Watwheels Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) my case i dun want say, dun want go into detail also. but u see this case, the taxi driver call police for being assaulted. the other party run away, like u say it could go both way. but if the other party didnt do wrong , why they run away? ok we say haven investigate, dun assume, then shouldnt the police catch / find them for investigation? until broken limb , lost life then police want to investigate?? imagine u are a good law law abiding citizen , suddenly u kenna punch for no reason at all. then u call police and police come tell u the other guy already run away, they cannot do anything how would u feel?? Again with the expectations that isn't justifiable. How do you know the police is not trying? It happened out in the open. Even if there are cctvs around they also need time to find out. Did ppl give the police time? If the IO is already working on a case must he just drop everything and do this particular one now? With no names no proper pictures no id, how to find. Unless it's murder then priority is given. If only ego is bruised it's trivial. But ppl feel otherwise. It's the ego that ppl cannot let go. They run cos they feel guilty hitting the driver but what made them hit the driver? No reason? Really? What kinda ppl punch others for no good reason? Pls tell me. Just like who will harass you for no good reason? That one I dont wish to know. LoL.... Edited February 20, 2019 by Watwheels ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Again with the expectations that isn't justifiable. How do you know the police is not trying? It happened out in the open. Even if there are cctvs around they also need time to find out. Did ppl give the police time? If the IO is already working on a case must he just drop everything and do this particular one now? With no names no proper pictures no id, how to find. Unless it's murder then priority is given. If only ego is bruised it's trivial. But ppl feel otherwise. It's the ego that ppl cannot let go. What kinda ppl punch others for no good reason? Pls tell me. Just like who will harass you for no good reason? That one I dont wish to know. LoL.... like u say have to wait. i wait 1 mth , 2 mth, i also know they busy, if not for continues harassment i wont call. it not even involve myself, ppl come at night to sabotage my equipment. caught on cam, try to cover up face. clear cut enough?? maybe my business too good, ppl eye red?? u cannot assume u be a good guy dun disturb ppl, others wont disturb u , the world is not such a nice place. 2 mth wait become 4 mth to 6 mth, call a fews time. no result. now 2 years pass, i still waiting for IO to call me, this case, the taxi driver already say the police cannot help him. but like u say, maybe IO is busy. we see again in 6mth. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 you never tell them the perp looks like chee soon juan? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 like u say have to wait. i wait 1 mth , 2 mth, i also know they busy, if not for continues harassment i wont call. it not even involve myself, ppl come at night to sabotage my equipment. caught on cam, try to cover up face. clear cut enough?? maybe my business too good, ppl eye red?? u cannot assume u be a good guy dun disturb ppl, others wont disturb u , the world is not such a nice place. 2 mth wait become 4 mth to 6 mth, call a fews time. no result. now 2 years pass, i still waiting for IO to call me, this case, the taxi driver already say the police cannot help him. but like u say, maybe IO is busy. we see again in 6mth. lol You can shorten the time. You just need to give the police the identity of the ppl they need to find. Police is human being like you and me. They are not psychics. Ppl cover their faces. The police cannot see thru the mask like superman. Very often you see police seek eyewitness for help. Seek public for help. Why? They are not super humans. Ppl are just expecting all the help coming from one end. Your business too good means you are robbing others of their business lo. Did you give information of your business rivals to the police? LoL... Rather than wait you can try to find out what is obvious to you and feed them with the info you know. Just ask yourself, video of masked men got use meh? If it's useless to you how will it be useful to the police? Give useful info. Same like seeing a doctor. If you dont feed him with enough information how is he going to give you a diagnosis? You can sit there and wait all you want. You know your body best. The doctor is not your conjoined twin neither is the doctor a miracle healer. So it's all up to you to give all that info. What you and others expect are miracle police that dont exist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 Wonder where are the policemen who arrested Michael Fay? Retired leow .