Worst Decision ever - buying a Stuttgart Auto Macan

Sp4wn

1 hour ago, Sp4wn said:

anyway just got another update. replacement battery will be at $1400. (for potential macan owners out there who want to know). they will however, try to fully charge the battery once using their equipment and see if it can tahan longer.

car has extended warranty from year 5 to year 7, so cant bring outside to change, even though other porsche workshops charge abt $500 ish.

so the extended warranty itself is definitely a double edged sword ...

New battery replacement under the extended warranty right? 

Not sure how good the battery after fully charged.

If something is drawing the battery power silently and constantly even when car not in use, what is the point of changing a new battery, it will be drained completely again. 

Are they doing a check on this? You can't be so free to drop by all the time for a battery recharge or replacement. 

Common suspected blood drinkers, I mean, power monsters are car cam, power windows, any faulty gadgets, oh, ya, with this particular car model, lots of faulty stuff to win the Bloody Bad Car of the Years Award from its history documented here. 

Stay safe and stay happy. I know one of the happiest day will be when you change to a better car. We wait with anticipation. 👍🤭

Edited by PSP415

3 hours ago, Sp4wn said:

anyway just got another update. replacement battery will be at $1400. (for potential macan owners out there who want to know). they will however, try to fully charge the battery once using their equipment and see if it can tahan longer.

car has extended warranty from year 5 to year 7, so cant bring outside to change, even though other porsche workshops charge abt $500 ish.

so the extended warranty itself is definitely a double edged sword ...

so you have extended warranty which doesn't cover the battery but can't change battery outside to preserve the extended warranty which doesn't cover the battery.And this is $1.4K . 😅

I stupidly bought extended warranty from PML but then realised that my time is more important than theirs especially in a single car household.

1 hour ago, shrjun said:

so you have extended warranty which doesn't cover the battery but can't change battery outside to preserve the extended warranty which doesn't cover the battery.And this is $1.4K . 😅

I stupidly bought extended warranty from PML but then realised that my time is more important than theirs especially in a single car household.

SA gave him an extended warranty after all the hoo haa from Page 1 of this thread.

4 hours ago, AndrewLee72 said:

Did I see wrong. Extended warranty - so your car battery is NOT covered under the warranty ?

nope not covered.

4 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

SMLJ starter battery cost 1.4k 😨

probably $500 for the battery and $500 for coding and $400 just to squeeze you back for the extended warranty

ya balls. i thought the same. i checked outside workshop is $500 all in ... so the battery is cheaper than $500 even.

3 hours ago, t0y0ta said:

AGM battery from Banner (OEM for Porsche) or Varta should be 400+ hahaha

But can understand you don't want to do any action to jeopardize your remaining warranty of your lemonade

exactly ... so now im stuck. if i bring outside, they will blame any issue that comes up, on the battery being replaced outside. so they have essentially cornered me lol

3 hours ago, PSP415 said:

New battery replacement under the extended warranty right? 

Not sure how good the battery after fully charged.

If something is drawing the battery power silently and constantly even when car not in use, what is the point of changing a new battery, it will be drained completely again. 

Are they doing a check on this? You can't be so free to drop by all the time for a battery recharge or replacement. 

Common suspected blood drinkers, I mean, power monsters are car cam, power windows, any faulty gadgets, oh, ya, with this particular car model, lots of faulty stuff to win the Bloody Bad Car of the Years Award from its history documented here. 

Stay safe and stay happy. I know one of the happiest day will be when you change to a better car. We wait with anticipation. 👍🤭

thats why when my rear lights stop working, and then the memory seats, they said its a battery issue. they said they were able to replicate as my voltage was 11.8 at their side (even though dashboard shows 14v). my dashcam is blackvue, with the magicbattery option or whatever, that auto cuts off to prevent drainage below a certain threshold.  haha the part in bold ... really made me laugh. i must be a sucker for pain. or they must be suckers to want to keep me around. seems like a really bad symbiotic relationship.

i know man ... dreaming of an e63 ... see if it happens when the kids are older. 

24 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

SA gave him an extended warranty after all the hoo haa from Page 1 of this thread.

looking back, they probably know they will recoup the cost of the extended warranty ... on avg extended warranty is abt 2.5k/y. they added 2 years.

and then charge 1.4k for what is essentially is $300-400 job.

anyway this thread is more for anyone out there thinking to buy a macan. honestly, ill pay it, but if the 2 problems (esp the memory seats) fail again in the next few mths .. there will definitely be hell to pay ... 

dont look at me, they dug themselves into this hole by telling me they couldnt fix the original issues in the first place. still havent met another manufacturer / AD who has ever done so in writing ... 😂

• Sad 2

15 minutes ago, Sp4wn said:

nope not covered.

ya balls. i thought the same. i checked outside workshop is $500 all in ... so the battery is cheaper than $500 even.

exactly ... so now im stuck. if i bring outside, they will blame any issue that comes up, on the battery being replaced outside. so they have essentially cornered me lol

thats why when my rear lights stop working, and then the memory seats, they said its a battery issue. they said they were able to replicate as my voltage was 11.8 at their side (even though dashboard shows 14v). my dashcam is blackvue, with the magicbattery option or whatever, that auto cuts off to prevent drainage below a certain threshold.  haha the part in bold ... really made me laugh. i must be a sucker for pain. or they must be suckers to want to keep me around. seems like a really bad symbiotic relationship.

i know man ... dreaming of an e63 ... see if it happens when the kids are older. 

looking back, they probably know they will recoup the cost of the extended warranty ... on avg extended warranty is abt 2.5k/y. they added 2 years.

and then charge 1.4k for what is essentially is $300-400 job.

anyway this thread is more for anyone out there thinking to buy a macan. honestly, ill pay it, but if the 2 problems (esp the memory seats) fail again in the next few mths .. there will definitely be hell to pay ... 

dont look at me, they dug themselves into this hole by telling me they couldnt fix the original issues in the first place. still havent met another manufacturer / AD who has ever done so in writing ... 😂

Yup, long haul, u take all back plus some with the problems this shxxx car came with. 

