Hong Kong protesters demonstrate against extradition bill

Kopites

2 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Yesterday read the news.. A politician ear was bite off by protesters.. Darn these protesters.. They are simply too much already.. Haiz

I think the whole story is someone knifed his own family members after some political debates, the politician hero wanted to mediate and maybe tried to listen too closely to the siao lang with the knife and got bitten like Mike Tyson's opponent.  Lucky not knifed!

18 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

1)  every CE has tried to solve the housing problems but they have always been overruled by the democrats in the Legco.  The same people who are accusing the govt of letting housing prices rise to unaffordable levels.

ironically what HK actually need may be a healthy dose of communism. 

Edited by Chongster

On 11/3/2019 at 8:08 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

The rioters.

if the rioters can leave the area before stipulated time, why police need to use tear gas and go catch people?

police always come prepared with baton and tear gas to deal with rioters.

but why rioters bring metal rod, hammer, petrol bomb and acidic liquid in first place? 

If those rioters empty handed, never attack police and leave before protest time ended, u think police need to use action? 

Stop smoking yourself, u r the first one always shout police brutality

In addition, protest needs permit but most of these protest are ad horde without permit

so to begin it is already a criminal offence 

11 minutes ago, Chongster said:

ironically what HK actually need may be a healthy dose of communism. 

This I definitely agree. Look at the progress China made all these years. I used to think Chinese people are living hard life everywhere, especially in the villages. But recently I have been actively following those daily broadcasting farming or sea scavenging video clips on youtube, eg, 老四赶海, 渔农小池, 小六视野, 鱼妹猪猪, 乡野丫头, 农人DJ枫枫, 湘西十三妹, 李子柒, etc, etc. You can see the progress made by the lives they lead, the house they stay, their wedding, first-month celebration, hospital stay, etc, etc. No doubt not as modern as us especially seems squatting toilet still most common, but definitely comfortable living with enough to eat. Their thinking are also very positive as they live to overcome whatever life throws at them. I am not saying CCP is good, but at least if the people can prosper and live comfortably, then at least the basic needs are taken care of, unlike in hk now. The honkies keep fearing control from CCP, but if the end results is that better equality and way of life, why not to me? It is not that CCP has massacred  hongkies or treated them badly in the past so it must be bad. It is only taking back what is rightfully theirs, so what is there for us outsiders to complain.

10 hours ago, Heartlander said:

But recently I have been actively following those daily broadcasting farming or sea scavenging video clips on youtube, eg, 老四赶海, 渔农小池, 小六视野, 鱼妹猪猪, 乡野丫头, 农人DJ枫枫, 湘西十三妹, 李子柒, etc, etc. 

video(pro quality made) daily broadcasting farming on youtube. Youtube is still blocked in China. No? As much I know the video sharing website has been blocked in China since 2009, and it was among one of the first social media websites to get blocked by the Great Firewall of China. 

Youtube is not the only social media website blocked in China. Facebook was also blocked in 2009, along with Twitter, Picasa, Blogspot and Vimeo.  

Edited by Odyssey2011

29 minutes ago, Odyssey2011 said:

Daily broadcasting farming on youtube. Youtube is still blocked in China. No? As much I know the video sharing website has been blocked in China since 2009, and it was among one of the first social media websites to get blocked by the Great Firewall of China. 

Youtube is not the only social media website blocked in China. Facebook was also blocked in 2009, along with Twitter, Picasa, Blogspot and Vimeo.  

I have been watching the daily broadcast on youtube, but the videos are actually first released on the 西瓜视频, also on 今日头条, so that is for China subscribers。If you want, can just go to the 2 websites or download the 2 mobile apps to follow on the phones, or just watch on youtube also can though is more messy. I am not sure how they transfer the videos from the 2 original contents sites to youtube, but I know some pirates have been stealing the contents to pass under their channels on youtube, some even blatantly using same name as the original content creators. One of the affected badly is the very popular 老四赶海, happened twice already suddenly the old videos started to get posted one by one, then somebody complained to youtube and died down. 

