Spidey10 Supercharged May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 10:07 AM, Damienic said: Rolex considered its cyclops as one of its most important innovations. I used to think it affects the overall appearance of the watch. But after a while, gotten used to the look. 😆 same here, i dun like that magnifying glass...really change the appearance.....but now, with my failing eyesight....i think is no brainer to get one... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 (edited) On 5/22/2023 at 10:29 AM, Spidey10 said: same here, i dun like that magnifying glass...really change the appearance.....but now, with my failing eyesight....i think is no brainer to get one... I never bother with the cyclops date window . I just adjust time, wind and go. Everyday is the same for me....no need to know date on the move. 😁 Edited May 22, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 From with Cyclops, i change to without cyclops……😁😎 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 12:04 PM, Throttle2 said: From with Cyclops, i change to without cyclops……😁😎 You removed the cyclops?? 🙀 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 12:33 PM, Damienic said: You removed the cyclops?? 🙀 This is a vintage ref 1680 RedSub which originally came on plexi-crystal with cyclops. I replaced it with a T39 superdome crystal meant for ref 1665 Seadweller. So no i didnt remove it. however, the cyclops on a sapphire crystal can indeed be removed as i understand by high heat applied and scraping it off the main body of the crystal. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 1:17 PM, Throttle2 said: This is a vintage ref 1680 RedSub which originally came on plexi-crystal with cyclops. I replaced it with a T39 superdome crystal meant for ref 1665 Seadweller. So no i didnt remove it. however, the cyclops on a sapphire crystal can indeed be removed as i understand by high heat applied and scraping it off the main body of the crystal. U r rite bout crystal is removable. My FIL's DJ is cyclopless leow.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 1:17 PM, Throttle2 said: This is a vintage ref 1680 RedSub which originally came on plexi-crystal with cyclops. I replaced it with a T39 superdome crystal meant for ref 1665 Seadweller. So no i didnt remove it. however, the cyclops on a sapphire crystal can indeed be removed as i understand by high heat applied and scraping it off the main body of the crystal. I see. But the manual removal needs certain type of equipment to remove? If ownself heat and scrap, might damage the surface? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 22, 2023 Share May 22, 2023 On 5/22/2023 at 2:35 PM, Damienic said: I see. But the manual removal needs certain type of equipment to remove? If ownself heat and scrap, might damage the surface? I have heard of people doing it themselves.. 😂😂. i wouldnt try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiptan86 3rd Gear May 24, 2023 Share May 24, 2023 Last emperor of China's watch sells for record $6.9m in Hong Kong auction 23 May 2023 HONG KONG - A watch that was once owned by the last emperor of China’s Qing Dynasty, whose life formed the basis of Oscar-winning film The Last Emperor, sold for a record HK$40 million (S$6.9 million) at a Hong Kong auction on Tuesday. An anonymous buyer bought the rare Patek Philippe watch that had belonged to Aisin-Gioro Puyi. The price did not include the auction house fee. Mr Thomas Perazzi, head of watches at auction house Phillips Asia, told Reuters that it is “the highest result” for any wristwatch that once belonged to an emperor. It was one of only eight known Patek Philippe Reference 96 Quantieme Lune timepieces and was gifted by Puyi to his Russian interpreter when he was imprisoned by the Soviet Union, the auction house said. It easily beat a pre-sale estimate of US$3 million (S$4 million). Other watches owned by emperors and sold at auction include a Patek Philippe timepiece that belonged to the last Ethiopian Emperor Haile Selassie, which sold for US$2.9 million in 2017. A Rolex watch that belonged to the last Emperor of Vietnam, Bao Dai, fetched US$5 million at an auction in 2017. Born in 1906, Aisin-Gioro Puyi was the last Emperor of China’s Qing dynasty, who began his reign at the age of two. After Japan’s defeat in World War II in 1945, Puyi was captured at China’s Shenyang Airport by the Soviet Red Army. He was detained as a war prisoner and incarcerated in a detention camp in Khabarovsk, Russia, for five years. The auction house said it spent three years collaborating with watch specialists, historians, journalists, and scientists to research the watch’s history and verify its provenance. Mr Perazzi told Reuters that the watch was the finest that Patek made at the time. Journalist Russell Working, who interviewed Puyi’s interpreter Georgy Permyakov in 2001, said he gave the watch to Mr Permyakov on his last day in the Soviet Union, shortly before he was extradited back to China. “These were the kind of things he sometimes did to people that were very special to him,” Mr Working said. REUTERS 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged May 24, 2023 Share May 24, 2023 