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) You can shorten the time. You just need to give the police the identity of the ppl they need to find. Police is human being like you and me. They are not psychics. Ppl cover their faces. The police cannot see thru the mask like superman. Very often you see police seek eyewitness for help. Seek public for help. Why? They are not super humans. Ppl are just expecting all the help coming from one end. Your business too good means you are robbing others of their business lo. Did you give information of your business rivals to the police? LoL... Rather than wait you can try to find out what is obvious to you and feed them with the info you know. Just ask yourself, video of masked men got use meh? If it's useless to you how will it be useful to the police? Give useful info. Same like seeing a doctor. If you dont feed him with enough information how is he going to give you a diagnosis? You can sit there and wait all you want. You know your body best. The doctor is not your conjoined twin neither is the doctor a miracle healer. So it's all up to you to give all that info. What you and others expect are miracle police that dont exist. if like u say , i be police myself already right. outside got cctv, building management got cctv. i say i business too good, is just a guess or example. like u say we need to feed info to police also, but it go 2 way, i try to contact to do my part, but IO got ZERO respond. its like u say thats why we lost confidence in our police, Edited February 20, 2019 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) if like u say , i be police myself already right. outside got cctv, building management got cctv. i say i business too good, is just a guess or example. its like u say thats why we lost confidence in our police, To me there are only two kinds of ppl in such scenerios. The smart individuals who can give useful information and the not so smart who give useless information. Becos police work based on information. They got to start from somewhere. If ppl give inofrmation that they have nowhere to start. Wait as long as you like. LoL... Edited February 20, 2019 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) I think it's a known fact that we haven't got enough policeman proportionate to current population. There is only so much that Aetos (mostly foreigners) can do, they can only assist but cannot enforce law. Our population/policeman ratio is 3x lower than even Hong Kong. https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/more-officers-needed-better-patrol-hot-spots-police-chief This means we are so efficient and cheaper to police than most nation. Kudos to keeping us safe at a lower cost. I am being sarcastic.. so go easy on the dislike Edited February 20, 2019 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 (edited) There's been well publicised cases of people with bloodied faces.. told by police to go settle themselves. Only after it make the news, then police suddenly so efficient take action liao. Those that don't make the news.. you say leh. Unfortunately, that's the case. Example, two persons get into a punch-up. But it happens in a private setting, only two people involved. Police called, listen to both parties, it will probably be classified as voluntarily causing hurt, standard advice dished out for parties to avoid each other and to pursue on their own case if they so wish. But if the same punch-up occurs in a public setting, e.g. in a crowded place or on the bus or train with many onlookers, then it's a different story. As you say, this is consider "make the news". There are elements of public order involved, so the charges that can be applied are different. It all really depends on what kind of charges the police can stick to each incident, and that will depend on the specific factors. The seriousness of the charges will determine the follow-up actions. Edited February 20, 2019 by Sosaria 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 I think it's a known fact that we haven't got enough policeman proportionate to current population. There is only so much that Aetos (mostly foreigners) can do, they can only assist but cannot enforce law. Our population/policeman ratio is 3x lower than even Hong Kong. https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/more-officers-needed-better-patrol-hot-spots-police-chief It will probably be explained that SG population is more obedient and subservient to authority ... but that is becoming less true these days as we have an influx of foreigners with different set of values. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 All b'cos of our SG Law's .... It stated that non-sizeable offence like assault, fighting, affray, vulgar or foul languages, .... etc have to lodge a police report or at Magistrate Court before police can take action. Sizeable offences where police can take action on the spot are, assault or threatening any public servant, any threatening actions in front of any police officers, where a dangerous weapon is used, threatening of destruction of any public properties, disturbing a public peace, assaulting in front of a police officer, .... etc Our Police Officers are govern by the Laws and they have to act according to the Laws. Many ppls who know the Laws well and might challenge the police officer of their "rights". So our poor police officers hands are bonded by the Laws. They cannot just suka suka take action or it will back fired on them and might face private summons by the aggressor. In many cases, many aggressors would try many means to make the police officers angry so that they would alter some words and threaten to report the officer. Some women would purposely go as close as possible to the police officer and should the officers accidentally brushes against her, mind you, she will scream 'Molest' ... So not easy to be a Police Officer and let them have their benefit of doubt. Cheers ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 All b'cos of our SG Law's .... It stated that non-sizeable offence like assault, fighting, affray, vulgar or foul languages, .... etc have to lodge a police report or at Magistrate Court before police can take action. Sizeable offences