Soh Rui Yong is not selected for SEA Games

Ender

Bottom line is who's the boss ?

Don't think you are, Mr Soh, no matter how world class you are.

On 8/2/2019 at 7:47 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Unfortunately, most of Singapore's citizens can't really be bothered to give a fark or damn. They are too busy working to make ends meet than to bother about sports.

Who say?

Many Singapore citizens gets feverish and passionate with football. And only international football.

Also throw their hard earned money to support the games.........betting.

Edited by Atonchia

On 8/2/2019 at 9:10 AM, Davidtch said:

Marathon is the most boring sports to watch on TV.

For SEA Games, i think 2.5 hrs finish liao.

Not really.

For those who love running it's not boring.

To them Golf could be most boring that last more than half a day that only see grass, sky, water bodies, may people walking on grass........

Tennis matches can last for hours too.

Snooker matches too.

But there will always people loving the sports.

Looks like Soh can kiss his SEA games 2019 gold medal good bye for good liao, dont think SA will approve his sanction and go race on his own even if he apply.  -_-

From the last comment of SNOC, it seem like he can also forget about any Olympic selection in 2020  as  well.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Full write out in the ST this morning, but soft copy here need to subscribe.

https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/soh-rui-yong-hits-back-at-singapore-athletics-over-sea-games-non-selection-comments

Nearest similar news only can find on mothership below. 

https://mothership.sg/2019/08/sa-snoc-soh-rui-yong-appeal/

On 8/4/2019 at 4:21 AM, Atonchia said:

Not really.

For those who love running it's not boring.

To them Golf could be most boring that last more than half a day that only see grass, sky, water bodies, may people walking on grass........

Tennis matches can last for hours too.

Snooker matches too.

But there will always people loving the sports.

I love running also don’t watch marathon.

I only watch cycling

  On 8/4/2019 at 12:45 AM, Kb27 said:

Bottom line is who's the boss ?

Don't think you are, Mr Soh, no matter how world class you are.

Soh unfortunately not world class.. his cutting of hole and wearing his personal sponsor me thinks the show stopper. Anyways .. there are other marathons like Boston, Tokyo etc.. SEA GAMES small fry la

On 8/2/2019 at 1:49 PM, Tianmo said:

Soh started running marathon in 2014, and in 2016, the year after he won SEA gold, he had issue with Mok, a fellow marathon runner, who is the 2013 SEA gold medalist and 7 times SCSM local champion, with regards to how SA sld correct its selection criteria.

https://www.todayonline.com/sports/mok-defends-spore-athletics-rio-wildcard-discussion

and then look at his response to Mok days later, putting forward a challenge because of different opinion? Again, it show that performance alone doesnt get you places.

https://www.facebook.com/sohruiyong/photos/dear-mok-ying-ren-if-you-have-a-problem-pick-up-the-phone-and-call-me-to-clarify/1044492255626424/

I dont know Sim, but have some conversation with Ang Cheng Xiang before. A fine young man who mostly kept to himself during training and doesnt talk a lot. Cheng Xiang broke the national record 3 times this year, after making some changes to his start.

so why did Soh not brought up the issue and protest against the award to Liew earlier?

this is what he said.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/my-only-regret-not-speaking-sooner-says-marathoner-soh-teammates-disputed-sportsmanship

and I copy and paste what I find interesting about what he had not expected in the article.

However, Soh had not expected the story to âsnowball into two sportsmanship medalsâ,

He added that he had not expected the story to be âbrought up over and over againâ as a tool to teach students and coaches about sportsmanship,

A 8th position runner has now outshine the champion? Not acceptable to someone whom judge everything base on performance?

Liew was given a special award by SNOC, well that awards is an internal award, so SNOC made the final decision. Soh really cant do much abt it.

The problem I see is the award by Pierre de Coubertin world fair play Trophy. Soh is very upset with this award presented to Liew which became talk of the town, over shining his SEA games gold medal. But SNOC only nominated Liew, It is the Fair play council that decides to award the trophy to Liew, Soh's action is putting him alone vs Liew, SNOC and The Fair play council.

