Cheefarn 5th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 anyway back to track, I don't think the older 6 speed mz6 gearbox is hurting it yet (if you get the 2.5T versions). Most of the canadian/american reviewers are positive about the driving experience (despite having some of the same concerns about a 6 speed as we are expressing here). And yeah, anyway to the normal consumer, i think as long as it's not 4 speed, no one really notices anyway. The only question is what price level does TEK want to brand the CX-5 at ... Is it trying to compete with say the VAGs or competing against mid sized SUVs (some potentially 7 seater like kodiaq/sorento) or is it content with fighting with Rav 4/CRV/tucson etc. IMO I find the CX5 6AT, prob Mazda 6 as well to be abit too short geared. In the diesel CX5, at 6th gear... the rpm was at 2000rpm at 100kmh... quite high for such a powerful diesel. The gear ratios at 6th gear is at 0.69 but the final drive ratio is very short..over 4.1:1 iirc My current 2.4L 6AT comes in at 1800rpm at 100kmh. **Dear Valued Customer Coe rising every round , quota will reduce every quarter . Pls act fast if you planning to change your car <-- ✨Weekend Special✨ 1.88% interest rate M6 2.0 $ 95,800 (STD) M6 2.0 $104,800 (Exec) M6 2.5 $125,800 (Prem) *price quoted with trade in & immediate registration with open cat Coe in February * M2 sdn 1.5 $84,800 M2 HB 1.5 $74,800(STD) M2 HB 1.5 $81,800(Del) CX-5 2.0 $117,800(STD) CX-5 2.0 $128,800(Prem) CX-9 2.5 $178,800 (2WD) MX-5 (M) $157,800 MX-5 (A) $163,800 FOC item *3yr/100000km warranty (watch it, no 5 yrs unlimited mileage hor) *1yr/20000km Servicing (watch it no 3 or 5 yrs free svcs hor) *Rikecool Solar Film *2 channel recording camera *Brilla Body Coating (5yrs Warranty) *Apple ,Android car play (for deluxe ,executive,premium) *Mazda Dezire Program (For M6, CX-5 & CX-9) Thank you Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTO-1 5th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 anyway back to track, I don't think the older 6 speed mz6 gearbox is hurting it yet (if you get the 2.5T versions). Most of the canadian/american reviewers are positive about the driving experience (despite having some of the same concerns about a 6 speed as we are expressing here). And yeah, anyway to the normal consumer, i think as long as it's not 4 speed, no one really notices anyway. The only question is what price level does TEK want to brand the CX-5 at ... Is it trying to compete with say the VAGs or competing against mid sized SUVs (some potentially 7 seater like kodiaq/sorento) or is it content with fighting with Rav 4/CRV/tucson etc. It's TEK's prerogative to price the CX5 at a different level, but they need the product to match that level. I'm not convinced that the CX5 is competitive in the next bracket up of CUV's. What makes the CX5 so attractive in overseas markets is it's a great car in the same bracket of CRV, Tucson, X-Trail, RAV4 etc. But it's not a great car if you price it 10-20% higher than those models. It lacks features and prestige. Besides, if TEK is trying to price Mazda and the CX5 as a premium vehicle, they need to consider that they shot the name in the foot by selling so many Mazda3's as PHC in SG. **Dear Valued Customer Coe rising every round , quota will reduce every quarter . Pls act fast if you planning to change your car <-- ✨Weekend Special✨ 1.88% interest rate M6 2.0 $ 95,800 (STD) M6 2.0 $104,800 (Exec) M6 2.5 $125,800 (Prem) *price quoted with trade in & immediate registration with open cat Coe in February * M2 sdn 1.5 $84,800 M2 HB 1.5 $74,800(STD) M2 HB 1.5 $81,800(Del) CX-5 2.0 $117,800(STD) CX-5 2.0 $128,800(Prem) CX-9 2.5 $178,800 (2WD) MX-5 (M) $157,800 MX-5 (A) $163,800 FOC item *3yr/100000km warranty (watch it, no 5 yrs unlimited mileage hor) *1yr/20000km Servicing (watch it no 3 or 5 yrs free svcs hor) *Rikecool Solar Film *2 channel recording camera *Brilla Body Coating (5yrs Warranty) *Apple ,Android car play (for deluxe ,executive,premium) *Mazda Dezire Program (For M6, CX-5 & CX-9) Thank you Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Maybe that's their strategy. Increase the public facing list price of the car, then have these "limited time only" weekend specials that sell the car at their intended RRP. Then their salespeople can say: "I'm giving you $10,000 discount - limited time only". Exactly, in Bolehland, the CX5 diesel Super Lux model s priced competitively with the CRV 7 seaters and X trail.. but in sg, its priced like a overpriced Euro car It's TEK's prerogative to price