On 5/24/2023 at 8:47 AM, Philiptan86 said: Last emperor of China's watch sells for record $6.9m in Hong Kong auction 23 May 2023 HONG KONG - A watch that was once owned by the last emperor of China’s Qing Dynasty, whose life formed the basis of Oscar-winning film The Last Emperor, sold for a record HK$40 million (S$6.9 million) at a Hong Kong auction on Tuesday. An anonymous buyer bought the rare Patek Philippe watch that had belonged to Aisin-Gioro Puyi. The price did not include the auction house fee. Mr Thomas Perazzi, head of watches at auction house Phillips Asia, told Reuters that it is “the highest result” for any wristwatch that once belonged to an emperor. It was one of only eight known Patek Philippe Reference 96 Quantieme Lune timepieces and was gifted by Puyi to his Russian interpreter when he was imprisoned by the Soviet Union, the auction house said. It easily beat a pre-sale estimate of US$3 million (S$4 million). Other watches owned by emperors and sold at auction include a Patek Philippe timepiece that belonged to the last Ethiopian Emperor Haile Selassie, which sold for US$2.9 million in 2017. A Rolex watch that belonged to the last Emperor of Vietnam, Bao Dai, fetched US$5 million at an auction in 2017. Born in 1906, Aisin-Gioro Puyi was the last Emperor of China’s Qing dynasty, who began his reign at the age of two. After Japan’s defeat in World War II in 1945, Puyi was captured at China’s Shenyang Airport by the Soviet Red Army. He was detained as a war prisoner and incarcerated in a detention camp in Khabarovsk, Russia, for five years. The auction house said it spent three years collaborating with watch specialists, historians, journalists, and scientists to research the watch’s history and verify its provenance. Mr Perazzi told Reuters that the watch was the finest that Patek made at the time. Journalist Russell Working, who interviewed Puyi’s interpreter Georgy Permyakov in 2001, said he gave the watch to Mr Permyakov on his last day in the Soviet Union, shortly before he was extradited back to China. “These were the kind of things he sometimes did to people that were very special to him,” Mr Working said. REUTERS Is it still in working condition? Looking at the picture, don't think it is...and i guess that's not the most important question.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 24, 2023 Share May 24, 2023 any reliable but do not cost an arm and a leg to fix and service IWC call Richemont ... and we know they chop carrot 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 25, 2023 Share May 25, 2023 (edited) Casio. 😁 Nice. Edited May 25, 2023 by Kopites 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 (edited) Greetings my fellow watch collectors. have the pleasure of adding the Wimbledon into my tiny collection, while waiting wife's watch to arrive. the shortest ownership have ever experience 🤣🤣🤣, wife was at home taking care of kids and she said :"watch has nice dial "🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣told her she can have it, will adjust to her size later . Happy wife, happy life. all the riches in the world can't buy my family happiness..except for No 4, coming soon 🤣🤣🤣🤣 as usual, the money shot the gathering won't always be online , stay safe and remember . all the money in the world cant buy your family happiness Edited May 29, 2023 by Staff69 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 DJ41 ... Mint Green ... yay or nay? photo from internet .... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 Question: How do you guys alternate between wearing a submariner, datejust and apple watch? Last time will wear submariner for poloT and jeans, business shirts wear datejust. But I think submariner works well with business shirts too and I am getting used to wearing apple watch to remind me of upcoming appts as well as alert me during phone calls. Just interested to know what are your choices and why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 On 5/29/2023 at 3:08 PM, Wt_know said: DJ41 ... Mint Green ... yay or nay? photo from internet .... Buy lah …… wait later Kenna bye bye 🤣…. Now waiting for real peekture …. Not google 1 hor 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 (edited) On 5/29/2023 at 4:23 PM, BanCoe said: Buy lah …… wait later Kenna bye bye 🤣…. Now waiting for real peekture …. Not google 1 hor i wish i can just walk in, put the cash on the table (like S69) and take the watch home i small ikan bilis need to put down name and only if i lucky go temple pray then got chance to get 1 hopefully can get this before xmas … best case scenario … else tan ku ku my previous DJ also waited almost 3-5 months and daytona and pepsi chance is like 0.001% 10x smaller than cpf rate peasant increase … lol Edited May 29, 2023 by Wt_know 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 On 5/24/2023 at 9:35 AM, Spidey10 said: Is it still in working condition? Looking at the picture, don't think it is...and i guess that's not the most important question.... It is not working. Frankly it is bidder's problem - he should have thoroughly checked before bidding for such a high value. 😁 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...