Lava 5th Gear January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 On 10/18/2019 at 7:59 PM, Rayoflight said: I test drove the new mini cooper s 5dr 2.0 few weeks back.. Also a fwd. Somehow its more engaging to drive. However its a driver's ME car. The rest of the passengers will vomit on Sports mode. Go kart feel so boh bian. The power delivery together with the exhaust pops was quite shiok. Stage 1 will be perfect for the 2.0l (same bmw engine) The clubman s which shares ukl2 platform as 2series active tourer/gran tourer was much more comfortable. we don't care about the passenger when driving a mini, that's not it priority. my wife owned r56s, f55s, f54s and I like most is her r56s. f series a bit more comfort in a cost of scarify some driving fun in the original r series. f54s is bigger by giving it passenger more leg room and the car is heavier therefore a new f54s jcw with 306bhp should be a good balance between "comfort" and power. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 On 10/18/2019 at 8:59 AM, Watwheels said: Oh, I thought the 2 series coupe is RWD. They come up with so many sub-models it's hard to keep up. The coupe is RWD but grand coupe is FWD....aiya, most importantly ppl must see the big "BMW".😂 Me too.. it thought only the 1 series kena FWD treatment. Now, even the 2 and I thought the 2 is supposed to be focusing on dynamic driving since its a coupe. Even the X1 and X2 are FWD... I'm not too sure if the drive feel will be much more different for FWD on such low powered cars. I'm driving a RWD and I seriously don't feel that it handles any better than most of the FWD cars I've driven before. Maybe it's too low powered that's y. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 2 hours ago, Rickster said: Me too.. it thought only the 1 series kena FWD treatment. Now, even the 2 and I thought the 2 is supposed to be focusing on dynamic driving since its a coupe. Even the X1 and X2 are FWD... I'm not too sure if the drive feel will be much more different for FWD on such low powered cars. I'm driving a RWD and I seriously don't feel that it handles any better than most of the FWD cars I've driven before. Maybe it's too low powered that's y. Handling is not just about whether it’s RWD or FWD. it’s the whole package. Chassis rigidity and flex, suspension setup, weight distribution, steering, Tyre grip etc. being RWD doesn’t automatically make it handle better than a FWD car although some RWD proponents will beg to differ. and really, street driving, RWD or FWD is a moot point. 99% of Drivers brake DURING cornering or taking bends, not BEFORE the corner. With such skills, no need good handling lah 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 Interesting car I saw in the motorshow. Wonder how the pricing is like cmpared with the 4 ? I reckon this is pit directly against the CLA which would make the pricing around $160k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Midorima 4th Gear January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 1 hour ago, Davidtkl said: Interesting car I saw in the motorshow. Wonder how the pricing is like cmpared with the 4 ? I reckon this is pit directly against the CLA which would make the pricing around $160k? Was quoted 128,888 without coe. Well they haven launched it so can’t fix any price or offer any overtrade deals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged January 10, 2020 Share January 10, 2020 5 hours ago, Midorima said: Was quoted 128,888 without coe. Well they haven launched it so can’t fix any price or offer any overtrade deals. So should be around $165,000-170,000...inc COE for the base 218 model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 9, 2020 Share March 9, 2020 Anyone test drove this 2GC? Any comments? Price seems reasonable at $157,888 to $160,888 (after $3k OT/discount) but not sure what is the OMV. Those driving CLA may be in a good position to compare as it's a direct competitor. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pooty 1st Gear May 29, 2020 Share May 29, 2020 Hi, Did anyone have a chance to test this car and any first impressions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged May 29, 2020 Share May 29, 2020 1 hour ago, Pooty said: Hi, Did anyone have a chance to test this car and any first impressions? BMW should be good to Drive. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pooty 1st Gear July 3, 2020 Share July 3, 2020 Hi, does anyone have any information on the BMW 7 speed DCT? Is this a wet clutch? I can't seem to find any information available online Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 3, 2020 Share July 3, 2020 21 minutes ago, Pooty said: Hi, does anyone have any information on the BMW 7 speed DCT? Is this a wet clutch? I can't seem to find any information available online https://www.greencarcongress.com/2015/02/20150213-getrag.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 My own take: https://garage36.wordpress.com/2020/08/17/two-be-or-not-to-be-driving-the-bmw-218i-gran-coupe-m-sport/ 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 (edited) no IL6 RWD no talk ... not i said one ... lol Quote Does it matter that this BMW has its driven wheels positioned up front instead of behind? With 134 horses? No. It doesn’t matter, not at all. For mere mortal drivers like us, I’d hypothesise that we would empty out our bravery juice much quicker than this car runs out of talent. Anyone saying otherwise, has yet to drive one. Edited August 18, 2020 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 6 minutes ago, Wt_know said: no IL6 RWD no talk ... not i said one ... lol If can afford IL6 RWD, I will recommend also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 1 hour ago, Mockngbrd said: My own take: https://garage36.wordpress.com/2020/08/17/two-be-or-not-to-be-driving-the-bmw-218i-gran-coupe-m-sport/ Great write up and pics bro I like your slogan "Ultimate Entry-Level Driving Machine" Have u tried the latest CLA? That's a direct competitor so good for comparison. I've not tried CLA but I did test drive this 2GC and loved it. Too bad at my age, driving a coupe is a luxury I can't afford and also its low stance is abit of an issue as well. Ah peks like me need to stick to 2GT instead. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Spring said: Great write up and pics bro I like your slogan "Ultimate Entry-Level Driving Machine" Have u tried the latest CLA? That's a direct competitor so good for comparison. I've not tried CLA but I did test drive this 2GC and loved it. Too bad at my age, driving a coupe is a luxury I can't afford and also its low stance is abit of an issue as well. Ah peks like me need to stick to 2GT instead. No, haven't driven the new CLA, Drove the previous one (CLA180) and it was shit. Hopefully BMW makes a 2 Series Gran Coupe Touring, that would be something. Edited August 18, 2020 by Mockngbrd 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 8 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said: No, haven't driven the new CLA, Drove the previous one (CLA180) and it was shit. Hopefully BMW makes a 2 Series Gran Coupe Touring, that would be something. Coupe got Touring version? Don't see other makes having it. Would be interesting for sure! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 18, 2020 Share August 18, 2020 3 hours ago, Mockngbrd said: My own take: https://garage36.wordpress.com/2020/08/17/two-be-or-not-to-be-driving-the-bmw-218i-gran-coupe-m-sport/ The body shape looks like the love child of a tryst between the Cerato and Civic.... Frankly, I'd rather BMW be honest about the product; a 1-series 4 door sedan. It is what it is. Simi pretentious "Gran Coupe" name? It looks nothing like a coupe of any sort....lol ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...