the CX5 at a different level, but they need the product to match that level. I'm not convinced that the CX5 is competitive in the next bracket up of CUV's. What makes the CX5 so attractive in overseas markets is it's a great car in the same bracket of CRV, Tucson, X-Trail, RAV4 etc. But it's not a great car if you price it 10-20% higher than those models. It lacks features and prestige. Besides, if TEK is trying to price Mazda and the CX5 as a premium vehicle, they need to consider that they shot the name in the foot by selling so many Mazda3's as PHC in SG. Yeah... its not as if we got the diesel CX5 or the 2.5T engine from the CX9 At least one can still convince himself that the premium is worth it for the big power engines.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DK3410 4th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 (edited) It's TEK's prerogative to price the CX5 at a different level, but they need the product to match that level. I'm not convinced that the CX5 is competitive in the next bracket up of CUV's. What makes the CX5 so attractive in overseas markets is it's a great car in the same bracket of CRV, Tucson, X-Trail, RAV4 etc. But it's not a great car if you price it 10-20% higher than those models. It lacks features and prestige. Besides, if TEK is trying to price Mazda and the CX5 as a premium vehicle, they need to consider that they shot the name in the foot by selling so many Mazda3's as PHC in SG. Maybe that's their strategy. Increase the public facing list price of the car, then have these "limited time only" weekend specials that sell the car at their intended RRP. Then their salespeople can say: "I'm giving you $10,000 discount - limited time only". Actually, IMHO, the pricing of the CX-9 is actually more attractive than the CX-5. For a full-sized SUV like the CX-9, its nearest competitors are the Santa Fe, the Audi Q7, the Volvo XC 90 and the BMW X7. It is actually a proper 7-seating SUV and not a 5+2 where the 2 adults behind may mutiny if seated there for more than 20 minutes. Its interior is actually very close to the Audi Q7 (though obviously the Q7 feels more solid), yet comes it at more than 60k less. It's interior definitely better than the Santa Fe. The 2.5T engine is very punchy, and you feel like you're driving a much smaller car out on the open roads. I test drove it "just for the heck of it" back then, though it was way beyond my budget. Mazda did a good job with the 2.5T mimicking a diesel engine, with very good low-RPM torque. It is a real b**** to park in our small SG parking lots however. Edited February 22, 2019 by DK3410 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Actually, IMHO, the pricing of the CX-9 is actually more attractive than the CX-5. For a full-sized SUV like the CX-9, its nearest competitors are the Santa Fe, the Audi Q7, the Volvo XC 90 and the BMW X7. It is actually a proper 7-seating SUV and not a 5+2 where the 2 adults behind may mutiny if seated there for more than 20 minutes. Its interior is actually very close to the Audi Q7 (though obviously the Q7 feels more solid), yet comes it at more than 60k less. It's interior definitely better than the Santa Fe. The 2.5T engine is very punchy, and you feel like you're driving a much smaller car out on the open roads. I test drove it "just for the heck of it" back then, though it was way beyond my budget. Mazda did a good job with the 2.5T mimicking a diesel engine, with very good low-RPM torque. It is a real b**** to park in our small SG parking lots however. CX9 2.5T 4WD super lux (the only way to get lane departure warning and Auto Emergency braking) cost over $190k!! How could that be a good value for money? CX9 is still small on the 3rd row. Its not a Alphard ya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTO-1 5th Gear February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Actually, IMHO, the pricing of the CX-9 is actually more attractive than the CX-5. For a full-sized SUV like the CX-9, its nearest competitors are the Santa Fe, the Audi Q7, the Volvo XC 90 and the BMW X7. It is actually a proper 7-seating SUV and not a 5+2 where the 2 adults behind may mutiny if seated there for more than 20 minutes. Its interior is actually very close to the Audi Q7 (though obviously the Q7 feels more solid), yet comes it at more than 60k less. It's interior definitely better than the Santa Fe. The 2.5T engine is very punchy, and you feel like you're driving a much smaller car out on the open roads. I test drove it "just for the heck of it" back then, though it was way beyond my budget. Mazda did a good job with the 2.5T mimicking a diesel engine, with very good low-RPM torque. It is a real b**** to park in our small SG parking lots however. CX9 is a beautiful car and Mazda has done an amazing job. But it's not worth 40 to 50k more than a Sorento which has feature parity. Then again I don't have anywhere close to $200k to spend on a car, so I'm not their target market! