Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 wow, at such a young age! where are you about now? 30 years old mean i am old liao lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 30 years old mean i am old liao lah. buying a landed at 30yo is elite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 buying a landed at 30yo is elite Alamak, that is why clear communication is important. I bought it 30 years ago not when I was 30 years old lah. Didn't inherit anything so got to work like cow for it. Well, for me, roof over your head is most important compare to car, clubs etc. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 It's cooler to have forest nearby. Quieter too.YeahThat’s why that Ming Teck Park place was superb. For 2.8 mil no less. Greens have a calming effect too. Snakes - good makan :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 (edited) Alamak, that is why clear communication is important. I bought it 30 years ago not when I was 30 years old lah. Didn't inherit anything so got to work like cow for it. Well, for me, roof over your head is most important compare to car, clubs etc. even if in 1989, buying a landed ar 30yo also elite Edited April 26, 2019 by Lms822 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 One more thing If you are getting on in age, ask yourself if really want a landed. Say your kids are all grown up, and you may be getting some knee issues .. Is landed the best option? Sure there’s a certain ‘I’ve arrived’ moniker but you may not get the utility you want. The kids may move out soon, there are certain maintenance costs esp if you have a large garden. Don’t forget painting, cleaning up and insects etc. food for thought If you can manage to buy one when you are in your 30s, you get the most out of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 NSC is along Lentor Avenue, just beside Countryside... One more thingIf you are getting on in age, ask yourself if really want a landed.Say your kids are all grown up, and you may be getting some knee issues ..Is landed the best option?Sure there’s a certain ‘I’ve arrived’ moniker but you may not get the utility you want. The kids may move out soon, there are certain maintenance costs esp if you have a large garden. Don’t forget painting, cleaning up and insects etc.food for thoughtIf you can manage to buy one when you are in your 30s, you get the most out of it. well noted 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 One more thing If you are getting on in age, ask yourself if really want a landed. Say your kids are all grown up, and you may be getting some knee issues .. Is landed the best option? Sure there’s a certain ‘I’ve arrived’ moniker but you may not get the utility you want. The kids may move out soon, there are certain maintenance costs esp if you have a large garden. Don’t forget painting, cleaning up and insects etc. food for thought If you can manage to buy one when you are in your 30s, you get the most out of it. Very true, if you are 'old' living on your own and do not have that energy, you probably want a small apartment. However, lifestyle for landed and apartment are quite different. Don't forget for condo, you also have the maintenance fee and having to deal with possible renovation works by neighbour renting out their units to different people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 (edited) Another thing that is very impt is neighbour. Might not be so obvious as u think neighbour can change.... in my estate, both my in-laws place and my place, our closest 4 neighbours has not changed in the past 10 years ever since I moved in. I did not checked out my 2 next door neighbour before buying but they turned out to be the quiet sort. No teenage kids, no parties, small family. No parking quarrels. To be frank another part of countryside has a neighbour quarrel that went on newspaper many years back.... But we are also model resident. Always park in garage. Small family, Super quiet, Super clean. nothing beat having good neighbours. if a unit is going very cheap make sure its not selling due to bad neighbours lol Edited April 26, 2019 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 looking for your perfect home is a happy problem. Mine search was 30 years ago. Just to share, I see everything on offer even those above budget. Without knowing what is above or below, you never know it is a good deal. Ultimately, I have always planned to renovate to meet my own needs. So a run down house is always preferred. Why? I don't want to pay for renovation done that I need to tear down again. The savings will go to renovating to what I need. Good luck to those searching. wah how old are you??? I agree that if you are planning to redo, a lot of things listed by therock can ignore. That is what I did, so much easier to get a unit you like. Most important things to consider are actually outside the house where you cannot change.... like neighbors, location, noise, etc. The place also cannot be too run down as you want your surroundings to be nice right? Quite important actually as you take walks around your neighborhood very often location-map-of-nsc-tunnel-between-ang-mo-kio-avenue-9-and-sungei-seletar.png NSC is along Lentor Avenue, just beside Countryside... well noted Aren't you happy you found this out. I am quite surprised that you did not know it beforehand if you are considering countryside. Lucky my unit is one of the furthest unit from the NSC. So another big no no is DON'T buy any unit near the main road. U never know when government want to build something over it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 wah how old are you??? I agree that if you are planning to redo, a lot of things listed by therock can ignore. That is what I did, so much easier to get a unit you like. Most important things to consider are actually outside the house where you cannot change.... like neighbors, location, noise, etc. The place also cannot be too run down as you want your surroundings to be nice right? Quite important actually as you take walks around your neighborhood very often Aren't you happy you found this out. I am quite surprised that you did not know it beforehand if you are considering countryside. Lucky my unit is one of the furthest unit from the NSC. So another big no no is DON'T buy any unit near the main road. U never know when government want to build something over it. this stretch of NSC is underground aka tunnel, I suppose it won't be so chao during construction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 this stretch of NSC is underground aka tunnel, I suppose it won't be so chao during constructionIt is underground viaduct until it partially reaches the amk Ave 5 junction before becoming a tunnel. Its going to be noisy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 wah how old are you??? I agree that if you are planning to redo, a lot of things listed by therock can ignore. That is what I did, so much easier to get a unit you like. Most important things to consider are actually outside the house where you cannot change.... like neighbors, location, noise, etc. The place also cannot be too run down as you want your surroundings to be nice right? Quite important actually as you take walks around your neighborhood very often I have reached a stage that age is just a number. Stay happy and healthy is the key. Certain things you must do before you move in for landed property. Roof, wiring, plumbing, floors, etc. Avoid locations you have very little control over your neighbours. Eg are the change of use (place of worship), proximity to activites causing congestion to parking, renting to workers as dormitories/store, etc Pick one that is within more private residential area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 It is underground viaduct until it partially reaches the amk Ave 5 junction before becoming a tunnel. Its going to be noisy. it is tunnel, unless I see wrongly 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
grandis123 4th Gear April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 this stretch of NSC is underground aka tunnel, I suppose it won't be so chao during construction I just set u a PM. Not sure if I can share this in the forum so I think better send u a message. In my leisure time, my partners and me build houses and have a few on hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lms822 2nd Gear April 26, 2019 Author Share April 26, 2019 I just set u a PM. Not sure if I can share this in the forum so I think better send u a message. In my leisure time, my partners and me build houses and have a few on hand. I like your leisure time hobbies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 (edited) nothing beat having good neighbours. if a unit is going very cheap make sure its not selling due to bad neighbours lol Agree. Neighbours are Very very important So far my left, right, front , back are all very friendly. But to certain extent, it depends on ourselves too. If we are friendly to others, accomodating, we will get the same reciprocal. Of course there are exceptions just like there are axx hxlx drivers on the road as well, then luck becomes a factor. Edited April 26, 2019 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged April 26, 2019 Share April 26, 2019 (edited) Capture1.JPG it is tunnel, unless I see wrongly where did you get this pic from? The original plan see below used to be semi-tunnel, ie sunken and the top is exposed. But I think a lot of people make noise and maybe they revised the plan. https://www.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2011/NSErampsrev2-1.pdf Anyway I don't think the semi tunnel will be noise as it is sunken. Noise need a direct line of of sight. That is why some units higher up is more noise as they have a direct line of sight to the road while lower units are blocked. Air pollution is more of an issue. I just set u a PM. Not sure if I can share this in the forum so I think better send u a message. In my leisure time, my partners and me build houses and have a few on hand. ?? Is it about the NSC? I am also interested leh... Edited April 26, 2019 by Wind30 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...