To dig up something after 3 years with such explanation? Well, its up to individual to judge his character.

He mentioned he might one day run for the Post of SA President if his passion still drive the day he is done with running. To me, for a person who puts forward performance as the only critical, disregard team work and respect for team mates, using performance as challenge to shut out any other opinion, and not knowing how to function as a team, I think he is best stick to his running alone. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Agree.

Running individually or being an individual champion versus driving the sports as an association is very different.

I am not saying Soh character has issue. But if someone is focus on dealing with opponent that energy and effort could be better diverted elsewhere.

Just using a very extreme example of "sportsperson" using whatever it takes to win.

Tonya Harding story is one of whatever it takes to be a champion. It just don't last.

Edited by Atonchia

On 8/4/2019 at 5:40 AM, Davidtch said:

I love running also donât watch marathon.

I only watch cycling

Hahaha so true. Never watched any Marathon telecast.

I only watch the video breaking below 2hrs video posted a whole ago here.

On 8/3/2019 at 4:38 PM, Sosaria said:

Doesn't mean must say yes all the time. This is a misconception. The trick is that if you want to do something different, you must be able to convince your boss, whether by facts or by psychological means. Both ways require tact and reading your boss' thinking. That's the hardest trick to learn in advancing career

On the surface you are correct.

One day When you kena the undecurrent, you will

There is something many might have missed, that SNOC actually interviewed a number of independent witnesses, and those 4 were willing to  make a statutory declaration, whereas the 2 witness Soh called upon did not. These 4 witnesses are believe to be independent individuals with no connection to any of the 2 runners, while Soh had 2 of his coaches as witnesses. 

Anyone can almost say anything you like on social medias, and get away with lies and untruths, but it is an offence to make a false statement under the Oats and declaration act in a form of Statutory declaration. 

Here is something quite interesting to what is going on, thought of course is from the opposite camp of Soh. 

https://runone.co/tag/soh-rui-yong/

Like some had mentioned, sometime when the head grow too big, the eyes also become swollen and vision become blur, worse is pride so high rather die than accept mistake and say sorry... -_-  [laugh]​ 

By the way, Whenever Eliud Kipchoge was interviewed, he talks about his team and how his team and him plan, train and work on his training plans. I have never heard Kipchoge said anything about he alone won anything. 

When Soh Rui Yong speaks, is always about how he wins his race and how he plan to train and wins any races, anybody know who his coach is? Or is there a team who helps to train or pace or supports him? 

One is world class, the other SEA game class, outside of SEA games, who is Soh Rui Yong? That SG guy who won SEA games twice back to back lah! Oh is there such a guy? whats his name again?  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Well. In summary.

Soh accuses Ashley of making up story. 

SNOC stands by ashley cos of their witnesses 

Ashley buay tahan the repeated social media attacks, so he respond with lawyer letter

Soh says F off but doesn't try to pick apart the SNOC evidence. While eyewitness testimony is considered weak in the view of the court, but SNOC has more than Soh. And all are independent also.

Now they going to meet in courts.

Meanwhile he say F off to SNOC few days ago, now he say F off to SA for not protesting the SNOC omission.

Doesn't take a genius to see that SNOC, SA, Ashley and quite likely the courts will say the same back to him... Or at least the court will just tell him to zip and pay damages.

Latest noise Soh is making on social is SA has removed him from their whatsapp chat group.

SA cutting ties liao.

On 8/5/2019 at 4:55 AM, Ender said:

Latest noise Soh is making on social is SA has removed him from their whatsapp chat group.

SA cutting ties liao.

What did he expect when he called SA's comments "a piece of fluff" and said that "they should have the guts to not nominate him in the first place"... -_-

Well at least SA listen to him, grow some guts and remove him from the whatsapp grp now.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Google told me many top talented athletes had have to cut short their careers not because they wanted to, but because of the associations whom manage their sports want them to, mainly due to  character and attitude issues.  

On 8/5/2019 at 4:36 AM, Lala81 said:

Well. In summary.

Soh accuses Ashley of making up story. 

