Solar Turbocharged April 21, 2019 Share April 21, 2019 RH?Wah like that u also know.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2019 Author Share April 21, 2019 Had a lump on my back. Went polyclinic and referred to the specialist doc. He said no issue and I was sent home. In about 6 months it grew from about 20ct coin size to a small dumpling size, and was rather painful to the touch. Called the hospital and reopen my case but was told appt is only 1 month later. Went to pvt clinic and the doc referred me to the hospital he is affiliated to, 3 days later. The specialist doc at the hospital said it was infected and had day surgery done in the same afternoon. Sounds like infected sebaceous cyst. U can leave it but sometimes become infected.RH?What's RH? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 21, 2019 Share April 21, 2019 Sounds like infected sebaceous cyst. U can leave it but sometimes become infected. What's RH? Dr Loo home ground. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 21, 2019 Author Share April 21, 2019 Dr Loo home ground.Oh raffles hospital. Thought u meant RH was the type of lump he had lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic April 22, 2019 Share April 22, 2019 Stay strong and get well, doc. You're still needed by your missus, you need to give away your daughter's hand in marriage, see your boy become a dad himself and watch both your kids graduate from med and law school 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 Just found this thread. Best wishes Sir and get well soon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 (edited) Had a lump on my back. Went polyclinic and referred to the specialist doc. He said no issue and I was sent home. In about 6 months it grew from about 20ct coin size to a small dumpling size, and was rather painful to the touch. Called the hospital and reopen my case but was told appt is only 1 month later. Went to pvt clinic and the doc referred me to the hospital he is affiliated to, 3 days later. The specialist doc at the hospital said it was infected and had day surgery done in the same afternoon. There is still significant diff between private and public hospital. But we cannot ask for too much from a public hospital considering the volume of patients they have to handle and the amount of trainees in there. If one wants to feel more comfortable, quicker service, one has to pay through the nose to get treated in a private hospital.My dad went into a public hospital and didnt manage to walk out alive due to a mishap, I fought the case to the court. Of course nothing will help to bring back my dad. I felt bad when the Dr. cried in the court room but nothing compare to my family losing a love one. No hatred anyway, just wanted to know the truth and be fair to my dad and our family members. Subsequently my mother was diagnosed to have lymphoma, she refused to get treated by the same public hospital because of my dad's incident. I ended up sending her to Raffles and she went through chemo treatment cycle. But immediately after that she was found to have thyroid cancer, went under the knife and swallowed iodine pill. Glad that now she is alive and kicking. Edited April 23, 2019 by Ct3833 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 I believe public or private hospital, can still find good or no good doctors de. Not necessary private hospital doctors would be better. but in terms of faster and comfortable service, maybe private might be better but also not 100% true de. Lol. Because i went to see a private specialist before, i was early for my actual appointment timing but still waited 45 mins to near 1 hour to see the doctor. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 most people forget they go to hospital primarily to get well and not to enjoy their luxury services if a hospital has a very good record of curing x disease even have to wait 1/2 day many would still wait. in any organization there would be good and black sheep, even in religion 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 (edited) I believe public or private hospital, can still find good or no good doctors de. Not necessary private hospital doctors would be better. but in terms of faster and comfortable service, maybe private might be better but also not 100% true de. Lol. Because i went to see a private specialist before, i was early for my actual appointment timing but still waited 45 mins to near 1 hour to see the doctor. The difference is how long you gotta wait for an appt. Not sure if I posted here before but I once had a scare when I did an MRI and found 3 growths in my brain (small ones). Wanted to get a 2nd opinion - went polyclinic got specialist appt at AH (2 months later). If it weren't a 2nd opinion consult, I could be dead already. Went to AH, met a super lousy doc who was taking personal phone calls during the appt and telling his friend when he would be free for a kopi break (no joke!). Lousy doc then said AH procedure for MRI and blood test is for me to be hospitalized 3-5 days because they don't know when they can schedule the docs and MRI machine. SMLJ, the private hospital where I got my first opinion was so much simpler (but more expensive). Doc consult in the morning then they arranged for MRI in the afternoon. IDK if this is truly govt hospital's procedure or if it is because AH and the doc sucks balls but I wonder how many have died because of our lousy govt hospitals. This is why I buy insurance that covers private hospitals - personally I don't care for the "service" and don't mind staying in a 4 bedder. Edited April 23, 2019 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 if go private for nothing serious, you get charge many times more for unnecessary thing or even surgery. for chemo without cutting up any body parts, i think public is still fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 most people forget they go to hospital primarily to get well and not to enjoy their luxury services if a hospital has a very good record of curing x disease even have to wait 1/2 day many would still wait. in any organization