Watch Part V

Carbon82

Go this kinda website sure meet lots of this kinda people one lah. 

Imagine the website itself already tell you the character and pattern of the deal liao

29 minutes ago, Arogab said:

Go this kinda website sure meet lots of this kinda people one lah. 

Imagine the website itself already tell you the character and pattern of the deal liao

I have another hobby that can only buy/sell mostly with people in the US and Europe using another website.  In my decades of dealing with them buying and selling, I have zero issues. The people there will not lowball and they do not bargain because they think it is disrespectful. Everyone just list their most reasonable price and as a seller, I don't have to purposely mark-up my price with the thought that people will bargain. 

So it is very easy and hassle-free to deal.  This bargaining and lowballing thing is a very local thing which I really hope can be eradicated. 

17 hours ago, Starry said:

I have another hobby that can only buy/sell mostly with people in the US and Europe using another website.  In my decades of dealing with them buying and selling, I have zero issues. The people there will not lowball and they do not bargain because they think it is disrespectful. Everyone just list their most reasonable price and as a seller, I don't have to purposely mark-up my price with the thought that people will bargain. 

So it is very easy and hassle-free to deal.  This bargaining and lowballing thing is a very local thing which I really hope can be eradicated. 

A bit OT but every culture got norms lah. As a counterpoint I find the mandatory tipping culture in America absolutely ridiculous. 

22 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

A bit OT but every culture got norms lah. As a counterpoint I find the mandatory tipping culture in America absolutely ridiculous. 

I south east asian, go America no tip, act blur.  Unless service really good.

wahahahaha

Edited by Throttle2

1 minute ago, Throttle2 said:

I south east asian, go America no tip, act blur.  Unless service really good.

When I actually used to travel (meaning more than a decade ago) I got caught out once at a convention. 

Restaurants normally I'm attuned to this sort of thing. But at a convention centre??

I picked up a croissant from the *free* (as in paid for during buffet for attendees. One fat guy giving the somewhat effeminate mannerisms of a gay man (not that there's anything wrong with that) immediately came up and offered to toast it for me, which I thought was a nice gesture. But after that, he asked me, all smiles, "will there be anything else, Sir?". Of course I said "No thank you." He kept waiting around expectantly. Then suddenly all smiles disappeared and all the eye-rolling and huffy non-verbal communication started happening. 

As I said, every country has its quirks. Doesn't mean we shouldn't improve our own, but I dislike all this AMDK worship and mindlessly elevating their culture over ours.

Just now, Turboflat4 said:

When I actually used to travel (meaning more than a decade ago) I got caught out once at a convention. 

Restaurants normally I'm attuned to this sort of thing. But at a convention centre??

I picked up a croissant from the *free* (as in paid for during buffet for attendees. One fat guy giving the somewhat effeminate mannerisms of a gay man (not that there's anything wrong with that) immediately came up and offered to toast it for me, which I thought was a nice gesture. But after that, he asked me, all smiles, "will there be anything else, Sir?". Of course I said "No thank you." He kept waiting around expectantly. Then suddenly all smiles disappeared and all the eye-rolling and huffy non-verbal communication started happening. 

As I said, every country has its quirks. Doesn't mean we shouldn't improve our own, but I dislike all this AMDK worship and mindlessly elevating their culture over ours.

They only do things for a return (usually monetary) always hustling and negotiating, very lowlife in my opinion.
Always “whats innit for me.” donald trumpish type of culture. thats capitalism at its purest .

I basically make it a personal point not to tip as a general practice. But i may tip the person (not the company) if the service (sincere) is indeed over and above my expectations.  

I only practice IAMDK worship….heeheehee.  

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

I have never felt obliged to tip in US unless their service is superb. 

I am not AM, so I don't know.  Nobody has ever ran towards me and said that I haven't tip....😄

But when comes to their online buy/sell etiquette, I appreciate how they do it. They don't lowball or bargain. But me no AM, so sometimes I bargain and they sometimes just lower my shipping knowing I am an international buyer.....😆

21 hours ago, Starry said:

I think is part of the culture here. And Carousel so call advertisement I feel is also encouraging negotiation for the price. And low ballers comes from those individuals that are everywhere.

1 hour ago, Starry said:

I have never felt obliged to tip in US unless their service is superb. 

I am not AM, so I don't know.  Nobody has ever ran towards me and said that I haven't tip....😄

But when comes to their online buy/sell etiquette, I appreciate how they do it. They don't lowball or bargain. But me no AM, so sometimes I bargain and they sometimes just lower my shipping knowing I am an international buyer.....😆

Tipping is a way of appreciation. I go to one music bar here, no matter how much I each and drink from 2k THB to having many friends at 5 - 10k THB, I will tip them 500 and 1k at higher bill. Cos they will drive be back at no cost when I drink a lot

8 minutes ago, Arogab said:

I think is part of the culture here. And Carousel so call advertisement I feel is also encouraging negotiation for the price. And low ballers comes from those individuals that are everywhere.

Tipping is a way of appreciation. I go to one music bar here, no matter how much I each and drink from 2k THB to having many friends at 5 - 10k THB, I will tip them 500 and 1k at higher bill. Cos they will drive be back at no cost when I drink a lot

I feel tipping is good if you generally feel they have done you exceptional service. It is a form of appreciation and encouragement to them. 😀

Got my first watch from grey. First omega speedy. A limited edition apollo 11 50th anniversary.

Prob din tink straight. But heck. Just wanted a special moonwatch and plonked on one finally.

IMG-20220817-WA0071.jpeg

IMG-20220817-WA0069.jpeg

• Praise 13

10 hours ago, Spurman said:

Got my first watch from grey. First omega speedy. A limited edition apollo 11 50th anniversary.

Prob din tink straight. But heck. Just wanted a special moonwatch and plonked on one finally.

IMG-20220817-WA0071.jpeg

IMG-20220817-WA0069.jpeg

Congrats! wear in good health....nice one Bro!!

i also waiting for my moonwatch....the swatch kind..:yeah-im-not-drunk:

we may not like tips here.... that y restaurants charged service charge.. the problem is these goes to the restaurants, not the wait staff.

in americas, a lot of wait staff survive on tips from customers. in generally i tip 10% for 4 or below pax. 15% for bigger grps

someone ever tell me (i dunno true or not): gov tax wait staff on tips based on average of the town..... so u dun tip them, they still get tax

9 hours ago, Spidey10 said:

Congrats! wear in good health....nice one Bro!!

i also waiting for my moonwatch....the swatch kind..:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Tqtq bro.

Good luck on that too. Lol lol

i guess simi lolek , simi paitek , simi ahmes … same same but different 

no wonder scammer can scam $32M because ah beng and ah lian all thought can get the prestige watch and bag at retail price … lol

only people who get into the "small room" got to see what models available in the shop .... :grin:

On 8/18/2022 at 5:00 PM, Vegas said:

we may not like tips here.... that y restaurants charged service charge.. the problem is these goes to the restaurants, not the wait staff.

in americas, a lot of wait staff survive on tips from customers. in generally i tip 10% for 4 or below pax. 15% for bigger grps

someone ever tell me (i dunno true or not): gov tax wait staff on tips based on average of the town..... so u dun tip them, they still get tax

Actually quite a few US restaurants now impose service charges, but tipping is *still* expected. The culture is rotten.