Mkl22 Supersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 No need flying car lah. To avoid an accident just need a brain. A lot of people drive leaving their brains at home. That’s why autonomous cars will be good. Take out all the unpredictable behavior. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 (edited) That’s why autonomous cars will be good. Take out all the unpredictable behavior. That's true. Driving is too complicated for a lot of humans. Especially manual cars. Edited February 19, 2019 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 That's true. Driving is too complicated for a lot of humans. Especially manual cars. Those who can’t drive manual cars.... cmi..... hahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 As said by Hamburger, nothing wrong with checking own car. I think what left a bad taste for many is that the BMW couple appeared to be concerned over what might be minor damage to their rear bumper at worst, when the rider suffered much worse mere metres away. From the video alone I can only conclude one of two things: 1) BMW couple have zero situational awareness - 2 persons in the car and neither of them noticed the accident that unfolded right next to them. 2) BMW couple are heartless - not even a glance towards the fallen rider but both go check on their car The accident happened behind their car, how are they supposed to see? Most people look at the front of the car most of the time. They probably heard a bang and thought someone had hit their car. They went to check and found no damage. So be it, move on. The rider managed to walk after being hit. The Audi driver already got out to check on the rider he hit. The rider already has someone to attend to him. There is no need for the BMW driver to bother. Why should he hold up traffic unnecessarily? If there was no one to attend to the rider and he is the only one there, sure you can call him heartless. People are only outraged because it is a BMW driver that didn't bother about the rider. If it were some Toyota, you think people would have the same reaction? Not at all. Society makes it such that because you are seemingly more well off, you are obligated to help. The BMW guy is innocent in this case. Why should he be made the highlight of this incident when the audi driver is the one that caused the accident? A lot of people are missing the point in the video and are distracted by the red herring. It's amazing how the conformity bias has caused so many people on the facebook page to reiterate that the BMW driver is heartless. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 (edited) The accident happened behind their car, how are they supposed to see? Most people look at the front of the car most of the time. They probably heard a bang and thought someone had hit their car. They went to check and found no damage. So be it, move on. The rider managed to walk after being hit. The Audi driver already got out to check on the rider he hit. The rider already has someone to attend to him. There is no need for the BMW driver to bother. Why should he hold up traffic unnecessarily? If there was no one to attend to the rider and he is the only one there, sure you can call him heartless. People are only outraged because it is a BMW driver that didn't bother about the rider. If it were some Toyota, you think people would have the same reaction? Not at all. Society makes it such that because you are seemingly more well off, you are obligated to help. The BMW guy is innocent in this case. Why should he be made the highlight of this incident when the audi driver is the one that caused the accident? A lot of people are missing the point in the video and are distracted by the red herring. It's amazing how the conformity bias has caused so many people on the facebook page to reiterate that the BMW driver is heartless. first , this is a 80 pages thread, the particular incident had only taken up a few pages. I do see a couple of people commented about the BMW but to say outrage and a lot of people makes me wonder if you have selectively registered and amplified only those who have commented the BMW in this thread. Edited February 19, 2019 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 (edited) first , this is a 80 pages thread, the particular incident had only taken up a few pages. I do see a couple of people commented about the BMW but to say outrage and a lot of people makes me wonder if you have selectively registered and amplified only those who have commented the BMW in this thread. Buddy, i mentioned that I am referring to those on the facebook page at the bottom of my post. I believe the person I replied to is also referring to the sentiment on the facebook page. Edited February 19, 2019 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 Buddy, i mentioned that I am referring to those on the facebook page at the bottom of my post. I believe the person I replied to is also referring to the sentiment on the facebook page.My bad, thanks for pointing out. Yah, Facebook, probably many of them do not even have a driving license, and i suspect some are teen agers. Can imagine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 That's true. Driving is too complicated for a lot of humans. Especially manual cars. Hehehe 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 lower your speaker volume before watching.. car cam scream so loud https://www.facebook.com/Roads.sg/videos/518897428636402/?t=9 Audi save the BMW n cam car at the expense of the biker.... Could be easily a chain collision. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 Audi save the BMW n cam car at the expense of the biker.... Could be easily a chain collision. almost like saving the BMW from a costly accident repair job ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 19, 2019 Share February 19, 2019 Rather repair a car than repair a human 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Thinking aloud, while it is good to have technological aid such as blind spot monitoring, auto emergency brake, lane change assist, etc. will we be encouraging more to drive without giving due attention to the surrounding or consideration to other road users, since such aid would be doing "the job"? OK, quoting some personal observations, - how many of us are still thoroughly checking our front, back, left and right (with our eye) when parking, or are we relying more on the all round sensors and reverse camera? - Since all modern car are equipped with ABS, do you still remember how to handle a car without ABS (and the extra safety distance we need to maintain)? - Do you still check your tyre pressure (and go to pump it up) periodically, or are you just waiting for the alert light to come up from the tyre pressure monitoring system? End of the day, nothing should replace a driver's responsibility, once he/she is behind the wheel. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 End of the day, nothing should replace a driver's responsibility, once he/she is behind the wheel. you live in dreamland ^ SG driver where got so attentive one. Like i said, just drive as if every other car is out to langgar you. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Rather repair a car than repair a human Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 yup, too easy for me to say anything i want. To each his own, i have learnt that any damage to my car is of least importance to me as compared to well being of others. Or maybe i drive a lor pok car and thats why i care less. As long as you treat a car as a car and not like a woman who treats a 2-carat diamond ring, I think it's safe that your focus would be on well being of others. But many who buy bread and butter cars which to them is almost 50 % of their humble abode, that's where the minor of minor dent is like a huge crush on their injury to their pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) The accident happened behind their car, how are they supposed to see? Most people look at the front of the car most of the time. They probably heard a bang and thought someone had hit their car. They went to check and found no damage. So be it, move on. The rider managed to walk after being hit. The Audi driver already got out to check on the rider he hit. The rider already has someone to attend to him. There is no need for the BMW driver to bother. Why should he hold up traffic unnecessarily? If there was no one to attend to the rider and he is the only one there, sure you can call him heartless. People are only outraged because it is a BMW driver that didn't bother about the rider. If it were some Toyota, you think people would have the same reaction? Not at all. Society makes it such that because you are seemingly more well off, you are obligated to help. The BMW guy is innocent in this case. Why should he be made the highlight of this incident when the audi driver is the one that caused the accident? A lot of people are missing the point in the video and are distracted by the red herring. It's amazing how the conformity bias has caused so many people on the facebook page to reiterate that the BMW driver is heartless. I suppose the typical stereotyping. Drive WRX, ah beng and reckless. Drive a BMW, merc, supposed to be better educated and well off to understand and contribute to society and the better good of mankind. - Ok I exaggerate, but in essence, its like human nature to design the Job description of other people at the office. How many of you have heard this, as a boss, you should do this? As a director, he should do this. Easy for everyone to point to each other display of human quality, yet we are blameless. As for audi, too bad dude, once the A3 came with a 1.0 poverty specs, the 4 ring got heavily discounted to 3 rings ... Edited February 20, 2019 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Thinking aloud, while it is good to have technological aid such as blind spot monitoring, auto emergency brake, lane change assist, etc. will we be encouraging more to drive without giving due attention to the surrounding or consideration to other road users, since such aid would be doing "the job"? OK, quoting some personal observations, - how many of us are still thoroughly checking our front, back, left and right (with our eye) when parking, or are we relying more on the all round sensors and reverse camera? - Since all modern car are equipped with ABS, do you still remember how to handle a car without ABS (and the extra safety distance we need to maintain)? - Do you still check your tyre pressure (and go to pump it up) periodically, or are you just waiting for the alert light to come up from the tyre pressure monitoring system? End of the day, nothing should replace a driver's responsibility, once he/she is behind the wheel. Exactly my thoughts when I said earlier ton of safety features also redundant if driver can't even focus behind the wheel. The simplest/cheapest safety equipment on board. Indicator! How often we see driver not using them! If they are focus on the road. Knowing in advance they are going to filter left or right I am sure all would prepare inadvance, flip that indicator and check blind spot. You won't need blind spot checking. Lane departure beep beeps.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Thinking aloud, while it is good to have technological aid such as blind spot monitoring, auto emergency brake, lane change assist, etc. will we be encouraging more to drive without giving due attention to the surrounding or consideration to other road users, since such aid would be doing "the job"? OK, quoting some personal observations, - how many of us are still thoroughly checking our front, back, left and right (with our eye) when parking, or are we relying more on the all round sensors and reverse camera? - Since all modern car are equipped with ABS, do you still remember how to handle a car without ABS (and the extra safety distance we need to maintain)? - Do you still check your tyre pressure (and go to pump it up) periodically, or are you just waiting for the alert light to come up from the tyre pressure monitoring system? End of the day, nothing should replace a driver's responsibility, once he/she is behind the wheel. actually, you thinking of a fresh mind with a fresh start of the day. Imagine someone who had 16 hours at the office and still driving. Yes, the extra aids help. Or night driving with poor street lamps and an idiot glue to the handphone just walk pass a road hump thinking that its a yellow zebra crossing as the car suppose to slow down and she has the right of way. Its situation like this where the collision avoidance system auto jam brakes and helps heps. Not so much of passing accountability to the system. But you do have a point in terms of detrimental reliance setting into the mindset. Just like I always feel that the utility model of water and electricity should always be available when I need it. But when it trip, I get the usual call from my daughter on how to reset the circuit breaker. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...