there would be good and black sheep, even in religion Many of the people I know are surprised that my wife stayed in a shared room after giving birth. Siao ah. Pay 1.5k to 2k more just for a few nights in a hospital bed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 23, 2019 Author Share April 23, 2019 (edited) if go private for nothing serious, you get charge many times more for unnecessary thing or even surgery. for chemo without cutting up any body parts, i think public is still fine. For major surgery, I would choose my surgeon. Hence I went pte for my surgery. My surgeon is quite an introvert one. I mean honestly speaking, I think even my Pr skills (which are not my strong suit) are on par or better lol. But he has a good professional rep. Granted I have a lot of advantage cos a few of my close friends are surgeons so they know by reputation who's really good. My oncologist is public. He's as good as anyone out there in pte. Really nice guy, compassionate. Though I was stuck in sgh b1 for the entire week I was hospitalised, the onco ward nursing care was good as well. Similarly at ncc. Maybe mt e has slightly more gloss and sparkle. But in the actual care, I really feel its the same. Many of the people I know are surprised that my wife stayed in a shared room after giving birth. Siao ah. Pay 1.5k to 2k more just for a few nights in a hospital bed. It's harder to rest in a b1. That's confirm. Plus the night feedings. Actually tiring for the wife. I sleep over usually as well. I don't think anything right or wrong. My sil also stayed shared ward. The difference is how long you gotta wait for an appt. Not sure if I posted here before but I once had a scare when I did an MRI and found 3 growths in my brain (small ones). Wanted to get a 2nd opinion - went polyclinic got specialist appt at AH (2 months later). If it weren't a 2nd opinion consult, I could be dead already. Went to AH, met a super lousy doc who was taking personal phone calls during the appt and telling his friend when he would be free for a kopi break (no joke!). Lousy doc then said AH procedure for MRI and blood test is for me to be hospitalized 3-5 days because they don't know when they can schedule the docs and MRI machine. SMLJ, the private hospital where I got my first opinion was so much simpler (but more expensive). Doc consult in the morning then they arranged for MRI in the afternoon. IDK if this is truly govt hospital's procedure or if it is because AH and the doc sucks balls but I wonder how many have died because of our lousy govt hospitals. This is why I buy insurance that covers private hospitals - personally I don't care for the "service" and don't mind staying in a 4 bedder. Mri need to wait usually.The volumes in public hospital is much much higher. The utilisation rate is much higher. Similarly the private price u pay is usually higher reflecting the cost recovery Stay strong and get well, doc. You're still needed by your missus, you need to give away your daughter's hand in marriage, see your boy become a dad himself and watch both your kids graduate from med and law school Haha. OK lah. One day at a time. Last week taught me that. U never know the twists in life. Edited April 23, 2019 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 Many of the people I know are surprised that my wife stayed in a shared room after giving birth. Siao ah. Pay 1.5k to 2k more just for a few nights in a hospital bed. wah high flyer ... why you tekan your wife when she gave you a kid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 Mri need to wait usually. The volumes in public hospital is much much higher. The utilisation rate is much higher. Similarly the private price u pay is usually higher reflecting the cost recovery Haha. I get that waiting time is more. But surely it can't be a 3 months wait for an appt - if it is something serious, will certainly be a matter of life and death. And surely the scheduling can be better - 5 day hospitalization to get an MRI is nonsense. It's harder to rest in a b1. That's confirm. Plus the night feedings. Actually tiring for the wife. I sleep over usually as well. I don't think anything right or wrong. My sil also stayed shared ward. No dispute there la. Single ward definitely better than shared but paying 1.5k extra for it isn't worth it to me. If I make 1k per day then diff story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 23, 2019 Author Share April 23, 2019 After the post last week, I was supposed to be discharged on Wed pm after my chemo dose. Was OK even until wed 4 pm. But I developed fever at 5+pm (actually I've already changed up and was going to leave the ward) and spent the next two hours having chills. I had caught a bacterial infection due to the hospitalisation. In the end after some more iv antibiotics, was discharged on sat. Yesterday my 2nd cycle started. Hence, that's why I'm saying one day at a time. Can say I'm suay or what, but unexpected events do change your best plans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 23, 2019 Author Share April 23, 2019 I get that waiting time is more. But surely it can't be a 3 months wait for an appt - if it is something serious, will certainly be a matter of life and death. And surely the scheduling can be better - 5 day hospitalization to get an MRI is nonsense. No dispute there la. Single ward definitely better than shared but paying 1.5k extra for it isn't worth it to me. If I make 1k per day then diff story. There r fast track appointments. But they are only for certain things. Generally the capacity is maxed out. My friends all work in govt hospitals for now, their clinics r all maxed out one. To the brim plus squeeze some more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 23, 2019 Share April 23, 2019 There r fast track appointments. But they are only for certain things. Generally the capacity is maxed out. My friends all work in govt hospitals for now, their clinics r all maxed out one. To the brim plus squeeze some more. But that's exactly my point. It shouldn't be this way. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...