Anyway, China seems very commercialized nowadays and open to this kind of infotainment videos. Both 西瓜视频 and 今日头条 hold annual popularity contests for subscribers to vote and give out prizes generously. Eg 西瓜视频  this year booked a whole cruise ship to host its top content creators to a all paid 5D4N cruise to nowhere this year from Shanghai to promote interaction and creativity. 今日头条 also just concluded some sort of popularity contest which I did not really follow, but a content creator shared that his channel garnered 5th prize and given 5000 rmb. He declared he is going to host a caring for elderly event in his village with the money. 

What I like about the videos are the sincerity shown by the hosts. Very therapeutic to watch them after a hard day at work, thinking how good if can retire at these places haha.

Ok I share a video I am watching now. This lady speaks normal mandarin aka 普通话 which is the language for almost all the videos. Some has dialect accent but certain region like where this lady come  from is almost same as ours. In this video she was going to Canton West region to meet local farmers to discuss products to sell on her online portal. The whole environment is really open and easy for locals like her just to do online sales. Can see how developed is their speed train system and comfort level.

Edited by Heartlander

11 hours ago, Heartlander said:

This I definitely agree. Look at the progress China made all these years. I used to think Chinese people are living hard life everywhere, especially in the villages. But recently I have been actively following those daily broadcasting farming or sea scavenging video clips on youtube, eg, 老四赶海, 渔农小池, 小六视野, 鱼妹猪猪, 乡野丫头, 农人DJ枫枫, 湘西十三妹, 李子柒, etc, etc. You can see the progress made by the lives they lead, the house they stay, their wedding, first-month celebration, hospital stay, etc, etc. No doubt not as modern as us especially seems squatting toilet still most common, but definitely comfortable living with enough to eat. Their thinking are also very positive as they live to overcome whatever life throws at them. I am not saying CCP is good, but at least if the people can prosper and live comfortably, then at least the basic needs are taken care of, unlike in hk now. The honkies keep fearing control from CCP, but if the end results is that better equality and way of life, why not to me? It is not that CCP has massacred  hongkies or treated them badly in the past so it must be bad. It is only taking back what is rightfully theirs, so what is there for us outsiders to complain.

what is good for hk or china?? 

is ccp good? or bad?? do they need freedom? how much freedom??, which type of politic is best for china and hk etc etc??

all this is not up to us to judge, of course we can discuss and debate their advantages and weak points.

we agree to disagree after all.

but what we can clearly judge is action like this right or wrong

alot of us say this is wrong, but there are still some who say their action is justifiable .. well fair enough, i guess every 1 brain is grow differently😉

15 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

What police violence? HKPF very mild liao. Got read what’s happening in Chile?

And while some protesters clashed with police and military, many peaceful protesters faced indiscriminate beatings and violence—including being fired on with tear gas, rubber bullets, and seemingly deadly firearms—at the hands of the police and military. Others have reported that Chileans are being tortured by state security forces.

According to officials, at least 18 people have been killed—including minors—while hundreds have been injured, and over 5,000have been detained. Independent groups and unverified reports have warned, however, that the official numbers may merely be the tip of the iceberg.

That’s why APEC has to be cancelled.

That’s why DT and XJP has to find alternative location to talk

That’s why Chile has to reshuffle cabinet.

45 minutes ago, Beregond said:

what is good for hk or china?? 

is ccp good? or bad?? do they need freedom? how much freedom??, which type of politic is best for china and hk etc etc??

all this is not up to us to judge, of course we can discuss and debate their advantages and weak points.

we agree to disagree after all.

but what we can clearly judge is action like this right or wrong

alot of us say this is wrong, but there are still some who say their action is justifiable .. well fair enough, i guess every 1 brain is grow differently😉

Honestly I am also coming around to start to blame the HK administration for these troubles.

Have to be firm on policing and enforcing.

Declare state of emergency. 

Suspend all the angmo/indian judges who are just letting all the rioters go.

Change tactics to include live ammo on very violent rioters

catch rioters and lock up indefinitely, including press who shield them

Block internet and ban social media access

Yes will get condemned but do what is right, rather than keep avoiding the truth and the need to make hard decisions.

12 hours ago, Heartlander said:

The HKers already said they would rather die standing (and skinny) than on live on their knees (and well fed)... 😂 

13 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Not disagreeing with you but how exactly can the reconciliation take place?  Let's assume the violence magically ends now.  What do you propose carrie lam to do?

