Hong Kong protesters demonstrate against extradition bill

Kopites

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

I am anti-communist.

Haha you don't even know what is communist. 

There is nothing wrong with China to protect it's own interest. 

The fact about the new security law is peace have return  to hk .

There is less riots / terrorist act. Which is actually what hk need.

And that is actually what china's rivals do not want to see .

Which is why they kpkb about every single arrest  of supporters  of terrorist and illegal  act in hk.

If any mistake hk make. Is they implemented those security act laws too late.

33 minutes ago, Beregond said:

US ban hk 11 officers. 

China ban US 11 officers back lol.

The world now dun turn around US alone anymore.  1 can have nothing  to do with US and still live a perfectly good life.

US will find their  method of sanctions every 1 who dun listen to them having lesser  and lesser  effect

Not necessary.

Depends on how far the ban can be extended.  The person may not even have a bank account

38 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

the hk national security law is passed recently.

this law can arrest people who committed offences "previously" before the law was passed? ie: last year hk protest

Does Singapore have any national security law? Does anyone want to try it?

9 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

According to west communist is bad communist is evil, west wan sui wan wan sui, democracy will bring food to table hehe

Everytime i read this type of comment, I cringed. No sense of history.  

The great leap forward and the cultural revolution which starved and killed onwards of 30 million are all but forgotten.

Communism is bad and has failed. Period. Even China is just communist in name but not in substance. 

4 minutes ago, Calford said:

Haha you don't even know what is communist. 

There is nothing wrong with China to protect it's own interest. 

Please educate me on communist.

If communist is not wrong, why former MCP member cannot return to Singapore without denouncing their membership?

Copied from hk site.

Hk police pre selected 15 Media/press to entered the police boundaries for press coverage. All others rejected their entry.  HK Press freedom?🤭

------------------------------------

警方自行篩選傳媒,《立場新聞》、《香港獨立媒體》、路透社、美聯社、法新社等記者皆被拒進入採訪區。

鄧炳強稱警方試行新措施,表明只會容許「可信媒體」進入封鎖線內採訪,而準則視乎媒體過去表現,包括是否持平報道、不會阻礙警務人員工作及對警方構成危險等。

警察公共關係科審查現場傳媒,並稱僅容許「本地、規模較大」、「不會阻礙警方行動」及「不威脅警員安全」的傳媒,接近壹傳媒大樓採訪李桂華。多家媒體包括《立場新聞》、《香港獨立媒體》、路透社、美聯社、法新社等都被拒進入採訪區,香港電台亦有記者一度被拒進場,而 TVB、商台、有線電視、《NOW》、《香港01》、《東方日報》則可入內。

42 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

the hk national security law is passed recently.

this law can arrest people who committed offences "previously" before the law was passed? ie: last year hk protest

1st of all, National Security Law contradict HK Constitution;

2nd of all, it is the only legislation in HK without equivalent official English Version

https://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/pdf/20202444e/es220202444136.pdf

Lastly, there is no mention of prospective or retrospective application.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-hongkong-protests-security/hong-kong-security-law-will-not-be-retroactive-chinese-official-idUSKBN23M0QE

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Please educate me on communist.

If communist is not wrong, why former MCP member cannot return to Singapore without denouncing their membership?

Merely for discussion and pop corn here. Chill. 

7 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

The great leap forward and the cultural revolution which starved and killed onwards of 30 million are all but forgotten.

Communism is bad and has failed. Period. Even China is just communist in name but not in substance. 

Read "Life and Death in Shanghai"

1 minute ago, inlinesix said:

I am very chill here

Yes....is getting from bad to worse.

Such pre select media coverage won't go down well with the global image Hk as financial hut. 

Again I say... 陈同佳 Thanos snap his fingers.

Hahaha

4 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Yes....is getting from bad to worse.

Such pre select media coverage won't go down well with the global image Hk as financial hut. 

Again I say... 陈同佳 Thanos snap his fingers.

Hahaha

It doesn't go down well for HK having its CE being a sanctioned person.

How is going to retain its status as Big 3?

39 minutes ago, Vinyl said:

Arguably. On that basis, many leaders that served beyond two terms are considered dictators.

I'm not sure what communist China means these days, because this doesn't look communist to me.

Too superficial lah. One cannot look at this video & decide if the country is communist or not.

7 minutes ago, Didu said:

Too superficial lah. One cannot look at this video & decide if the country is communist or not.

Since China opened up, it has been about money and plenty of private ownership. That's why they try to call their system Socialism with Chinese characteristics.

I don't understand why people are offended by China's "Communism". Many of their elderly there are getting pensions and staying retired, while our elderly are working in McDonald's and clearing plates in hawker centres.

Those who feel that capitalism is superior should turn down any subsidies in government hospital bills, because that's communism.

They should also tell the government not to bailout Singapore Airlines, because why should SIA be allowed to socialise their losses? That's communism.

42 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

I am not advocating communism but we also need to understand why it was supported by their people during their period. Anything against the people will, it will collapse even in martial law. It must have valid reasons to succeed.

What I fail to understand is, why so many people are still 'brainwashed' by the western media and their so call 'human rights' and democracy.  Just look back at Asia in particular Vietnam past and recent time the middle east. The chaos and killing of innocent lives and destruction to their homeland were infringed onto them by who? Do these people has rights and do they welcome the bombing? USA has performed everything they accused others of doing, yet the rest of the countries are so quiet? It is the missiles and war planes that make the difference. 

So what we are all saying is, if you are strong, your reasons are all valid. Weak, be bullied?  

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Read "Life and Death in Shanghai"

Thanks. 

One of my favorite book during this tumultuous period is The Gate of Heavenly Peace by Jonathan Spence (not the documentary). If you haven't read it, you should. Highly recommended.

Edited by Voodooman

13 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

I am not advocating communism but we also need to understand why it was supported by their people during their period. Anything against the people will, it will collapse even in martial law. It must have valid reasons to succeed.

What I fail to understand is, why so many people are still 'brainwashed' by the western media and their so call 'human rights' and democracy.  Just look back at Asia in particular Vietnam past and recent time the middle east. The chaos and killing of innocent lives and destruction to their homeland were infringed onto them by who? Do these people has rights and do they welcome the bombing? USA has performed everything they accused others of doing, yet the rest of the countries are so quiet? It is the missiles and war planes that make the difference. 

So what we are all saying is, if you are strong, your reasons are all valid. Weak, be bullied?  

Some people live in China's selected history, they don't move on when an entire country moved.

I cringed at the thought of that, especially when they are not even affected by their selected part of history.

Mao's great leap and cultural revolution were how many years ago? Even after Deng's reforms, people still lived in Mao's time and think China is all communism, everything belongs to the state. That's ignorant and outdated.

If we are going to judge a country based on history, then the Western world wouldn't fare very well with their colonialism, imperialism and slavery.

Again, some people have selected memory, not sure if it's a medical condition.

Edited by Vinyl