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Hello everyone. I would to present my personal objective suggest about this website. It is good category? warteesy. Regards We are talking about Mazda CX-5 here. Stay on topic please. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 I had great impression of the CX5 when I drove the current model 2.2 diesel version in Hokkaido last Dec.. Mazda really know how to build a great diesel engine. Superbly quiet and refined. Yet with 420NM of torque from just 1750rpm, you are getting max torque o/p from just above idle. Even laden with 4WD, it offers superb acceleration and it offer so much power in ANY gear that I thought the 6AT was irrelevant Imagine how disgusted I was when I return to SG and decided to check our our local spec CX5. No diesel model in SG notwithstanding, Immediately the pricing put me off. The SE actually pride himself that TEK was being super generous in offering deep discounts. The 2L Premium FL model was offered at $128k extra $1k for that candy red paint whose paint technique was already common place in the late 60s american hot rod scene. For a CX5 whose OMV is just ard $27k, TEK was making insane amount of profits and TEK was unable to even offer 5 yrs unlimited mileage/3 yrs or even 5 yrs free svcs like most ADs in SG would offer these days. The SE then told me in a smug tone that if I want 5 yrs/100000 km warranty, it will be another 3k extra! And despite being very well equipped with Bose speakers and other lux items, our Cx5 2L premium still doesn't have Lane Departure warning and adaptive cruise control and Auto emergency brake. These items were available in my rental CX5 in Hokkaido. The FL CX5 360 deg cam is a welcome addition, but at such price?! ANd then there's the utter lack of power from the 2L engine. Seriously the Hyundai Tuscon 1.6T can eat up even the 2.5L CX5 for breakfast, lunch and dinner at over $40k less. And yes the Cx5 remains better build, but it is NOT that well built and designed that warrants the extra $40k. And with such modest warranty period and coverage And, if you buy the Kia Sorento SX/GT Line, you get even bigger SUV with a superbly great 2.2L diesel that will outrun any petrol CX5 in SG too. And diesel Sorento can pull almost 19km/L on average TEK just lost another potential customer here. sigh Mazda is quite backward with their gb tech. The Koreans went to 7sp DSG already, Euro brands also 7 or 8AT Only Honda and Toyota went the bored to death CVT way...which is to be avoided. Hi Farn, Great share ! Just to also share, forester xt was 125k and omv is 17k ... eurokar selling 138k CX5 with omv of 27k makes peanuts compared to MI while noting added cos of local fitting at their loyang assembly workshop. Diesel unless with of mileage of >>40k km/yr does not make economic sense since maintenance and deterioration are much higher than petrol engine. Inherent vibration in comparison which I certainly avoid, ves, diesel price etc. makes it going the way of CNG. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 wah MI open lion mouth so big ar? Just to also share, forester xt was 125k and omv is 17k ... eurokar selling 138k CX5 with omv of 27k makes peanuts compared to MI while noting added cos of local fitting at their loyang assembly workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 (edited) wah MI open lion mouth so big ar? Hi Wt, Ya lor but it is just sanity check that eurokar is not exception but there is main effect of our COE also. I know cos felt the pain when my fl 2018 mazda 6 exec driven by wife was 108k with omv of 23k+ at coe of 30k+ compared to 17k more of 125k with omv of 17k at coe of about 50k or 20+k more for my forester xt. Cheers. Richard PS: my neighbour when working in KL drove the pre FL malaysia registered 2.2 mazda cx5 diesel and you will know what he is back for the weekends .. he drives his 6 mths old last of the pre FL mazda 6 now Edited February 23, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 wah MI open lion mouth so big ar? Subaru cars better to buy 2nd hand and low-ball people who are forced to sell. The paper value is so damn shitty. The first hand buyer stands to lose more (in comparison to other makes) if they need to sell within the first 7 years. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Seems like TEK is not really keen to sell the CX-5 but willingly to push the sales of the 6. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Subaru cars better to buy 2nd hand and low-ball people who are forced to sell. The paper value is so damn shitty. The first hand buyer stands to lose more (in comparison to other makes) if they need to sell within the first 7 years. Hi lala, Be fair and dun lowball lah ... dun feel vfm just dun buy lor. Cheers. Richard Seems like TEK is not really keen to sell the CX-5 but willingly to push the sales of the 6.Hi Dach, Also dun know why .. guess we are without details known only to them .. they also want to sell more cars and these two are in different categories. We tends to err to assume others are dumb. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 (edited) Seems like TEK is not really keen to sell the CX-5 but willingly to push the sales of the 6. you can probably sell 2-3 SUVs for every 1 sedan you can sell at the non B&B category. Only in B&B category are sedans so prominent. But there are quite a few new mz6 going around which shows that singaporeans still don't mind sedans to some extent In USA, the crossover/SUV/truck sales currently stand at close to 70% of the market. Edited February 23, 2019 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 you can probably sell 2-3 SUVs for every 1 sedan you can sell at the non B&B category. Only in B&B category are sedans so prominent. But there are quite a few new mz6 going around which shows that singaporeans still don't mind sedans to some extent In USA, the crossover/SUV/truck sales currently stand at close to 70% of the market. I think it’s the pricing issue.A 2 litre 6 pricing vs a 2 litre CX-5 pricing: SGD116k vs SGD128k If TEK price both models at the same prices, the results might be different. For some brands selling here, SUV sales already out sold sedans, like Subaru, Peugeot, and Nissan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
thesoul 2nd Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Seems like TEK is not really keen to sell the CX-5 but willingly to push the sales of the 6. Not difficult to understand why when u see the profit margin from mz 6 vs cx5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DK3410 4th Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 you can probably sell 2-3 SUVs for every 1 sedan you can sell at the non B&B category. Only in B&B category are sedans so prominent. But there are quite a few new mz6 going around which shows that singaporeans still don't mind sedans to some extent In USA, the crossover/SUV/truck sales currently stand at close to 70% of the market. That's because sedans are still more practical for younger families. The CX-5 you need to give up some rear leg-room when compared with Mazda 6 (which already doesn't have impressive rear leg room). The benefits of SUV: 1) Higher driving position 2) More commanding road presence 3) Higher hip-point, making it easier for those with hip/ knee problems to get on and off are offset by the disadvantages: 1) Higher vehicle weight for cabin-size, meaning lower power/ weight ratio 2) Higher cost 3) Higher fuel consumption 4) Higher maintenance (tend to use larger tyres, 4WD variants need to check and maintain transfer coupling, etc) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 That's because sedans are still more practical for younger families. The CX-5 you need to give up some rear leg-room when compared with Mazda 6 (which already doesn't have impressive rear leg room). The benefits of SUV: 1) Higher driving position 2) More commanding road presence 3) Higher hip-point, making it easier for those with hip/ knee problems to get on and off are offset by the disadvantages: 1) Higher vehicle weight for cabin-size, meaning lower power/ weight ratio 2) Higher cost 3) Higher fuel consumption 4) Higher maintenance (tend to use larger tyres, 4WD variants need to check and maintain transfer coupling, etc) Don't get me wrong. I love sedans. But given the limited choices for wagons/estates in singapore (and not everyone appreciates the additional length), a SUV makes a lot of sense in terms of cargo carrying capacity. Though the shuttle sells really well. Actually i would say 80% of my friends all prefer SUV/crossovers. The only reason to get a sedan for them is price. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...