Watch Part V

Carbon82

now that there is no more stupid money in crypto and stock market, are the prices of Rolex/Patek steel watches coming down?

1 hour ago, Chongster said:

now that there is no more stupid money in crypto and stock market, are the prices of Rolex/Patek steel watches coming down?

The silly ones have come off 10-20%
the rest maybe about 5%
overall softer for sure. 
thats great for true collectors 

2 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

The silly ones have come off 10-20%
the rest maybe about 5%
overall softer for sure. 
thats great for true collectors 

if a starbuck sub drop to 18k, i dun mind getting one...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

1 hour ago, Spidey10 said:

if a starbuck sub drop to 18k, i dun mind getting one...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Haha before it drops to $18k, there will already be a lot of takers at $20k before you…… haha

Nowadays see a lot of youngster buy and wear watches $30k upwards

thinking back, i have never bought nor worn a single watch which was valued more than 1% of my networth.  Thats the same rule of thumb till today.

I think it would be ridiculous for me to buy and wear a $300k patek.  Like kinda CMI and very wannabe.   Thats my take, feel free to have yours.

1 minute ago, Throttle2 said:

Nowadays see a lot of youngster buy and wear watches $30k upwards

thinking back, i have never bought nor worn a single watch which was valued more than 1% of my networth.  Thats the same rule of thumb till today.

I think it would be ridiculous for me to buy and wear a $300k patek.  Like kinda CMI and very wannabe.   Thats my take, feel free to have yours.

yah man....that's why ask me to pay $35k for a green sub, my tooth also pain..

that also begs the question if we are able to afford it....but to me, even if i can afford it, i still feel is not worthwhile to pay that much...maybe 10-15% above retail would be comfortable....but 150% above retail.....hhhmmm...

also, at my age, no need to show ler.....tshirt, bermudas and sandals everyday....:yeah-im-not-drunk:....even while flying, I am on bermudas as it's very comfortable on the plane....

26 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

yah man....that's why ask me to pay $35k for a green sub, my tooth also pain..

that also begs the question if we are able to afford it....but to me, even if i can afford it, i still feel is not worthwhile to pay that much...maybe 10-15% above retail would be comfortable....but 150% above retail.....hhhmmm...

also, at my age, no need to show ler.....tshirt, bermudas and sandals everyday....:yeah-im-not-drunk:....even while flying, I am on bermudas as it's very comfortable on the plane....

Simple life, Zen.   Best.  I am working towards that, selling my Rolexes piece by piece.  Only keep 15 at most. 

no more easy money, interest rates going up, crypto bubble burst

if the next debt recession is as tough as the 1997 one, then expect many prices to come down to earth, including Rolex 😁

7 hours ago, Scion said:

no more easy money, interest rates going up, crypto bubble burst

if the next debt recession is as tough as the 1997 one, then expect many prices to come down to earth, including Rolex 😁

That would be pretty shiok

Bought this classic style watch recently.. growing to like this more than my other sports/chrono style watches.. think I'm growing old liao.. 😄

20220525_084623~2.jpg

Edited by Tkseah