Anyone been to Finland for the northern lights?

alfakidz85

On 12/13/2024 at 11:44 AM, Giordanogavin said:

Mohe, china also can view aurora? I suppose is not within the artic circle or near there.

hmm.... interesting.

I read it somewhere.

On 12/13/2024 at 10:23 AM, inlinesix said:

Cheaper option is go Mohe, China

Wah... that's like incredibly far south leh... actually if Russia is open and safe, that might be a far cheaper option to view the Northern Lights within the Arctic Circle...

On 12/13/2024 at 11:46 AM, Jman888 said:

there was a report that it appear in australia 2 month ago, so northern light not only in north part of the earth [laugh]

That  is southern light? But seems only can be captured through cameras and not naked eyes. My wife was sad that she was not able to capture decent aurora photos in Tasmania and Melbourne as shared by a few of her good friends who visited the same place earlier due to clouds and bad weather. I share some photos shared by an airbnb host, look under balcony section. Effect wont lose to those captured in Finland, but should be visible only through lens.

https://www.airbnb.com.au/rooms/5740838?adults=1&children=0&enable_m3_private_room=true&infants=0&location=Opossum Bay TAS AU&pets=0&search_mode=regular_search&check_in=2025-02-05&check_out=2025-02-10&source_impression_id=p3_1734064354_P3PNHXIp3icdD1K2&previous_page_section_name=1001&federated_search_id=8c41cc92-8803-4e8c-8780-1e7303a42524&modal=PHOTO_TOUR_SCROLLABLE

Dun see too often hor… the poles are the weakest for radiation inbound and they attract the cosmic radiation hitting the earth and that’s why you get the auroras… skali come back to sg you glow in dark😂😂

anyway once in a lifetime shd be ok la.. doesn’t add much to the stochastic effects of radiation.

anyway I jest… the science is correct on the radiation entry but effects limited due to range..u wun die fr it. Chances of getting killed by pma is higher😂

On 12/13/2024 at 1:04 PM, RadX said:

Dun see too often hor… the poles are the weakest for radiation inbound and they attract the cosmic radiation hitting the earth and that’s why you get the auroras… skali come back to sg you glow in dark😂😂

anyway once in a lifetime shd be ok la.. doesn’t add much to the stochastic effects of radiation.

anyway I jest… the science is correct on the radiation entry but effects limited due to range..u wun die fr it. Chances of getting killed by pma is higher😂

maybe if got cancer go there kena radiation treatment and  cured [rolleyes]

On 12/13/2024 at 1:27 PM, Jman888 said:

maybe if got cancer go there kena radiation treatment and  cured [rolleyes]

U have cancer go der due to weak immunity , die of frostbite more like😂

and yes the cancer also dies 😂

On 12/27/2024 at 8:26 AM, Jman888 said:

just too dangerous to drive in winter in Norway or scandinavian countries....is no joke, i was on a bus and the conditions can change very quickly and for all we know, we are in the middle of a blizzard...

• Sad 1

On 12/13/2024 at 1:04 PM, RadX said:

Is that what makes the Scandinavians so tall...too much sexposure to radiation...if so soon we'll see many tour groups for napoleon likes...😁

Besides Aurora viewing, another 'must' try at Finland is to do Finnish Sauna and afterwards dips and swim into the ice frozen lake. The experiences of hot and extreme cold were unforgettable. I remember when i am holding the poles to get out of the lake the water on my hands just freezes and my hands is just like stuck on the metal pole.

Artic during winter the daytime is very short. The sun angle is very low. You could be having your breakfast at ~10am, Driving out and by ~1pm+ noon already sunset. 😅

People staying in artic said that you could have a cup of morning coffee and by the time you finished it is sunset liao 😜

Ice lake dip.jpg

Sunset drive.jpg

On 12/27/2024 at 12:03 PM, Giordanogavin said:

Besides Aurora viewing, another 'must' try at Finland is to do Finnish Sauna and afterwards dips and swim into the ice frozen lake. The experiences of hot and extreme cold were unforgettable. I remember when i am holding the poles to get out of the lake the water on my hands just freezes and my hands is just like stuck on the metal pole.

Artic during winter the daytime is very short. The sun angle is very low. You could be having your breakfast at ~10am, Driving out and by ~1pm+ noon already sunset. 😅

People staying in artic said that you could have a cup of morning coffee and by the time you finished it is sunset liao 😜

Ice lake dip.jpg

Sunset drive.jpg

u make me wanna go again....:sick:

On 12/13/2024 at 12:17 PM, inlinesix said:

I read it somewhere.

I think I will just watch time lapse video of it....

The temp is -30 deg range 🥶

On 12/27/2024 at 9:10 AM, mersaylee said:

Is that what makes the Scandinavians so tall...too much sexposure to radiation...if so soon we'll see many tour groups for napoleon likes...😁

Sekali hair turn blonde too. 

Think is cold climate makes people eat more. 

I just came back from Northern China, made me feel like a dwarf.🤣

No wonder so many people from SEA like to go Japan 😅.

Umm...funny...I am not that keen on aurora, but after seeing this thread, I find myself more keen to see Santa Claus at the artic circle....

😆

Edited by Stary