Scion Turbocharged February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 hygge/ˈh(j)uːɡə,ˈhʊɡə/ noun a quality of cosiness and comfortable conviviality that engenders a feeling of contentment or well-being (regarded as a defining characteristic of Danish culture). basically, it means relaxation or cosiness, whether alone or with family, loved ones or group of good friends all these can be associated with hygge - soft pillows, jazz or some soothing music, hot chocolate, sipping coffee, comfort food, fireplace, books, etc etc (no wonder Denmark always rank high in happiness ) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pl74ybpyNLk in Singapore context, lying comfortably in the couch with a beer watching football at midnight can be considered hygge too? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 There is no such thing as hygge in Singapore. We cant afford such culture. Not in terms of money nor time nor attitude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 (edited) For some of us, the closest I think is stay at home and nuah. A state of extreme inertia. Edited February 24, 2019 by Ender 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 Denmark best butter, best bacon, best butter cookies and best beer probably. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 Give me a beer and bacon sandwich and I will be hyppy too! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 fireplace in Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 Lepak. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 Have enough time to have enough sleep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 24, 2019 Share February 24, 2019 Have enough time to have enough sleep.Meet Ups ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 24, 2019 Author Share February 24, 2019 There is no such thing as hygge in Singapore. We cant afford such culture. Not in terms of money nor time nor attitude. can lah... if got money, sipping red wine at a penthouse admiring the night scenery of the city area also considered hygge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 Lie down on the sofa watch movie makan dinner piak piak 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 AMDL 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 Going to Hokkaido to eat nice sushi, shabu, ramen, and ski with love ones by my side is my version of hygge. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 wah.... you all sibeh rich i peasant sit in kopitiam sip kopi in singlet slippers and shorts, 1 leg on the chair and dig nose wait for beer xmm call me 嗨哥 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 singapore weather move a bit perspire like shower how to feel cozy? want to hug hug touch touch feel sticky sticky also no mood liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 To me hygge is the state of mind at that moment...any moment. No lolec, just relac. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 Have enough time to have enough sleep.睡觉睡到之然醒。再睡。 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 25, 2019 Share February 25, 2019 (edited) Sure we have "hygge" here, we just need to stop a while and appreciate it. Waking up early on Saturday morning to do my own thing, precious time to spend on myself, at a time when rest of family still snoozing away, no interrupting me Taking leave on weekdays to do my own thing, without informing anyone, so nobody interrupts me, and being a weekday, no crowds no queues no jams! And long long ago, when there was still five-and-half day working week, coming to work on a Saturday morning was actually quite "hygge" feeling. Still young and single at that time, unburdened by family demands, enjoying after-work lunch with similar-age and status close colleagues and planning what to do with the remaining weekend. I don't know how true it is for the Danes, but many of the things they associate with "hygge", i.e. cosy conviviality, enjoying time together with others, is being eroded by the ever-present smartphones. Everyone's staring and interacting with their smartphones nowadays most of the time. Edited February 25, 2019 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...