Private Property prices......still up or down? Part II

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/developers-get-creative-to-push-unsold-condos?fbclid=IwAR1C3Yi6uWN9yyNiaCZBrF0tZcWXcYTZMSL1-sE11UaDdtIRI6jgPt4gQ2E

Developers get creative to push unsold condos

Jan 25, 2019

(A buyer of a unit at Kingsford Waterbay (above) won a BMW as part of a lucky draw, while the developer for Mont Botanik Residence offered $50,000 vouchers for Jaguar cars with every unit purchased)

On 1/23/2019 at 2:33 AM, Starry said:

brother, I think the purpose of his analysis is to show an apple to apple comparison la.

I mean you can even find freehold $1200 psf condo in D9, 10 minute walk to Somerset MRT...Cavenagh Gardens .....but 43 years old...you want or not? Neighbour to our Istana somemore.

Might as well say why consider VisionCrest when Cavenagh Gardens is almost half its price? But one is 11 years old, one is 43 years old, age has a big impact to their prices.

Cavenagh garden has a huge vacant carpark. If not for the Long walk to the train stn, it’s actua quite a nice place..

Short Story

I remembered once I saw a nice lowrise condo about Steven's Road.  There was an agent showing another unit. He approached us enquiring if we were looking for a unit.

He then showed us a couple in the premise. Then he said X price as instructed by her seller client. I said OK lets do the paper work. In that late afternoon, he asked me for $15,000 kopi money to see through the deal. At that point in time, $15,000 seems a very small amount when compared to the entire purchase price. Paid up and bought the unit.

Looking back, it seems quite unethical for an agent to do that.  

On 1/28/2019 at 2:00 PM, Ash2017 said:

Short Story

I remembered once I saw a nice lowrise condo about Steven's Road. There was an agent showing another unit. He approached us enquiring if we were looking for a unit.

He then showed us a couple in the premise. Then he said X price as instructed by her seller client. I said OK lets do the paper work. In that late afternoon, he asked me for $15,000 kopi money to see through the deal. At that point in time, $15,000 seems a very small amount when compared to the entire purchase price. Paid up and bought the unit.

I am not a lawyer but Isn’t it illegal for u to do that?

On 1/28/2019 at 2:00 PM, Ash2017 said:

Short Story

I remembered once I saw a nice lowrise condo about Steven's Road. There was an agent showing another unit. He approached us enquiring if we were looking for a unit.

Wa.. 15k kopi money.

Once, I went to look at a second hand car. All good and went to the office to do paperwork. Last min, dealer gave me a "BTW hor, we charge a small football money" of $500. I told him I dun play football and he can void my sales and I would share his company name in FB. In todays era, almost everything are online and electronic. Where got need someone to run around town doing transfer paperz. Football. Haaa

Such kopi money is rather prevalent...

If it's a 15 mil GCB, and someone, who isn't even an agent gets you a good price, say 1mil off the selling price, wouldn't you give the person an angpao?

I gave a friend an angpao for coming along to give me her honest opinion as a property guru, on whether the place was worth it.

She even helped with some nego.. 

On 1/29/2019 at 4:30 AM, Wind30 said:

I am not a lawyer but Isn’t it illegal for u to do that?

I am not a lawyer too but isn't it illegal for same sex to have sex; have oral sex ....

the law said the law is there but we close two eyes for the moment

I thought nobody is above the law .....

On 1/29/2019 at 5:38 AM, therock said:

Such kopi money is rather prevalent...

If it's a 15 mil GCB, and someone, who isn't even an agent gets you a good price, say 1mil off the selling price, wouldn't you give the person an angpao?

I gave a friend an angpao for coming along to give me her honest opinion as a property guru, on whether the place was worth it.

She even helped with some nego.. 

this one i agree with it....it is small comm to pay if that person can knock off a princely sum from the price after his negotation.