search function is terrible as well as Posts I Participated. Why fix it if it ain’t broken? Don’t trouble trouble if trouble doesn’t trouble you. navigation is largely the same? Other than new posts since last view. The search is broken though. don't ask me. SPH got some plans, haha website revamp is one of the budgeted items lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 6 minutes ago, Lala81 said: navigation is largely the same? Other than new posts since last view. The search is broken though. don't ask me. SPH got some plans, haha website revamp is one of the budgeted items lor. I know it’s free and some will say don’t complain but still...oh well, maybe SPH got tie up with NTUC to finally allow us to change points for voucher..hahaha. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 15 hours ago, Inlinefour said: After revamp Me ah pek don't know what to use liao Plus always hang😤 Unker check mail box lah your PG or MG Kad collecting dust 🤣🤣 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 1 hour ago, Spring said: Naturally forumers will post less as they adjust to the new site and settings. I myself also posting less as I need to get up scratch to the new surroundings but I’m sure posts will go back to normal once the teething issues are solved and we are more familiar👍 Not teething yet again problems ......more like denture problems 😮😖 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 37 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: I know it’s free and some will say don’t complain but still...oh well, maybe SPH got tie up with NTUC to finally allow us to change points for voucher..hahaha. win the TOTM or most deserved. haha have to work for the $ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 personally I find nothing much really have change in term of getting ard the new format. It is close to what it used to be, just mayb look a little different. But what I really like is the mobile version. Although not identical, but is very very close to the desktop version. I never use the last mobile version at all and always switch to desktop on my mobile phone before the revamp. These past few days, I have used the phone version more than my laptop. If not for the screen size and easier typing, I probably wont even use my laptop anymore . I would say, if we can let go of the past, and look forward to and accept changes, the revamp is an upgrade. And BTW, given a choice, no employee wants to go through such massive changes also, they also rather not fix it if it isnt broken, so lets cut them some slack and let them get their job done in peace. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 (edited) let me kaypo a little and share some of the basic features, hopefully can help some bros here to navigate better. On Desktop version, at the MCF home page, scroll down and we can see all the tittle tabs we used to see click on any of the tabs, and it will bring you to the list of topics, by default the latest post will appear on top, but pinned and starred topics over rights this default. You can do your own setting by using the "sort by" button to the right of the page. If you go to the "forum" tab, it will bring you to the format below, which is the same as what was in the old format. Below the search bar, we can see the short cuts, namely "new post since last visit", "all quoted replies", "all participated post", "all latest discussion". We can go into each short cuts and set up according to our preference. Overall, I seriously didnt see much changes, basic functions are almost unchanged, or maybe re-arranged a little. But to get used to all other fine details will of course take some time. So lets get use to the basic functions and then slowly find out what functions are removed or added, useful or not is another story. I am sure the forum is still taking feedback, but more of how we can re-arrange the buttons to make them more user friendly or accessible. Or can we move some functions together, removed addition clicks. But dont expect them to take immediate action, they will also have to weigh it out if it is reasonable to act on the feedback. Otherwise, slow loading, error 504, breaking links, these are just part of the early part of the revamp, they will auto sort out as the guys stabilize the system, which I think is almost, or close to job done. At least I find it stabilizing the whole of yesterday and today. Edited August 31, 2019 by Tianmo 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 I also find myself posting less. Seems like I'm full from eating cold turkey 🤣 There's good and bad in this revamp. Good is it's easier to post pix from mobile site. Navigation is about the same as a desktop site. But what I miss most is the "All participated posts". When I tap on it, there's only 1 post there and it's an old post. So now I have to tap on individual forums to check out the posts. And the React thingy.. how does it work ah? Last time we can give points, now it's just a like with no points? 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevle 5th Gear August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 the previous version allows user the option to select the number of posting he/she preferred to show on each page, where can I do that now. I hate having to keep going to the very top or bottom to select "NEXT" page. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 So far I miss 504😂😂😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 1 hour ago, RadX said: So far I miss 504😂😂😂 nah, i will give you 1 everyday!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 2 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said: I also find myself posting less. Seems like I'm full from eating cold turkey 🤣 There's good and bad in this revamp. Good is it's easier to post pix from mobile site. Navigation is about the same as a desktop site. But what I miss most is the "All participated posts". When I tap on it, there's only 1 post there and it's an old post. So now I have to tap on individual forums to check out the posts. And the React thingy.. how does it work ah? Last time we can give points, now it's just a like with no points? Yah, the "all participated post" seem to be broken. There is a filter button where we can make changes and settings, but it doesn't save the new settings. Maybe the team can look into it later. Meanwhile , try the "new post since last visit" below it, quite similar but is not what you have participated, rather is all new posts since you last visited. You can also go to the filter page and make changes and settings to what you want to see. The react thingy now give you 5 options, besides the usual praise and dislike, which is now 1 point only instead of the 1-5 points you can select, there is a shock, sad and angry option. To me it make sense, that is if I praise you, it doesn't really matter how much points I give you, It is a gesture that I agree with you, or that I am friendly. Unless you value the points more than the gesture, then that is a different thing. Most ppl prasie 5 in the old format anyway. Dislike is no need to say, give you 1 or 5 dislkie makes no different, ppl will just jump when they see a dislike. Ppl bother how many praises they get, but a dislike is a dislike, give 1 or 5 is still cannot accept one. But now before you dislike, you got other options. Maybe you are sadden by the comment you can give a sad react, if you are shock by it, you can give a shock react, if you are angry with the comment, you can give an angry react instead of a dislike. Last time you buay song, the most you can do is give a dislike, then you make enemy out of it. Of course can also hide under anonymous and let that person kpkb lah. The good thing now is the other options has no points attached to it, you can react angry face to every post also no one will really bother, you angry then angry lor, no dislike and cut points can liao. So now to press dislike you need to really hate that post, or hate that person, otherwise maybe max will get an angry face. Like wise to get dislike for a post, that post or that person needs to be quite jialat. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 I always only look at the last new posts and nothing else 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 So now can no longer do anonymous dislike haha?! Finally! Also tested can remove the reaction, but don't know the validity window. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 31, 2019 Share August 31, 2019 2 hours ago, Heartlander said: So now can no longer do anonymous dislike haha?! Finally! Also tested can remove the reaction, but don't know the validity window. yah, seem like no more anonymous function, both praise and dislike. I think there is no validity window, you can remove a reaction anytime, 5 days is as far back as I have tested. I think beyond one week, nobody would even remember who or which post they reacted to.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...