Tahan.

U will come out a better person (if patience and high threshold for calmness are still virtues 😂). 

They dug own grave and still think so clever to cut corners and save costs. Totally deserving the fate that Karma is happily preparing. 

Take care and stay safe. With you totally on this. 

Edited by PSP415

German reliability. My arse. 

If the Germans had been as reliable as your car some 80+ years ago, we would have a lot more Jews today. 

And I don't care how dark that is. 😂

Not that I am recommending this as a course of action but this blasted car deserves to be pushed off the side of Yishun dam and the necessary insurance procedures initiated

17 hours ago, inlinesix said:

seems like they are cashing back the warranty .

13 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

Not that I am recommending this as a course of action but this blasted car deserves to be pushed off the side of Yishun dam and the necessary insurance procedures initiated

Shouldn't pollute our water with junk lah...best to load it on cruise to no where...

Oh wait...any used porky on board that cargo ship...? 😁

18 hours ago, PSP415 said:

Yup, long haul, u take all back plus some with the problems this shxxx car came with. 

Tahan.

U will come out a better person (if patience and high threshold for calmness are still virtues 😂). 

They dug own grave and still think so clever to cut corners and save costs. Totally deserving the fate that Karma is happily preparing. 

Take care and stay safe. With you totally on this. 

my 3 babies should thank them. really true. now become more zen these days. no choice.

14 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

German reliability. My arse. 

If the Germans had been as reliable as your car some 80+ years ago, we would have a lot more Jews today. 

And I don't care how dark that is. 😂

thats the running joke .. my wifes citroen has zero issues for more than 2 years. my macan cant go a full year without an issue cropping up .. im literally still waiting for the pcm to be fixed after reporting it end oct and getting replacement approval early nov ... its reliably unreliable.

13 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

lol. think of the poor fish having to put up with this lemon ...

50 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Shouldn't pollute our water with junk lah...best to load it on cruise to no where...

Oh wait...any used porky on board that cargo ship...? 😁

they should buy back this macan and study why its so cock up. maybe can increase ISO rating liao if they can prevent it from happening again.

1 hour ago, shrjun said:

seems like they are cashing back the warranty .

yap someone told me the same thing. 1400 for a battery is daylight / afternoon / evening robbery liao. granted they are attempting to recharge.

i did ask, is the pcm issue from nov related to tbe battery but they said no. that one is genuinely a separate issue.

so the tail lamps on the fritz and the memory seats not working is a battery issue.

dont ask me how its diagnosed, i can only say what im told.

anyway i know they check this thread every now and then (hi jason!) so ... take it as an ongoing review of the car + the service provided by SA.

hopefully one day my pcm will be repaired/replaced .... i can only video it not responding so many times ...

10 minutes ago, Sp4wn said:

they should buy back this macan and study why its so cock up. maybe can increase ISO rating liao if they can prevent it from happening again.

Buy back...? They seem to be trying to crawl back the extended warranty...😅

...and I don't tink they care about the rating but top and bottom line...

1 hour ago, oceanicmanta said:

@Sp4wn ... re dealer warranty, I m sure you r aware of this 

https://www.cccs.gov.sg/media-and-consultation/newsroom/media-releases/major-car-dealers-amend-warranty-terms

but I can understand ... Consumer protection in SG is truly lacking any bite

i think the problem is like this ... each time they keep saying their authorized equipment cant detect any issue at all.

the side view mirror, even now the PCM, they confirm the diagnostic says zero issue, but after sending a few video showing it not working, they throw in the towel. but the confirm the diag is clear. so same thing again, if i bring outside, they will say their equipment, provided directly from porsche, will say no issue. just blame the outside workshop. and germany will back them lo. not difficult for porsche germany to provide a letter saying our diagnostics cant be wrong bla bla bla.

hence why i learnt a long time ago with these guys ... document every single thing with photo/ video ... the problem for the battery is they can say the outside workshop maybe dont hv original equipemt etc. basically, i dont want to give them even a small reason to void the extended warranty. its too easy of an out

ok got the battery changed. they gave a discount so the total bill for the macan battery change is $1158 🤣

• Sad 1

8 minutes ago, Sp4wn said:

ok got the battery changed. they gave a discount so the total bill for the macan battery change is $1158 🤣

$242 can buy a brand new battery liao 😂

Edited by mersaylee
  • Sad 1

On 2/24/2022 at 10:33 AM, Sp4wn said:

my 3 babies should thank them. really true. now become more zen these days. no choice.

thats the running joke .. my wifes citroen has zero issues for more than 2 years. my macan cant go a full year without an issue cropping up .. im literally still waiting for the pcm to be fixed after reporting it end oct and getting replacement approval early nov ... its reliably unreliable.

with 3 kids, i have zero tolerance for an unreliable car. I rather drive sometime boring than be saddled with workshop visits and on top of it, an uncooperative AD.

waiting for you to finally throw in the towel. your tolerance is remarkable. 🤣

50 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

with 3 kids, i have zero tolerance for an unreliable car. I rather drive sometime boring than be saddled with workshop visits and on top of it, an uncooperative AD.

waiting for you to finally throw in the towel. your tolerance is remarkable. 🤣

Thats what my wife's citroen space tourer is for ...

my middle row is literally 3 child seats with isofix.

and so far, touch wood, zero issues. its definitely slower than any other car ive ever driven before ... but it gets the job done. so i really cant complain.