Kurty Supercharged June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 hello, i have just bought air ticket to BKK for a 2 week stay. intend to rent a car, drive up to khao kho, khao yai, probably phitsanulok too, to have a look at their magnificent wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat & Wat Ratchaburana if time permits. departure on 21 Dec, staying at khao kho and khao yai till 30 Dec, 9 days of car rental. Then head back to celebrate the new year in BKK till 4th of Jan, we have always travel to bkk hence pretty familiar with it. It's the initial area that having issues. Has anyone been to these places, best if you could share the experience and guides. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 car rental, you can try https://www.kayak.sg/cars The last time i went to phuket, i rent car using kayak. hello, i have just bought air ticket to BKK for a 2 week stay. intend to rent a car, drive up to khao kho, khao yai, probably phitsanulok too, to have a look at their magnificent wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat & Wat Ratchaburana if time permits. departure on 21 Dec, staying at khao kho and khao yai till 30 Dec, 9 days of car rental. Then head back to celebrate the new year in BKK till 4th of Jan, we have always travel to bkk hence pretty familiar with it. It's the initial area that having issues. Has anyone been to these places, best if you could share the experience and guides. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged June 11, 2019 Author Share June 11, 2019 https://thailand.tripcanvas.co/zh/phetchabun/things-to-do-khao-kho/ for those who dont know what is khao kho, in nutshell, its like genting in Thailand 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 I drove to khao yai from Subum airport and the returned car at Bangkok. Easy peasy drive. And yes, Thailand also a lot of road hoggers. Btw, khao yai is like kuantan in MY. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 I drove to khao yai from Subum airport and the returned car at Bangkok. Easy peasy drive. And yes, Thailand also a lot of road hoggers. Btw, khao yai is like kuantan in MY. any tips abt Khao Yai? How is it like Kuantan? I thought abt popping by there to see wild life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 oh. like a nice leh! https://thailand.tripcanvas.co/zh/phetchabun/things-to-do-khao-kho/ for those who dont know what is khao kho, in nutshell, its like genting in Thailand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 any tips abt Khao Yai? How is it like Kuantan? I thought abt popping by there to see wild life Pretty relac place where everything slows down. Go to the town area at nightwhere there are night market and the price there is half of bangkok and taste more authentic. Those looking for nite life will sian half but for me it's great. National Park is at end Road of Khao yai and can hike there and enjoy waterfall views there. Bottom line, it's a resort by the sea like Kuantan style Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 Pretty relac place where everything slows down. Go to the town area at nightwhere there are night market and the price there is half of bangkok and taste more authentic. Those looking for nite life will sian half but for me it's great. National Park is at end Road of Khao yai and can hike there and enjoy waterfall views there. Bottom line, it's a resort by the sea like Kuantan style ah ok thanks. I thought it's inland? got sea? I see a few small lakes on the map. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 https://thailand.tripcanvas.co/zh/phetchabun/things-to-do-khao-kho/ for those who dont know what is khao kho, in nutshell, its like genting in Thailand Wah, first time heard of this place. But it look nice. But the driving for 6hr from BKK is quite long, that's it will take one whole day if take morning early flight to leave Singapore. Will be very tired. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 Paging @steveluv 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 Pretty relac place where everything slows down. Go to the town area at nightwhere there are night market and the price there is half of bangkok and taste more authentic. Those looking for nite life will sian half but for me it's great. National Park is at end Road of Khao yai and can hike there and enjoy waterfall views there. Bottom line, it's a resort by the sea like Kuantan style Yeah everything slows down, which is great! Stayed at Lala Mukha Resort in Feb. Chose the tree house which is more secluded and really quiet. The tentage style ones, way on the other side, were noisy. Weather then was just right for me, cooling though a bit dry. Drive around and search for food. I ate lots of beef. If you want some light shopping, can go Palio Village. They have a cat cafe there, I spent quite some time inside playing with the cats. If you are adventurous enough, try the Khao Yai National Park. You can easily spend more than half a day there. Do choose and plan your hiking routes wisely. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveluv Twincharged June 11, 2019 Share June 11, 2019 Paging @steveluv Sorry these 2 days very busy missed this thread. Come back to this thread tomorrow now flight taking off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged June 12, 2019 Author Share June 12, 2019 Wah, first time heard of this place. But it look nice. But the driving for 6hr from BKK is quite long, that's it will take one whole day if take morning early flight to leave Singapore. Will be very tired. yeah, proclaim to be sea of clouds i can't drive 6 hours straight now.. most likely, i'm planning to do this, BKK > KY (a night) > KK (2 or 3 nights) > KY (few nights) > BKK.. mine is the earliest flight, so probably reach BKK around 11, then pick up the car from the airport and head for KY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged June 14, 2019 Author Share June 14, 2019 this is going to be fun, i'm planning a drive from bangkok airport to areas like Khao Yai, Khao Kho, Phitsanulok, Ayutthaya. my travel period will be in late Dec, for 2 weeks. Rent a car for probably 9 days or so, I have also summarized the places of interest for these places,however i need a little help, apart from these 4 mentioned, is there anywhere else that i can consider? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 14, 2019 Share June 14, 2019 this is going to be fun, i'm planning a drive from bangkok airport to areas like Khao Yai, Khao Kho, Phitsanulok, Ayutthaya. my travel period will be in late Dec, for 2 weeks. Rent a car for probably 9 days or so, I have also summarized the places of interest for these places, however i need a little help, apart from these 4 mentioned, is there anywhere else that i can consider? depends on what u like to see/do. temples? mountains/nature area? wildlife/bird watching? hipster café? 2 wks is a good period of time . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged June 24, 2019 Author Share June 24, 2019 I drove to khao yai from Subum airport and returned to Bangkok. I think with a good GPS you can get there easily. i'm thinking of using waze in thailand, so far, i tried in huahin and there's no issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear June 25, 2019 Share June 25, 2019 I drove from Bkk city to ky and back to sub airport. Using Google maps. Ky is like kampung from bkk. Everything slower and more quiet. There are some vineyards to visit if you are interested. There are also some Italian village, British styled hotels, and stuff to visit and take pictures Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 i'm thinking of using waze in thailand, so far, i tried in huahin and there's no issue I used in Thailand. Hua Hin, Phuket and BKK. No issue. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...