Get a new car plate number for used car

Guanleng

On 5/3/2024 at 8:58 AM, Kopites said:

Take a look at those so called luxury model. Any inauspicious number? Don't ask you never know. The primary criteria must be new car from one of those popular brand. You would know your reg nos even prior to the final paper work.  

You can request to try to avoid registrations starting with 4xxx as they roughly know looking at the current assigned numbers. And then they hold back the registration by 1-2days. But once they submit the registration, whatever comes is whatever comes. 

On 5/3/2024 at 9:04 AM, Mkl22 said:

You can request to try to avoid registrations starting with 4xxx as they roughly know looking at the current assigned numbers. And then they hold back the registration by 1-2days. But once they submit the registration, whatever comes is whatever comes. 

I "heard" the submission isn't for one registration. In a batch. You go figure it out. Altis versus next door LS. A class vs S class. 

Let me say it again. Bid to retain number or for some auspicious number. Not because you have gotten an inauspicious and want a replacement. Except for heavy vehicle which we dont bother all other company passenger vehicle has never gotten any inauspicious number unless we seek to retain the number. 

Edited by Kopites

@13177 I asked him. He put 1.6K for 6188, 6288 and 6788.. all failed. 6088 he got it at 1.1k. but he need more numbers. haha

We have to be realistic in our expectations as good things like a nice car plate or a nice condo or a nice car every one also wants and they are willing to pay.

So nice plate will not be cheap.

My kapoh MIL shouting in the background

people these days Ai Pi Ai Chee Ai Tua . . .

My MIL is rude hor!

On 5/3/2024 at 8:58 AM, Kopites said:

Take a look at those so called luxury model. Any inauspicious number? Don't ask you never know. The primary criteria must be new car from one of those popular brand. You would know your reg nos even prior to the final paper work. 

Let me reiterate. You don't reject lta. You reject the number AD gotten for you. 

I always thought when AD registered your car, in order for them to get a car number, they need to key in your NRIC and car details to generate a car plate number, so once the number is generated, it would assigned to that NRIC liao and cannot reject. Not like you can generate the car plate for 'fun' and then decided if you want the number or not, then you register the number with the car owner. This is my understanding la.

On 5/3/2024 at 9:14 AM, kohzcm said:

@13177 I asked him. He put 1.6K for 6188, 6288 and 6788.. all failed. 6088 he got it at 1.1k. but he need more numbers. haha

1.6K for 6288? That time must be got one person die die also must get this number, that's why the bid amount become so high. I don't find 6288 worth 1.6K. Even 6788 also not worth so much. 6188 maybe still can consider. But 1688 is nicer than 6188.

On 5/3/2024 at 9:04 AM, Mkl22 said:

If the AD is good, they can try to avoid registrations starting with 4xxx etc. But for some AD, they would not allow and want your car to be registered on certain date. This is why it is best to retain your car plate, then no need worry got such problem.

On 5/3/2024 at 11:42 AM, 13177 said:

1.6K for 6288? That time must be got one person die die also must get this number, that's why the bid amount become so high. I don't find 6288 worth 1.6K. Even 6788 also not worth so much. 6188 maybe still can consider. But 1688 is nicer than 6188.

That time I bidded my car number 6818 was $1,001 and was sucessful on first try

@13177 maybe some pple find it huat huat. haha.. diff individual got diff meaning to the numbers. Sometimes the number normal hor but the dealers sell very high price. lol..

your number 3177. i go buy 4D! haha

Edited by kohzcm

On 5/3/2024 at 12:08 PM, Scorpiong said:

That time I bidded my car number 6818 was $1,001 and was sucessful on first try

Maybe that car series happened that 6818 no one is interested. Last time i have one colleague thru system generated, got a car number 4444. I thought he bidded for it. 😅

On 5/3/2024 at 11:59 AM, 13177 said:

If the AD is good, they can try to avoid registrations starting with 4xxx etc. But for some AD, they would not allow and want your car to be registered on certain date. This is why it is best to retain your car plate, then no need worry got such problem.

Remember once many years ago, got a nice AD SE helped me time the registration swee swee....got a XXX 850 X FOC......but end up also just sold off the car to dealer when the time comes, not much "feel". 😁

Assigned plate who cares!

Even if you didnt kena an inauspicious number, a boring number like eg 4587 is something worth replacing if you care about the whole package of your ride.

2 digits numbers are not even expensive, a couple of thousands and you can make your plate looks much neater and compact.

On 5/4/2024 at 9:03 PM, 107fan said:

Assigned plate who cares!

Even if you didnt kena an inauspicious number, a boring number like eg 4587 is something worth replacing if you care about the whole package of your ride.

2 digits numbers are not even expensive, a couple of thousands and you can make your plate looks much neater and compact.

I find assigned plate all depends on luck, But if can get a number not jump all over the place, ok liao. Sequence looks smooth smooth or if can even get some repeated numbers better la.

On 5/3/2024 at 6:15 AM, Kopites said:

Is a new car. Your uncle should had rejected it upfront with the SE. 

Hahaha where got such thing one?

The new number is randomly assigned by LTA's system. Once assigned, that's it. No more changes. The only thing the agent can do is to request for number during specific number range.