I have read... correct me if I am wrong

1)  every CE has tried to solve the housing problems but they have always been overruled by the democrats in the Legco.  The same people who are accusing the govt of letting housing prices rise to unaffordable levels.

2)  the education is very biased against china but there is nothing any CE can do cos interfering in the education syllabus goes against the 1C 2S system

That’s why HK desperately need a LKY.

Democrats are the minority in LEGCO. How do they block it?
Now everyone blame Liberal Studies for radicalizing students. Liberal studies was included in the syllabus since 2009.

2 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

Now everyone blame Liberal Studies for radicalizing students. Liberal studies was included in the syllabus since 2009.

They don't need a LKY. A LKY is not cure all. It's got to be right time right place right situation. 

They just need to wake up their f.... king idea!

Edited by Volvobrick

3 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

They don't need a LKY. A LKY is not cure all. It's got to be  right time right place right situation. 

They just need to wake up their f.... king idea!

full agreed.

if LKY is to start building spore now with all the millennial and their PMDs 

do you think LKY can solve all problems?

15 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

My two cents.  Cos of the media and the protests.  You need to realise Hong Kong is different in mentality.  You cant just push things through just because you have the majority.  In Singapore you can and no one protests.

Someone say hong Kong needs a lee kwan yew.   Someone who has the iron in him and not just accede to public demands.

Heck right now we can see the rioters are the minority but they are just allowed to carry on their ways and no one stops them behind some tear gas and arrests and they are let go.  What does this tell you about the workings of the Legco?

23 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

LKY? U think hongkie will listen to LKY? They even mocked sg govt system. Only Queen appointed Governor they will love

1 hour ago, Heartlander said:

I have been watching the daily broadcast on youtube, but the videos are actually first released on the 西瓜视频, also on 今日头条, so that is for China subscribers。If you want, can just go to the 2 websites or download the 2 mobile apps to follow on the phones, or just watch on youtube also can though is more messy. I am not sure how they transfer the videos from the 2 original contents sites to youtube, but I know some pirates have been stealing the contents to pass under their channels on youtube, some even blatantly using same name as the original content creators. One of the affected badly is the very popular 老四赶海, happened twice already suddenly the old videos started to get posted one by one, then somebody complained to youtube and died down. 

Anyway, China seems very commercialized nowadays and open to this kind of infotainment videos. Both 西瓜视频 and 今日头条 hold annual popularity contests for subscribers to vote and give out prizes generously. Eg 西瓜视频  this year booked a whole cruise ship to host its top content creators to a all paid 5D4N cruise to nowhere this year from Shanghai to promote interaction and creativity. 今日头条 also just concluded some sort of popularity contest which I did not really follow, but a content creator shared that his channel garnered 5th prize and given 5000 rmb. He declared he is going to host a caring for elderly event in his village with the money. 

What I like about the videos are the sincerity shown by the hosts. Very therapeutic to watch them after a hard day at work, thinking how good if can retire at these places haha.

Some are very well edited videos indeed. A pity, China disallows it's people to enjoy these beautiful and amazing videos, giving mainly outsiders to enjoy... 😊  

Edited by Odyssey2011

On 11/4/2019 at 12:17 AM, Fcw75 said:

My comment is about you wanting to win every argument. Sometimes just agree to disagree and let it slide.

PAP...I leave it for another thread.

Recently, they been good to me since I don’t have full time job. Give me Workfare every month and also concessionary card...hahaha. 

PAP 万岁!NOT!

Everything also PAP pah sah....

actually , this David also showing traits of PAP..

Everything also pang buay low😅😅😅

26 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

LKY? U think hongkie will listen to LKY? They even mocked sg govt system. 

HK mocked sg govt system? 😮

“Singapore has always given people the impression of a very progressive, modern and efficient city,” “They have a democratic election, there is no corruption, they place importance on a diverse city, and they have affordable housing – these are all qualities and values that Hong Kong people like,”👍

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/community/article/2156855/why-are-hongkongers-obsessed-singapore-even-they-give

Edited by Odyssey2011