SNOC stands by ashley cos of their witnesses 

Ashley buay tahan the repeated social media attacks, so he respond with lawyer letter

Soh says F off but doesn't try to pick apart the SNOC evidence. While eyewitness testimony is considered weak in the view of the court, but SNOC has more than Soh. And all are independent also.

Now they going to meet in courts.

Meanwhile he say F off to SNOC few days ago, now he say F off to SA for not protesting the SNOC omission.

Doesn't take a genius to see that SNOC, SA, Ashley and quite likely the courts will say the same back to him... Or at least the court will just tell him to zip and pay damages.

I did mentioned earlier that I met Soh once at KPT ( kallang practice track), and the only one time I saw him, he had some issues with other runners on the track.

I was seated near the finishing line, and he was doing interval laps on lane 1. It was a sat afternoon IIRC, beside Soh, there were other teams and some public runners training on the track.  And then I saw Soh stopped and making some noise to the other runners, that was when i took notice and realize it was Soh. 

I asked the guys ard what happened, and they told me Soh was very upset with those slower runners running in lane 1, he wanted all of them to get out of his way because they were blocking his interval training. Big entitlement!!!!  -_-

I think he suits the Hong Kong protest very well.  [:p]  [laugh]

anyway, he was not wrong actually, lane 1 to lane 4 are suppose to be reserved for national athletes,  but nobody really bothers and all just share the tracks with the public. With the relay team taking lane 4-5, and hurdlers took lane 7-8, the place was quite occupied. 

That evening I saw what kind of entitlement attitude he had from far, and mind me, he never appear friendly to anyone... -_-

Hope Soh finds his teacher in life soon and really focus on what he really wants to achieve in life.

You can't be running at this level for very long. You need to think what if you can't compete competitively. 

Don't understand why he wants to be enemy with almost everyone in the sports fraternity?  

On 8/5/2019 at 8:25 AM, Tianmo said:

I did mentioned earlier that I met Soh once at KPT ( kallang practice track), and the only one time I saw him, he had some issues with other runners on the track.

I was seated near the finishing line, and he was doing interval laps on lane 1. It was a sat afternoon IIRC, beside Soh, there were other teams and some public runners training on the track. And then I saw Soh stopped and making some noise to the other runners, that was when i took notice and realize it was Soh.

I asked the guys ard what happened, and they told me Soh was very upset with those slower runners running in lane 1, he wanted all of them to get out of his way because they were blocking his interval training. Big entitlement!!!! -_-

I think he suits the Hong Kong protest very well. [:p][laugh]

anyway, he was not wrong actually, lane 1 to lane 4 are suppose to be reserved for national athletes, but nobody really bothers and all just share the tracks with the public. With the relay team taking lane 4-5, and hurdlers took lane 7-8, the place was quite occupied.

That evening I saw what kind of entitlement attitude he had from far, and mind me, he never appear friendly to anyone... -_-

Self entitlement. This one if go overboard is no good leh. Nowonder he keep having clashes with people and organisations. With his self entitlement mindset, no matter where he go will surely be hated by people. Like this he will forever be alone. He cannot function as a team.

On 8/3/2019 at 3:17 AM, Tianmo said:

Now that you have mentioned. It seem like the Gold medal at SEA games for marathon is really nothing to shout about comparing even to our very own SCSM, which Soh never took part until ask to do so last year!!!  [:p]

But since  Soh was in the leading pack, and Liew just a pack behind, surely the many cameras would have been focusing on them. I am sure there would be video footage to show how the guys ran, more over it was only 5.5km into the race, so a change in pace would have been very obvious if Liew had slowed down. 

It is quite strange if there is zero video footage to show what actually happened.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Aiyah, so what top of singapore? If a few ethiopians come and join they won't even able to smell their ethiopian fart.....

On 8/6/2019 at 2:39 AM, Tjkbeluga said:

Aiyah, so what top of singapore? If a few ethiopians come and join they won't even able to smell their ethiopian fart.....

There are genetics difference African and Asian.

In addition, our runners is still far from fellow Asian (like Jap)