WillemVS April 9, 2019 Share April 9, 2019 (edited) Hey, For people who are about to buy their first car, or recently did, here are very good tips for maintenance you NEED to do regularly, to keep your car in good shape and avoid damage! Edited April 14, 2019 by Lightsabre ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinesh123 November 20, 2019 Share November 20, 2019 On 4/9/2019 at 7:08 PM, WillemVS said: Hey, For people who are about to buy their first car, or recently did, here are very good tips for maintenance you NEED to do regularly, to keep your car in good shape and avoid damage! https://www.mycarforum.com/ Expand 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oktaviatan Clutched May 14, 2020 Share May 14, 2020 Thank you, very informative video😍 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipp June 29, 2020 Share June 29, 2020 Here you can find post https://carfixbook.com/car-maintenance-tips/ about common car maintenance tips for every car with internal combustion engine 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
colorfulmouse 1st Gear July 22, 2020 Share July 22, 2020 thank you. very informative. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Webb Neutral Newbie September 23, 2020 Share September 23, 2020 Thanks for the video Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alex19 Neutral Newbie September 25, 2020 Share September 25, 2020 Nice video! I also stumbled upon a car care guide on how to make your vehicle last longer from the oil filter brands, you might wanna check it out as well. It covers car care tips, maintenance tips, and products. You can also send me a message if you need advice. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fibo 4th Gear October 29, 2020 Share October 29, 2020 is there any hands-on course on car maintenance? it will be better if skillfuture credit can be used. thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear November 12, 2020 Share November 12, 2020 On 11/12/2020 at 12:05 PM, daviddedwin said: I have created a maintenance checklist and poster for maintaining the car so that it will last for hundreds of thousands of kilometres. Singaporeans simply don't drive so much within Singapore, but if you drive between Malaysia and Singapore this will preserve the value of your car. The current version of the poster is missing the tire maintenance but focuses on all the fluids the car needs. I have attached a picture of the poster here and you can also download the pdf version and also more tips to maintain your other stuff at kogitsu.com . Expand Nowadays most cars do not use power steering fluid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged March 23, 2021 Share March 23, 2021 Hope this information comes in useful for newbie car owners. 😉 https://blog.moneysmart.sg/transportation/maintenance-car-servicing-costs/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
minty 1st Gear March 23, 2021 Share March 23, 2021 On 3/23/2021 at 1:46 PM, Vinceng said: Hope this information comes in useful for newbie car owners. 😉 https://blog.moneysmart.sg/transportation/maintenance-car-servicing-costs/ Expand Servicing done every 100th km or 5 years. Wow I thought is done every 10th km or 6 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yousurebo Neutral Newbie March 27, 2021 Share March 27, 2021 @Vinceng just curious, rotate tyre every 2 years seems kind of late... i'll say 1 year at least. open to discussion then again, some ppl dont even rotate and just change lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
toffeebeans Neutral Newbie April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 Thank you for this!! I'm getting my car soon and this is a great help 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 23, 2021 Share April 23, 2021 300,000 mile Volvo engine tear down. Volvo built their engine to tolerance like a Rolls Royce. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TPHANG Neutral Newbie October 12, 2021 Share October 12, 2021 @Jamesc Would any of you know the cost of Volvo maintenance? I just had two tail struts on my XC40 fail me. (Of course warranty expire; otherwise why the part expire?) And Volvo SG (Wearnes) charged me $768.91 (after a 15% discount). I went online https://www.autodoc.co.uk/car-parts/tailgate-struts-10926/volvo/xc40/xc40-536/128759-t5-awd and the parts do not cost more than 27UK pound. That is, each strut should cost less than $50. Ok, we multiply by 3 for taxes. Still $150 ech. But I got charged more than 15 times the cost. I know GCB prices have gone up and we know that bosses must live in them. But even the prices of GCB have not gone up that much that quickly. I kpkb and they said they will sanitise my car (but I already vaccinated) and align the wheels ($80-$100). I like the XC40 but not that much that I cannot switch to another brand. Any advice? I am escalating to Volvo International. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 12, 2021 Share October 12, 2021 On 10/12/2021 at 4:44 PM, TPHANG said: @Jamesc Would any of you know the cost of Volvo maintenance? I just had two tail struts on my XC40 fail me. (Of course warranty expire; otherwise why the part expire?) And Volvo SG (Wearnes) charged me $768.91 (after a 15% discount). I went online https://www.autodoc.co.uk/car-parts/tailgate-struts-10926/volvo/xc40/xc40-536/128759-t5-awd and the parts do not cost more than 27UK pound. That is, each strut should cost less than $50. Ok, we multiply by 3 for taxes. Still $150 ech. But I got charged more than 15 times the cost. I know GCB prices have gone up and we know that bosses must live in them. But even the prices of GCB have not gone up that much that quickly. I kpkb and they said they will sanitise my car (but I already vaccinated) and align the wheels ($80-$100). I like the XC40 but not that much that I cannot switch to another brand. Any advice? I am escalating to Volvo International. Expand Less than 1k for 2 struts pretty normal pricing imo. A GCB here allowed you to get 3 or 4 manisons oversea. Cannot compare this way bros. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khunjk Neutral Newbie December 4, 2021 Share December 4, 2021 Hi All, I am new here. Thinking of buy a 2nd hand 2014 Jeep Cherokee 2.4. But worry about maintenance and spare parts. Does the car break down often? Any owner of this car can advise? thanks and appreciate Jason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 5, 2021 Share December 5, 2021 On 10/12/2021 at 4:44 PM, TPHANG said: @Jamesc Would any of you know the cost of Volvo maintenance? I just had two tail struts on my XC40 fail me. (Of course warranty expire; otherwise why the part expire?) And Volvo SG (Wearnes) charged me $768.91 (after a 15% discount). I went online https://www.autodoc.co.uk/car-parts/tailgate-struts-10926/volvo/xc40/xc40-536/128759-t5-awd and the parts do not cost more than 27UK pound. That is, each strut should cost less than $50. Ok, we multiply by 3 for taxes. Still $150 ech. But I got charged more than 15 times the cost. I know GCB prices have gone up and we know that bosses must live in them. But even the prices of GCB have not gone up that much that quickly. I kpkb and they said they will sanitise my car (but I already vaccinated) and align the wheels ($80-$100). I like the XC40 but not that much that I cannot switch to another brand. Any advice? I am escalating to Volvo International. Expand Rear struts DIY also can lah. Simple job. I did before. Just go outside workshop. The ADs all chop carrots. The money saved can use to buy kopi for MCF members who give you great advise. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...