Worst Decision ever - buying a Stuttgart Auto Macan

Sp4wn

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

The AD might have sub out the job to the lowest bidder.  Long time back I had a repair at an AD for wowo. Ended up I found out they had used a used door while charging for a new one. Rust spots surfaced after 1 year.

Now I just go to my regular paint shop. They pick up my car and send it back. Good service, and good results. 

Most AD sub out. Very very few have in-house body repairs. Even if they do. Their capacity is small. 

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

Most AD sub out. Very very few have in-house body repairs. Even if they do. Their capacity is small. 

My AD say theirs is in-house.

That was when the service manager called me after I gave bad feedback about a major repair and paint job. Paint job got a lot of overspray in unaffected panels and bumper area no enough clear coat so very rough and gritty. Over phone I told the guy to get his out-source paint shop in order... he reply that it is in-house, offer me to come in again, I said no way I don't trust you guys to do a proper job 2nd time round.

2 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

The AD might have sub out the job to the lowest bidder.  Long time back I had a repair at an AD for wowo. Ended up I found out they had used a used door while charging for a new one. Rust spots surfaced after 1 year.

Now I just go to my regular paint shop. They pick up my car and send it back. Good service, and good results. 

wow even by Wearnes! 

51 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

That was when the service manager called me after I gave bad feedback about a major repair and paint job. Paint job got a lot of overspray in unaffected panels and bumper area no enough clear coat so very rough and gritty. Over phone I told the guy to get his out-source paint shop in order... he reply that it is in-house, offer me to come in again, I said no way I don't trust you guys to do a proper job 2nd time round.

yup Borneo is in house, but I like their services attitude leh, been with them since 2016 :D

2 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Sadly its this way for most AD . bmw nissan . All done by subcon. The lowest  bidder win.......

12 minutes ago, D3badge said:

yup Borneo is in house, but I like their services attitude leh, been with them since 2016 :D

Borneo also sub out for some work when they cannot cope. About 20years ago, my ex colleagues car was sent to Borneo but repaired at TG2K at bukit merah. We visited the workshop to see the progress. Was glad to see proper manufacturer repairs were carried out. Panels cut out at spot weld locations and factory lookin body sealers were reapplied to match. 

7 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Sadly its this way for most AD . bmw nissan . All done by subcon. The lowest  bidder win.......

One small consolation is that at least you can kpkb and continue to get them to fix it right. Else you will get the standard “it’s like that one”. 

2 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Else you will get the standard “it’s like that one”. 

Actually  not all outside  ws behave this way.

There are some very responsible and reasonable ws around 😄

2 hours ago, t0y0ta said:

Then tell him his in house is so bad

might as well outsource.

No fixed cost and get better service.

:grin:

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

Actually  not all outside  ws behave this way.

There are some very responsible and reasonable ws around 😄

Yes we all know you mean

Jamesc good quality repairs at reasonable prices.

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

One small consolation is that at least you can kpkb and continue to get them to fix it right. Else you will get the standard “it’s like that one”. 

The famous phrase with the perfect ending as used by one AD in SG.

“it’s like that one”

Suck it up!

Edited by Jamesc

20 hours ago, Jamesc said:

The famous phrase with the perfect ending as used by one AD in SG.

“it’s like that one”

Suck it up!

well hopefully tesla will teach some of these ADs a thing or two ... fingers crossed

So appalled to hear that the AD is so inefficient. You bought a brand new car, you don't deserve such treatment.

I guess it's the same in many places where they only want to sell cars and know nuts about them.

Yeah if your wipers are not working are they going to tell you to put more rainX on your windscreen?

On 3/17/2021 at 8:43 AM, Gizmore said:

Long time never use this phrase.... I think it is necessary here.

smlj service is this from a luxury car AD? 

My car was just repaired (yesterday) for minor scratches by another car while parked at Changi Jewel. Repair done by random (drove around trying to find the cheapest job) spray paint workshop in Yishun. Morning drop car, late afternoon collect. No fuss $150 paintwork job. All in good order. 

This AD is really..... The culture stinks from the executive in the sales room to the mechanic in the workshop. 

If I were you, I would have demanded compensation for the additional downtime since they want to geh gao. About time you geh gao with them.

You are so right on this AD that the culture stinks.  Say and write what you like they will not respond. If there is a respond its to brush you off. They don't want to commit and don't want to take up their responsibility. Sp4wn phrase on "brush off" is so totally appropriately applied to this AD.

At the end of they day, they did remove the paint stain. But its done after customer vomit blood on them lor. 

On 3/17/2021 at 9:01 AM, Volvobrick said:

I was told by a friend within warranty can't send out for respray if there is a knock or scratch.  Warranty void if done so. Not sure on the exact detail, But this was what happen to his aunt's 1 year old cayman.  Maybe someone here can enlighten on this. This was not so 10 years ago on my cayenne. 

Edited by Miao-ing

30 minutes ago, Miao-ing said:

I was told by a friend within warranty can't send out for respray if there is a knock or scratch.  Warranty void if done so. Not sure on the exact detail, But this was what happen to his aunt's 1 year old cayman.  Maybe someone here can enlighten on this. This was not so 10 years ago on my cayenne. 

Wah maybe cannot wash and polish outside too! Previously can't do servicing outside, but law changed since. 

36 minutes ago, Miao-ing said:

edit - Its the rear side of the bumper.