Landed terrace btw Cashew and Lentor

Lms822

Oh yah @wind30 natural marble can be polished to regain its lustre

And even if it is chipped, you will see the exact same composition underneath

Porcelain tiles have a fakish super shine and when chipped exposes the clay material underneath

Any specific questions, feel free to check back

No problem lah

I scared you sensitive so i draw the line.

I share some knowledge with you ?

Porcelain tile is basically just color applied on the tile and glazed.

It cannot achieve the real mesmirizing look of natural marble which allows you to see into the material

Secondly natural marble can be cut to near perfection and complete flat and therefore can be laid very closely

As the cutting is near perfection, when applied onto a big floor and buffed to a light shine, it looks like one single surface

China Porcelain tiles cantachieve that

They have to be placed further apart where the grouting will be wider

Porcelain tiles are not 100% flat, they are wavy

So if you apply them on the floor you can see the ugly waviness all stretched out

If you apply onto wall, you will see the waviness from the side

Next time you go showroom , take a look closely this time

The waviness is just so fake and unacceptable to me

For wall tiles what is the adv of choosing natural stone vs porcelain?

I see a lot of show room nowadays uses porcelain wall tiles.

Don't go off tangent and poke each other la. Peace

In general, tiles are not common finishing for walls

Except for the bathroom

For bathroom:

Porcelain is easier to maintain. It does not stain. And better for old folks. As you can choose those with rough surface

Marble is prettier. But is porous

For other parts of house:

Like i said, tiles is not a common wall finish . Sizes are smaller and will see many grout lines

So natural stone is better as you can get larger sizes , hence less joining lines

Edited by Aventador

Real leather Sofa or faux leather sofa?

You see things purely on $$ value maybe?

I dont. I am more zen lah.

My place can go to 4200sft but i carve out many void and light.

I dont just think about maximising $$$

I feed my soul

Some pics posted are just illustrative of how my place will turn out.

Am sure you can tell which are real and which are not.

Yup speding 7 figure sum in full cash for this rebuild.

And also much effort in making detailed decisions.

Hope it turns out the way i like and i want.

So far so good. Keeping fingers crossed

Got money talk differently lor. Most people budget more modest. So have to balance needs and wants.

MCF Toa pow sian, must sian toa pow in MCF

Punggol HDB wan sui!

Don't go off tangent and poke each other la. Peace

In general, tiles are not common finishing for walls

Except for the bathroom

For bathroom:

Porcelain is easier to maintain. It does not stain. And better for old folks. As you can choose those with rough surface

Marble is prettier. But is porous

For other parts of house:

Like i said, tiles is not a common wall finish . Sizes are smaller and will see many grout lines

So natural stone is better as you can get larger sizes , hence less joining lines

I also used some ceramic tiles for the bathrooms.

But again, my choice was the european ones which are really nicer in color tones and texture with more variation.

For double to triple the price and i definitely appreciate the better quality.

thanks :) I will look out for the waviness next time. Google also say Marble is a bit transparent and lets in light so there is a glow effect that cannot be duplicated by porcelain.

It is just 10 years ago I don't think I have seen porcelain tiles that are so marble like when I did my reno.

Yes only quite recently the “printing” on the porcelain tiles especially the italian and spanish ones are very sharp and alive. From afar it is not so easy to tell the difference.

The chinese made ones are dead giveaways but they compensate with their low price

You can get anything and everything, its just how much you can and want to spend.

In terms of timber stairs which you highlighted, my choice for the steps was to use a solid piece of wood.

Brings out the style color and character of the entire wood grain much more than parquet short strips.

Price of course more expensive for long solid piece.

Just up but not polished yet

This one small piece 30x60 cm, not so expensive.

post-29925-0-33401700-1556973105_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Throttle2

Just up but not polished yet

This one small piece 30x60 cm, not so expensive.

Nice tiles but tiler did not match the pattern properly

I would have get them try harder

See the left 1st row from top to bottom. They managed to match the pattern naturally.

I think they gave up from 2nd row onwards

Nice tiles but tiler did not match the pattern properly

I would have get them try harder

See the left 1st row from top to bottom. They managed to match the pattern naturally.

I think they gave up from 2nd row onwards

This one i purposely didnt want to match.

Meant to just anyhow whack as it is not slabcut marble.

One piece $28 .

Needed about 135 pieces.

Another side of the wall

Didnt want to match

post-29925-0-12857800-1556974996_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Throttle2

This one i purposely didnt want to match.

Meant to just anyhow whack as it is not slabcut marble.

One piece $28 .

Needed about 135 pieces.

Another side of the wall

Didnt want to match

Haha that would drive me nuts. Too OCD..

Then you must go slab cut only.

The irony is that for small porcelain tiles, they are very easily matched becos basically the design is printed on a very big mould and then the pieces are cut. Like a big jigsaw puzzle.

In one of the baths, i used italian ceramic tile 60x60 and also specifically asked for them not to match just whack.

post-29925-0-69873500-1556976607_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Throttle2

Dry lay marble for living area on level one

Living room so small? Thats all the marble you going to use for living room?

Seem like throttle is building a nice posh house. Congrats to you and ur family.

We all try to earn smart and hustle hard. So its always good to pamper ourselves.

Learned quite a lot from all contributors in this thread. Always inspiring to see people achieving good things in life [thumbsup]

Living room so small? Thats all the marble you going to use for living room?

Yes small place, please give chance.

Reply from LTA. 

That is good as the NSC will have nice cycling tracks above ground. 

North South Corridor near Lentor
FEEDBACK NUMBER: 20190428-0014

Hope this email has reached you well.

I am writing to confirm your observation that the tunnel design at the stretch of Lentor Avenue near to Countryside Estate, will be a full tunnel.

Yours sincerely,
Florence Chew (Ms)
Manager, Community Partnership
Engagement, Road Infrastructure (North-South Corridor)