What Did You Makan Today PT 6

BabyBlade

  On 4/6/2020 at 12:46 PM, Lala81 said:

Are all tang hoon brands equivalent?

What is the tanghoon's equivalent of chilli brand (for beehoon)?

Expand  

I've given up buying all brands of tanghoon here.  They all became either broken, soggy or opaque.  There's a no brand variety sold in wet market dried goods stall (sells haebee, mushroom, pkt sauces, etc), prepacked. This one is closest equivalent to the Thai ones that I have. 

Now I use Thai brands except for the one with transparent & maroon packaging (broken n opaque the moment it was added to hot soup).

The brand featured in my precooked pic is slightly yellow becos its is not bleached.

You can find Thai branded tanghoon in shops that sells Thai grocery. I also saw one brand at Tungsun (bedok north). 

Edited by TameDriver

  On 4/6/2020 at 1:09 PM, TameDriver said:

I've given up buying all brands of tanghoon here.  They all became either broken, soggy or opaque.  There's a no brand variety sold in wet market dried goods stall (sells haebee, mushroom, pkt sauces, etc), prepacked. 

Now I use Thai brands except for the one with transparent & maroon packaging (broken n opaque the moment it was added to hot soup).

The brand featured in my precooked pic is slightly yellow becos its is not bleached.

You can find Thai branded tanghoon in shops that sells Thai grocery. I also saw one brand at Tungsun (bedok north). 

Expand  

Hmm thai groceries. haha that's bit tough where i live. Thanks. 
Have a lot to learn from all you experienced home cooks.

On 4/6/2020 at 1:12 PM, Lala81 said:

Hmm thai groceries. haha that's bit tough where i live. Thanks. 
Have a lot to learn from all you experienced home cooks.

Expand  

Dried goods stall in most markets should have it. Its prepacked & hanging overhead area. 

I experienced in cooking low SES food only; saving up to pay full cash for my next BMW.......

The 8 series GC 🤣

Expand  

For bee hoon, I don't chilli brand.

I prefer 新竹米粉.

Expand  

Wai Wai brand beehoon. I like its finer textured strands.

On 4/5/2020 at 9:37 AM, TameDriver said:

Went to a hdb vege shop after lunch, to avoid the crowd at supermarkets. Such a sad desolate sight...I meant the empty display boxes & shelvings, all empty, save for a few strands of pathetic yellowish left over leaves.  🙁

Then in one corner, saw this, so glad that most people do not knw how to cook or appreciate it.   Bought this lot, enough to last me for next few days, in a variety of cooking styles.  

20200405_170231.thumb.jpg.fac42d3eda96e221ae9d284bf3ee7073.jpg

Expand  

Nice find. It is getting rare in market for in the recent years. You bought them from some dry market stall / shop in HDB estate?

On 4/5/2020 at 10:45 AM, Tianmo said:

毛瓜。

切丝,炒冬粉虾米。

切片,海鲜猪肉汤。

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

My mum used to shred them and cook it in fish soup (prepared using kuning fish), add eggs (蛋花), some shred carrot and sliced pork tenderloin. And top up with coriander. Sedap! [thumbsup]

My wife prefer to have them sliced and stir fried with shrimp or 虾皮, with or without vermicelli.  

Expand  

Go to those stall at wet market and ask them for 龙口粉丝 from China (not Malaysia or any other country). Price maybe slightly higher than others, but less likely to turn soggy after cooking.

I am currently using this one from SS but not bad, but not the best.

taoctmb.jpg

• Praise 10

  On 4/6/2020 at 12:17 PM, Lala81 said:

No offence intended but  that chicken/veggie dish looks as stir fried as something i boil in soup for my kids... [laugh]

Expand  

My stir fired style usually ended up like soup dishes de. Lol.

On 4/6/2020 at 2:16 PM, TameDriver said:

Wai Wai brand beehoon. I like its finer textured strands.

Expand  

I like Wai Wai, where you buy from ? I bought once from Redmart (Have stopped buying from them liao), and hardly see them on the shelves outside.

On 4/7/2020 at 12:43 AM, Lala81 said:

瓜瓜瓜!

@Tohto @tianmo @TameDriver @Cloud9 @Carbon82 and the rest. 

MCF home cooks. What 瓜 are these?

The one with the ridges I know in Taiwan is called peng hu 丝瓜. What's it called locally? 

20200407_074534_compress6.jpg

20200407_074355_compress18.jpg

Expand  

i saw this 2 at the Indian Grocery shop. Maybe can try buy and cook [;)]

On 4/7/2020 at 1:05 AM, Othello said:

i saw this 2 at the Indian Grocery shop. Maybe can try buy and cook [;)]

Expand  

I cook for my wife and kids. They not very adventurous. 

I bought 青龙菜 for my zichar dabao last month x 2. My wife said she don't like it. Like eating grass... I said so yummy u don't like? Lol

Fried Beehoon for breakfast a short while ago. Fried with stew pork belly.

Lzfz3Av.jpg

Edited by steveluv
  • Praise 13

On 4/6/2020 at 12:12 PM, TameDriver said:

Wah, u sounded really hungry just now, hope u haven't starved to death yet 😆

It was so easy a dish to prepare. I added more tanghoon & it became a meal by itself 😁😋

20200406_184812.thumb.jpg.50f6e7505fa8a15e27a7b4eceb4f7793.jpg

20200406_200721.thumb.jpg.a8cc1501cb273c87f6a16b1e51c1367b.jpg

Expand  

oh no no no, not dead yet, still here still here.

Still waiting for my ah nia to feeeeeeeed me...:wub:[:p][laugh]

wah, got egg some more, I like I like!!!! [thumbsup][thumbsup]^_^

But I have one more week to go before I can go non-vegetarian...[laugh]