Popiah King's son passed away

Lala81

My personal experience in summary.. 3 yrs ago , co health check-up found my BP is 170/110, total cholesterol is 224. Hdl average but LDL is borderline high. Triglycerides is ok, blood sugar is ok tho. I not obese but a little bit fat, no symptoms of any illness, not prone to flu etc.. didn't know why I got 2 high.. my diet not really high fat, no often fast food, not smoker at all,.not drinker, no late nights too..dunno why Kena..but, I didn't exercise, n just sleep or laze around to destress..

The high BP shocked me and I tried eating celery, drink hbp tea etc, all to no avail..and I was trying to avoid eat hbp pill n cholesterol pill..in the end, surrender, and started taking these pills on doc advice to try, and I also took up running..fast forward 2+ yrs later, LDL went down to less than 50, hdl went up, BP under control with daily hbp pill help .. so taking meds , running does help to reduce the bad highs and most importantly is not to let the daily life stress get to you, and just be happy.. then all these > 40yo body issues can be controlled by meds, exercise n positive attitude. just do it,your life your decision..

Having high blood or cholesterol sometimes might not due to unhealthy lifestyle or food, it is genetic. Some people who is skinny and eat vegetables everyday might also have cholesterol problem if it is due to genetic. Only medicine can control the cholesterol or high blood.

super basic. But might as well do if your company or what don't offer free screening.

Blood pressure, fasting sugar and lipids check for $5.

Another way is to go donate blood. Free checks.

Have been donating every 3 months unless I need to do business travel to India.. which then I have to quarantine myself for 4 months before able to donate again

Sifu, please take care of your health.

You don't smoke right? But should cut down on drinking even though I know it is for work.

wah ... i storeman for kopi in pantry

already limit to drink 1 cup of kopi c siew dai a day nia also must cut?

Not necessarily. Intracranial bleeds have high mortality. It's one of the things that can kill you within 24 hours pretty fast.

It would have been higher in Sg given short distances to tertiary hospital etc. But I don't think it's much higher. Considering his wife was already with him and aware he's unwell. The worst is always something happen when u are alone.

pre-CNY = jam everywhere. Especially Malaysia highway. Edited by Showster

My personal experience in summary.. 3 yrs ago , co health check-up found my BP is 170/110, total cholesterol is 224. Hdl average but LDL is borderline high. Triglycerides is ok, blood sugar is ok tho. I not obese but a little bit fat, no symptoms of any illness, not prone to flu etc.. didn't know why I got 2 high.. my diet not really high fat, no often fast food, not smoker at all,.not drinker, no late nights too..dunno why Kena..but, I didn't exercise, n just sleep or laze around to destress..

The high BP shocked me and I tried eating celery, drink hbp tea etc, all to no avail..and I was trying to avoid eat hbp pill n cholesterol pill..in the end, surrender, and started taking these pills on doc advice to try, and I also took up running..fast forward 2+ yrs later, LDL went down to less than 50, hdl went up, BP under control with daily hbp pill help .. so taking meds , running does help to reduce the bad highs and most importantly is not to let the daily life stress get to you, and just be happy.. then all these > 40yo body issues can be controlled by meds, exercise n positive attitude. just do it,your life your decision..

Looks like exercise will help to improve most readings except for hypertension, which comes with age and bad gene? Edited by Voodooman

Looks like exercise will help to improve most readings except for hypertension, which comes with age and bad gene?

Yes, your observation seems correct for my case.. I'm taking 5mg of amloten, n day time pressure is normal, night a bit elevated. this is present even after running.. Genes side, I dunno Bec my parents dun HV hbp when younger n only had mild hbp in their 60s. My siblings also no hbp cases. Perhaps growing older n so naturally our bp goes up too?

Having high blood or cholesterol sometimes might not due to unhealthy lifestyle or food, it is genetic. Some people who is skinny and eat vegetables everyday might also have cholesterol problem if it is due to genetic. Only medicine can control the cholesterol or high blood.

Yes, your right Abt my hbp. Took the amloten controlled n brought down my BP to normal.. not being easily worked up also helped a bit. Cholesterol wise, running really did make a big difference n I'm running for my life now, literally.. lol.. Genes wise , my family and my siblings dun HV hbp when younger, so dunno why I hv.. sigh...

when we say gym or run to the doctor, it is very non specific. Eg Gym session can be an intense HIIT-like session or lift heavy, low reps or some just watch TV 45 min, chat 5 min, on threadmill 5 min. Or Run can be intense 5km in 20 min, 10km in 1 hour or some slow jog 2.4km in 30 min.

so for her to say gym is only to build muscles is just really buay zhun advice.

I did play soccer like once in a fortnight also and gym (1 hour) was usually twice a week and other exercises at home for 15-20 mins everyday

Whatever the Doc said had sent a chill down my spine and I’m glad I listened no matter how simple was her advice .... to sweat it all out , could be also my whole family clan also all got cardiac issues, father also died young at 55 of heart attack so she must have felt the potential , whatever her advice , polyclinic primary health care is pretty good and affordable

it is important to know the distinction between Heart Attack and Cardiac Arrest. please do read up.

many sudden deaths result from Cardiac Arrest and not Heart Attack.

