Sosaria Twincharged June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 So all retail drones have build in GPS modules? Not all. Hobby grade, yes. Toy grade, no. Does this mean i can program the drone to fly to a specific GPS co-ordinate point without manually controlling it? Not all. Hobby grade, yes. Toy grade, no. 4-digit price and above, yes. Lower than that, no. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dxyong 3rd Gear June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 I must praise all the forumers here, so far the responses are matured and civilized...compared to those that I saw in sg.yahoo Imo this incident is really unfortunate, serious hobbyist usually know the NFZ restrictions, I guess this is likely caused by those ignorant youtuber who trying to to show off our newly launched Jewel or our world best Changi Airport.....it is good to see that the relevant authority is able to detect and make swift decision in time despite it is an expensive and embarrassing one.....now we know that they are not sleeping...the perpetrator need to prepare "butter - buak gu you"....the punishment should take future deterrent into consideration 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 I must praise all the forumers here, so far the responses are matured and civilized...compared to those that I saw in sg.yahoo Imo this incident is really unfortunate, serious hobbyist usually know the NFZ restrictions, I guess this is likely caused by those ignorant youtuber who trying to to show off our newly launched Jewel or our world best Changi Airport.....it is good to see that the relevant authority is able to detect and make swift decision in time despite it is an expensive and embarrassing one.....now we know that they are not sleeping...the perpetrator need to prepare "butter - buak gu you"....the punishment should take future deterrent into consideration What they say there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 What they say there? What they says there are what we have in our thoughts but we did not write down in Black & White here..... Ka Ki Chye Tio Ho .... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 What they says there are what we have in our thoughts but we did not write down in Black & White here..... Ka Ki Chye Tio Ho .... Maybe later I go see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 Ya Our chats are Cursing the cbk who flew the drone Nbz .. threaten our hobby But CAAS would aso be mindful that could not be us as we are more with retail hobbyists drones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 Ya Our chats are Cursing the cbk who flew the drone Nbz .. threaten our hobby But CAAS would aso be mindful that could not be us as we are more with retail hobbyists drones Real hobbist only believes in self assembled models. Same as true car enthusiast. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 Real hobbist only believes in self assembled models. Same as true car enthusiast. Hahhahah elite liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 So all retail drones have build in GPS modules? Not all. Hobby grade, yes. Toy grade, no. Does this mean i can program the drone to fly to a specific GPS co-ordinate point without manually controlling it? Not all. Hobby grade, yes. Toy grade, no. I see..so some guy could actually pre program a GPS co-ordinate like say Raffles place during lunch time. Strap a home made bomb. Launch the drone and run away? He no need to hang around to pilot the drone? That's not good isn't it. Like pre program guided bomb? Or am i watching too many action movies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 I see..so some guy could actually pre program a GPS co-ordinate like say Raffles place during lunch time. Strap a home made bomb. Launch the drone and run away? He no need to hang around to pilot the drone? That's not good isn't it. Like pre program guided bomb? Or am i watching too many action movies? Yes, very very possible. But the guy must have the know how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 5 km radius is very wide. If include Seletar airport, it is not possible to fly a drone on the East side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 Need to know where you won't get into trouble flying a recreational drone? https://flywhere.sg/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 Real hobbist only believes in self assembled models. Same as true car enthusiast. I agree. In fact it is the proliferation of retail ready-to-fly drones that brought in many many newbies into what was otherwise an exclusive hobby with a long apprenticeship! (hours of learning to build, fly, crash, repeat ...) Need to know where you won't get into trouble flying a recreational drone? https://flywhere.sg/ Even if you fly outside the restricted zones, it is still a public space, with bystanders and other users of the same space. So, still must exercise care, discretion and common-sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 i suppose you were thinking 27MHz like all radio controlled cars use? No lah, more likely FM 95.0 needs jamming 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 20, 2019 Share June 20, 2019 I see..so some guy could actually pre program a GPS co-ordinate like say Raffles place during lunch time. Strap a home made bomb. Launch the drone and run away? He no need to hang around to pilot the drone? That's not good isn't it. Like pre program guided bomb? Or am i watching too many action movies? I think it's a matter of time. Scary! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 21, 2019 Share June 21, 2019 https://youtu.be/7u9hFluSkHc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged June 21, 2019 Share June 21, 2019 I agree. In fact it is the proliferation of retail ready-to-fly drones that brought in many many newbies into what was otherwise an exclusive hobby with a long apprenticeship! (hours of learning to build, fly, crash, repeat ...) Even if you fly outside the restricted zones, it is still a public space, with bystanders and other users of the same space. So, still must exercise care, discretion and common-sense. Was in Aus.. national park. Lots people. Someone flew a drone to take selfie. And another in the crowd shouted he not allowed to flew drone within 30m of other people. Not sure if such rule in Singapore or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged June 21, 2019 Share June 21, 2019 Yes, very very possible. But the guy must have the know how. no need know how. DJI already have return to home function. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...