where police can take action on the spot are, assault or threatening any public servant, any threatening actions in front of any police officers, where a dangerous weapon is used, threatening of destruction of any public properties, disturbing a public peace, assaulting in front of a police officer, .... etc Our Police Officers are govern by the Laws and they have to act according to the Laws. Many ppls who know the Laws well and might challenge the police officer of their "rights". So our poor police officers hands are bonded by the Laws. They cannot just suka suka take action or it will back fired on them and might face private summons by the aggressor. In many cases, many aggressors would try many means to make the police officers angry so that they would alter some words and threaten to report the officer. Some women would purposely go as close as possible to the police officer and should the officers accidentally brushes against her, mind you, she will scream 'Molest' ... So not easy to be a Police Officer and let them have their benefit of doubt. Cheers ... Ya. got 1 fighting case at my neighbour with ganster. then i realize, as long as no weapon or any tools is use, they dun really care, as long as 1 party use tools of any kind like a pipe, they will bring u back. even holding the tools , not using also counted. bad laws, plus lack of man power, make them really inefficient. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged February 20, 2019 Share February 20, 2019 I think it's a known fact that we haven't got enough policeman proportionate to current population. There is only so much that Aetos (mostly foreigners) can do, they can only assist but cannot enforce law. Our population/policeman ratio is 3x lower than even Hong Kong. https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/more-officers-needed-better-patrol-hot-spots-police-chief But I feel safer in Singapore than some of those cities.... cannot hiam.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5kylark February 22, 2019 Share February 22, 2019 Curious what is really considered 'vulgar' language. Different languages have different meaning to different people. > Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
very-sharp-elbows 1st Gear February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Saw this circulating: Last week, a taxi driver was attacked by 4 Chinese nationals – 2 men and 2 women – for supposedly refusing to accept their ride. It is not uncommon to read about passengers, upon reaching their destination, pretending to go up to their blocks to get the fare and then failing to return. Worse, some give all sorts of excuses for not paying or simply dash away when they have reached their destinations. Taxi drivers are like any other workers, driving for a living to feed their families. But unlike many other workers, they will lose their income when they encounter such unfortunate incidents. When such incidents happen, the natural thing for them to do is to go to the police which will take up more of their time and opportunity to earn other fares. The status-quo as it is, is far from satisfactory. Taxi drivers deserve better, more useful and effective protection because they are large in numbers and they provide a useful service and make valuable economic contributions to the economy. In Singapore, we have the National Taxi Association (NTA). I am not sure if NTA is more style than substance since many taxi-drivers do not complain to NTA to help them get back their fares. Since they have approached the police, this must strongly hint at NTA’s lack of usefulness. I strongly urge the PAP government to work harder and think through with urgency how we as a society can better protect our hard working taxi drivers from being short-changed or abused by unscrupulous passengers. Simon Lim 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Any countries citizen can come here to work or as tourist. But when you are in our country, obey the rules and regulations of our country. Don't try to bring your countries cultures here. Observe our multi racial cultures and love it. Don't makes unwarrant remarks of our cultures. (example: like recent of dark skin man videoing chinese men burning joss papers on bins provided by our TC) Our Government should be strict with such foreigners and don't hesitate to send them back to where they come from...... So what we lost one FT. We can always hire another one to replace the troublemaker who don't like our multi racial cultures. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged February 23, 2019 Share February 23, 2019 Any countries citizen can come here to work or as tourist. But when you are in our country, obey the rules and regulations of our country. Don't try to bring your countries cultures here. Observe our multi racial cultures and love it. Don't makes unwarrant remarks of our cultures. (example: like recent of dark skin man videoing chinese men burning joss papers on bins provided by our TC) Our Government should be strict with such foreigners and don't hesitate to send them back to where they come from...... So what we lost one FT. We can always hire another one to replace the troublemaker who don't like our multi racial cultures. They are importing cheap ft graduates.. real and fake. Crowding out our own. They are giving free education to ft students in our unis. Telling locals no place. All this while also telling locals degrees are not important, this should say something already. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...