Watch Part V

Carbon82

On 5/16/2023 at 10:22 PM, Carbon82 said:

Wah Lau, I suddenly become the subject in a watch thread?!

I have been using Carbon82 since early 90s when computers and networking was first introduced in Singapore, so how can I be so young? 82 stands for something else lah... 

@BanCoe one of my cousin become a father at 19 and grandfather before 50 hor. I am no way near his standard. 

@RH1667 I will die faster if as what you have suggested, cannot imagine the financial stress of feeding the 10 mouths and fights between wives... MLMLWML. 1 + 2 just nice for me. 

@mersaylee come to think of it, I used to dream of having 2 house and up to 8 cars, and I somewhat almost achieve my goal. 2 house, yes. 8 cars (not concurrently), my current one is the 7th cars I have owned, 1 more to go, probably when I retire, provided I still can afford a car comfortably.

OK, enough of OT, back to watch. Which one look better, or none?

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

Mai lah, none of the above, since you asked

two tone nobody wants, they just sell at retail. If cannot sell , then give 10%-15%.

but if you like than just buy the one you like, dont matter what others think.

if really must choose, i would take the GMT

I have been using Carbon82 since early 90s when computers and networking was first introduced in Singapore, so how can I be so young? 82 stands for something else lah... 

@BanCoe one of my cousin become a father at 19 and grandfather before 50 hor. I am no way near his standard. 

@RH1667 I will die faster if as what you have suggested, cannot imagine the financial stress of feeding the 10 mouths and fights between wives... MLMLWML. 1 + 2 just nice for me. 

@mersaylee come to think of it, I used to dream of having 2 house and up to 8 cars, and I somewhat almost achieve my goal. 2 house, yes. 8 cars (not concurrently), my current one is the 7th cars I have owned, 1 more to go, probably when I retire, provided I still can afford a car comfortably.

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

Bro...if me, the  GMT. 

The skydweller design is innovative, but the center 24-hr wheel kind of interfere with the clean look of the dial .  They are less popular for a reason.

If dress watch is what I want, I will get a datejust  instead for less money. 

Otherwise the GMT will serve well for most occasions.  

But the choice is yours because it has to suit your personality. Go with what your heart feels right. Congrats! It's a great problem to have!

Edited by Starry

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

Tks for letting me know your cousin n U are so powderfull 1…… healthy to have competition 🤣

i don’t know your age but I know U eye-ing my car nombor plates 🤣🤣

Good luck on your new purchase/s…… when is the watch  party ??🤣🤣

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

GMT if I have to choose one of the above. 

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

Rootbeer lah...the rest...hhhmmm

Rocking this today...the sun hits the sweet spot while driving and the dial pops at me...:yeah-im-not-drunk: otherwise is very subtle and won't see the contrast on the dial...

IMG_2949[1].JPG

Edited by Spidey10

On 5/16/2023 at 9:22 PM, Carbon82 said:

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

Bro just get what you love most. Cheers

Thanks for all the candid comments, very much appreciated. [:)]

I have all these while wanted the rootbeer and have been checking out several ADs in the past 2 years, but without prior relationship with any of them, I reckon the wait is going to be infinite... 

Then the Sky Dweller somewhat caught my attention, partially because it has GMT with annual calendar function. I was told the EOL TT variant is easier to get than rootbeer. 2023 model with 9002 movement has yet to hit the stores. 

Looking at the Grey market, the rootbeer is asking for slightly <$28K (~$5K above RRP), whereas the TT Sky Dweller can be had at RRP or lesser, which gel with the comments here. Seems like going grey is the only option provided I can get past the fact that my name will not be in Rolex warranty register.

BTW my wife asked why am I still looking at GMT when I already have a Pepsi (Tudor) on my wrist, yet commended that DJ and SD look so ah peh when I show her the alternatives... :D:D

On 5/19/2023 at 9:05 PM, Carbon82 said:

BTW my wife asked why am I still looking at GMT when I already have a Pepsi (Tudor) on my wrist, yet commended that DJ and SD look so ah peh when I show her the alternatives... :D:D

Bro...most ladies will say the DJ look so ah pek from photos until they see one on their wrist in the showroom.  Then all the glitters and sparkles (especially the fluted bezel version) will spin stars inside their eyes and they will ask you to buy them one.

So don't believe when they say the DJ look so ah pek.  It is a trap....😆😄

Edited by Starry

On 5/19/2023 at 9:05 PM, Carbon82 said:

Thanks for all the candid comments, very much appreciated. [:)]

I have all these while wanted the rootbeer and have been checking out several ADs in the past 2 years, but without prior relationship with any of them, I reckon the wait is going to be infinite... 

Then the Sky Dweller somewhat caught my attention, partially because it has GMT with annual calendar function. I was told the EOL TT variant is easier to get than rootbeer. 2023 model with 9002 movement has yet to hit the stores. 

Looking at the Grey market, the rootbeer is asking for slightly <$28K (~$5K above RRP), whereas the TT Sky Dweller can be had at RRP or lesser, which gel with the comments here. Seems like going grey is the only option provided I can get past the fact that my name will not be in Rolex warranty register.

simple explanation to let her understand the changes from Tudor GMT to Rolex GMT , is like changing from Faceshop products to SKII products 😁

Put on this swiss made natural rubber tropic divers strap which i kept in my drawer for more than 10yrs

unlike cheap silicon or other non natural rubber, this doesnt crack nor harden over time. 

image.jpg

image.jpg

Rocking this on my Sunday run but think thundering Thor have a say today…..oh well, to breakfast then..

041132C1-9E59-4850-95B1-95DDD2DFE624.jpeg

On 5/20/2023 at 12:28 PM, Throttle2 said:

Put on this swiss made natural rubber tropic divers strap which i kept in my drawer for more than 10yrs

unlike cheap silicon or other non natural rubber, this doesnt crack nor harden over time. 

image.jpg

image.jpg

Nice lehh, now still can find such natural rubber? 

On 5/21/2023 at 8:38 PM, Smoothscott said:

Nice lehh, now still can find such natural rubber? 

I had it since a long way back, more than a decade.  Its meant for my Rolex Sub.  
can still find today, about $120

I just realized this morning while setting my gmt, i found it difficult to see the date...i was wearing my lens, thou able to focus after a few back and forth...

1st thot came to mind was i needed that magnifying glass brand.....now i know why so many pple need that brand of watches ....:yeah-im-not-drunk:...low far ngan is the reason!! 

z7wr4gE.jpeg

RDi2X4X.jpeg

It would be the GMT if you asked me. Skydweller will be good if it’s the SS White, Blue or new Mint Green. 

On 5/22/2023 at 8:40 AM, Spidey10 said:

I just realized this morning while setting my gmt, i found it difficult to see the date...i was wearing my lens, thou able to focus after a few back and forth...

1st thot came to mind was i needed that magnifying glass brand.....now i know why so many pple need that brand of watches ....:yeah-im-not-drunk:...low far ngan is the reason!! 

Rolex considered its cyclops as one of its most important innovations. I used to think it affects the overall appearance of the watch. But after a while, gotten used to the look. 😆