LTA come for phv liao

Mockngbrd

Gahmen probably doesn't want the unemployment % to go up further. If stricter rules apply for PHV cars, many may quit the trade and unemployment % can go up another few %! 

1 minute ago, Volvobrick said:

Gahmen probably doesn't want the unemployment % to go up further. If stricter rules apply for PHV cars, many may quit the trade and unemployment % can go up another few %! 

Umemployment rate will hit highest come September when PHV are not allow to do food delivery. Another peak will be December when all loan deferment ends. Hopefully when all these end, recovery has start and gaining momentum. If not, the Great Depression will take place. 

17 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Just don't take PHVs like me. I give my biz to taxi which I know has a minimum (really minimum) standard. They won't be more than 7 year old. 

I give biz to whoever charge me the lowest.

So, i have been riding in fairly new ride like Shuttle, CHR

55 minutes ago, Passion said:

I agree PHV should be minimally the same standard as taxi. If not the ride comfort and all are compromise. Imagine they are not any cheaper than taxi, why are consumer short change when come to this? 

if this is just a ploy for those who barely can afford to drive to own a car by using their car to fetch passenger, then LTA really need to reconsider if this avenue should be made available. MAS should also come in and close this loopholes of allowing maximum financing for such vehicles. 

Though it’s not a populist decision but sound elitist, I would still propose LTA to close off this gap so that there will be less car on the roads, safer commuting as vehicles on the roads are properly maintained. Look at the current state of the PHV, you will be able to tell how these car rental companies trying to maximize the profit by fitting second hand tyres to the car, provide minimum maintenance so that the car can be on the road. Honestly, all of us car enthusiasts here will know, maintaining a car is not just able changing engine oil. There are more than just that, it can go from engine oil, brake fluid, brake pad, brake disc etc etc...

Be careful what u wish for as the prices will go up. 

there’s always go jek so no worries about anti competitive law

3 hours ago, Soya said:

Yeah. Kena an old COE Altis b4. Leather seats were grubby n cracked. Loud constant droning sound coz rear wheel bearings were worn out. Musky smell. Carpets were dirty. Worse phv ride ever.

surprise that there are old cars around running for grab, i only kena one long ago (when uber still around). Maybe I gave low rating their system take note of this passenger dun like old car and not assign one [laugh]

34 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I give biz to whoever charge me the lowest.

So, i have been riding in fairly new ride like Shuttle, CHR

by comparing different apps? I dun have time for that, and I always leave tips of $1-$3 depends on distance and the promo code i received.

3 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

by comparing different apps? I dun have time for that, and I always leave tips of $1-$3 depends on distance and the promo code i received.

I compare btw Comfort, Grab & SMRT.

Which 1 cheaper get my biz.  It does not take me more than 3 mins for comparison.

15 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

surprise that there are old cars around running for grab, i only kena one long ago (when uber still around). Maybe I gave low rating their system take note of this passenger dun like old car and not assign one [laugh]

Best phv ride I ever got was a fairly new Honda Spada. 

Not quite fair that drivers who use crapped out junk like the COE Altis gets the same fare as another who uses a newer and vastly better car

Just now, Soya said:

Best phv ride I ever got was a fairly new Honda Spada. 

Not quite fair that drivers who use crapped out junk like the COE Altis gets the same fare as another who uses a newer and vastly better car

somw time I get merc, bmw, alphard for the same fare [laugh]

3 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

somw time I get merc, bmw, alphard for the same fare [laugh]

My point exactly. Grab, Gojek boh standard lah

Soon it’ll be a race to the bottom when more phv drivers discover they can get the same fare whether they use a cheapo $20k COE junk or a $150k proper car

The winner will be us if they finally realized that 20k COE car does the job as well. Cause our old car will have value and the new car won’t have much value!

then again, how many of those drive grab actually want to buy a brand new car and cannot afford and go and rent?🤔 

1 hour ago, Soya said:

Soon it’ll be a race to the bottom when more phv drivers discover they can get the same fare whether they use a cheapo $20k COE junk or a $150k proper car

When I was in Beijing, sometime I get 7 seater MPV even though I order normal sedan in Didi.

20 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Just don't take PHVs like me. I give my biz to taxi which I know has a minimum (really minimum) standard. They won't be more than 7 year old. 

Yes agree Grab should be car less than 7 years old and subjected to annual inspection just like normal taxi. Saw many those old Altis, vios and Avante etc. Once I saw one next to me the tire almost botak like those F1 type. safety of passenger will be compromise.

13 minutes ago, Acewin said:

Yes agree Grab should be car less than 7 years old and subjected to annual inspection just like normal taxi. Saw many those old Altis, vios and Avante etc. Once I saw one next to me the tire almost botak like those F1 type. safety of passenger will be compromise.

Sorry hor, what car the PHV driver drives is not these coy's problem. To them is only maximise the number of trips made and nothing else. Only way to make things move is for ah gong to open mouth.

2 hours ago, Soya said:

Then they have to balance the breakdowns and down time vs saving money. 

I bet only singapore has this unique expectation phv must be in new and clean car, other country dun even have this rental car specifically for phv, most are driving their own vehicle, new or lao pok car.

16 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

I bet only singapore has this unique expectation phv must be in new and clean car, other country dun even have this rental car specifically for phv, most are driving their own vehicle, new or lao pok car.

Not really only unique here lah, just google and can easily find complaints on worn/beat up/dirty uber cars complaints at least in US also.

24 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

Didi driver in China don't own the car.  They rent it from someone.

In Beijing, taxi is worst than our COE PHV.

Edited by inlinesix