Looks like exercise will help to improve most readings except for hypertension, which comes with age and bad gene?

I have been running for years., but my BP has usually been at Pre hypertension level. But after I scrapped my car and have been using public transport BP become normal. consistently. Guess driving was stressful for me. Always angry. [laugh]

Daily walking and standing when taking public transport is already good contributor for improved health. Additional benefit is that this is something done on most days Vs running which may be for most people only a 2 or 3 times a week thing.

Have read somewhere that 20-30 minutes of daily physical activity that raises heart rate to a certain level is enough for maintaining good health.

It's not going to add strength or increase fitness (for these, need more speed and intensity), however it's good enough to keep us healthy.

Edited by Sosaria

Actually weight loss and exercise helps most with hypertension. Stopping smoking and regular undisturbed sleep are also important.

Genetics play a role, but frequently in my observation, most of them have co-existing metabolic syndrome. 

While hypertension is part of metabolic syndrome, but as you age, you're more likely to have hypertension simply cos' your arteries are ageing as well. In fact, exercising is probably the one single factor that u can still maintain and improve your BP even into your 70-80s.

I can see some elderly who are fit and trim even in their 70s, their BP is usually super good one. 

Daily walking and standing when taking public transport is already good contributor for improved health. Additional benefit is that this is something done on most days Vs running which may be for most people only a 2 or 3 times a week thing.

Have read somewhere that 20-30 minutes of daily physical activity that raises heart rate to a certain level is enough for maintaining good health.

It's not going to add strength or increase fitness (for these, need more speed and intensity), however it's good enough to keep us healthy.

HK apparently has one of the best longevity records in the world. And despite their cramped living conditions and less than ideal air in such a highly urban society. 

But correspondingly, they are also one of the cities where people walk the furthest. 6880 steps daily vs the 5600+ in singapore.

Frankly if i don't walk my dog or jog, i may not even do 4000 steps/day...

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/health-environment/article/2102715/global-study-walking-puts-hong-kong-step-ahead

This is similar to UK studies which showed that people who cycle to work daily show improved health.

But of course, balanced against the increased wear and tear of joints.

Ya, that's what my doc say too . Sometimes could be external stressors that cause our bp to go up.. take that out n monitor again, see if bp goes down or not..

I have been told stress may be a factor but my BP remains elevated during extended holiday period without medication. If stress is really the driver, the reading should have been lower during lull period but it is not in my case. But I know of some people whose BP went back to normal range post retirement but it is very rare.

My calcium score is zero, I run a fair bit these days and am not obese but yet my BP condition persisted. And after discovering i have hypertension 1-2 years ago, I actually went on an exercise/ dietary regime to lose some 8kg weight to see if shedding a few pounds will help. It didn't do much.

So now I am resigned to my daily dose of hypertension meds.

to me, over 40s cannot afford not to go for health checks. ff you don't, then that's simply irresponsible... to yourself, partner, kids etc.

only problem is health checks and measures also no guarantee. but at least we try and have law of averages on our side.

but i suspect i could also be bell curve end. all tests are good/ok but sometimes got chest pains, sometimes feels like heart missed beats, sometimes breathless. Go medical review, go ecg , again all ok. Must dig further. But i'm not inclined to do further tests unless these occur more regularly, or so severe that i get wheeled into a&e. Now i have phobia of dying alone in hotel room when on biz trip. cannot sleep alone  [sly]

Sedentary lifestyle in today's context, is like hospital lifestyle.

Things people used to do 10-20 years ago, .. filling up forms and posting them at the mailbox, collect letters from mailbox, buying and flipping newspapers, buying groceries and carry them home, walk to bank/atm to withdraw money, go out, queue and ta bao food.

Nowadays, fill up online form on smartphone, reading emails on your computer, reading online news on your bed, ordering groceries on your smartphones and wait for delivery, cashless payment on your smartphone/computer, tap on phone to order food delivery. It's like you never leave the "hospital".

"Smart" lifestyle is not so smart on our health. Simple things that people used to do, back then even if you are a couch potato, you will still walk at least a few thousand steps every day without an exclusive exercise routine. These few thousand steps has been taken away from daily life.

yup so u have to consciously make the effort to include physical activity.

Even though i was quite a sedentary child or what. but i used to walk from my parents place to central to buy things which is probably like 1+km.

Even when my sis stayed there and take mrt to cbd to work, she used to walk to the MRT at clementi central. And often walk back cos it's faster than going to bus interchange and waiting for feeder bus.

Since i started work, damn sedentary even compared to when i was a uni grad/student haha

to me, over 40s cannot afford not to go for health checks. ff you don't, then that's simply irresponsible... to yourself, partner, kids etc.

only problem is health checks and measures also no guarantee. but at least we try and have law of averages on our side.

but i suspect i could also be bell curve end. all tests are good/ok but sometimes got chest pains, sometimes feels like heart missed beats, sometimes breathless. Go medical review, go ecg , again all ok. Must dig further. But i'm not inclined to do further tests unless these occur more regularly, or so severe that i get wheeled into a&e. Now i have phobia of dying alone in hotel room when on biz trip. cannot sleep alone  [sly]

I don't really like to stay alone in hotel room overseas. Haha give me the creeps  [laugh]