Watwheels Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/11/2024 at 10:25 PM, Blueray said: JB-S’pore RTS fares will be ‘competitive’, to be set nearer completion of project: Anthony Loke https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/jb-s-pore-rts-fares-will-be-competitive-to-be-set-nearer-completion-of-project-anthony-loke so use simplygo ? Competitiveness is one issue. Their fares have to be low to make sense. If fares are higher than petrol and toll cost for M'sia, nobody will take the RTS. As for transport cards the operator must accept both sides of the cards ppl are using. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
limpeh6969 3rd Gear January 12 Share January 12 @Watwheels On 1/12/2024 at 8:50 AM, Watwheels said: Competitiveness is one issue. Their fares have to be low to make sense. If fares are higher than petrol and toll cost for M'sia, nobody will take the RTS. As for transport cards the operator must accept both sides of the cards ppl are using. imho the fare will be priced considerably higher than ktmb shuttle. currently ktmb shuttle from sg to jb is around sgd 5 - i'd say rts can easily be priced sgd 10. return fare can follow ktmb, which is around 1/3 of that and i believe ppl will still take it. why? 'cos rts no need to book in advance. those who know their plan well in advance and want to save some $$$ can still take ktmb shuttle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 8:50 AM, Watwheels said: Competitiveness is one issue. Their fares have to be low to make sense. If fares are higher than petrol and toll cost for M'sia, nobody will take the RTS. As for transport cards the operator must accept both sides of the cards ppl are using. If fares is too low, taxpayers will have to subsidise the operation and investments. You want to pay for people to go JB enjoy cheap shopping? I did a rough calculation. 2.9Bn investment. Assuming 5% operating expenses and 10% ROI, you need 435M a year. If 100,000 trips is made each day (optimistic but achievable), each ticket will have to be priced at $11 plus to cover the above. Lower price if more trips per day or more efficient in the operations. The rough numbers are there. I hope tax won't be increased to cover yet another gahmen expense. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 9:36 AM, Volvobrick said: If fares is too low, taxpayers will have to subsidise the operation and investments. You want to pay for people to go JB enjoy cheap shopping? I did a rough calculation. 2.9Bn investment. Assuming 5% operating expenses and 10% ROI, you need 435M a year. If 100,000 trips is made each day (optimistic but achievable), each ticket will have to be priced at $11 plus to cover the above. Lower price if more trips per day or more efficient in the operations. The rough numbers are there. I hope tax won't be increased to cover yet another gahmen expense. True, I think subsidies might not be from the taxpayers but from tourists like rich sgporeans. Tourist dollars will easily make up the shortfall. LoL 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 (edited) On 1/12/2024 at 9:36 AM, Volvobrick said: If fares is too low, taxpayers will have to subsidise the operation and investments. You want to pay for people to go JB enjoy cheap shopping? I did a rough calculation. 2.9Bn investment. Assuming 5% operating expenses and 10% ROI, you need 435M a year. If 100,000 trips is made each day (optimistic but achievable), each ticket will have to be priced at $11 plus to cover the above. Lower price if more trips per day or more efficient in the operations. The rough numbers are there. I hope tax won't be increased to cover yet another gahmen expense. Exactly, hell no to use tax dollars for this. For the causeway and tuas, no choice as goods need to come in. The motorbikes will still ride in as they are used to it and more convenient for them as cheap public transport in JB is bad. unless they withdraw bus services, if $12, quite some will still take the bus. Edited January 12 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 (edited) On 11/28/2023 at 1:48 PM, Voodooman said: Now there is money to be made. I speculate it will be from real estate since sultan owns a lot of land in JB. of course Edited January 12 by Spidey10 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 10:11 AM, Mkl22 said: unless they withdraw bus services, if $12, quite some will still take the bus. I will be happy to pay $12 one-way if it is weekend/public holiday. But they must solve the passport issue such that people do not need to queue 2X each way just to clear immigrations. Able to pay $12 and skip the weekend/public holiday queue at immigration is godsend. But I go JB only during weekday off-peak hours with busses. So I don't think I will use RTS that much unless it is really cheap during weekday. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 (edited) On 1/12/2024 at 10:11 AM, Mkl22 said: Exactly, hell no to use tax dollars for this. For the causeway and tuas, no choice as goods need to come in. The motorbikes will still ride in as they are used to it and more convenient for them as cheap public transport in JB is bad. unless they withdraw bus services, if $12, quite some will still take the bus. $12 SGD or RM? ...Big difference hor and 1 way or return ? Edited January 12 by Spidey10 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 (edited) On 1/12/2024 at 10:32 AM, Spidey10 said: $12 SGD or RM? ...Big difference hor and 1 way or return ? If RTS and its operations can bypass the weekend/public holiday queue at BOTH immigrations, I will be more than happy to pay SGD$12 one-way into JB. Edited January 12 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 10:32 AM, Starry said: I will be happy to pay $12 one-way if it is weekend/public holiday. But they must solve the passport issue such that people do not need to queue 2X each way just to clear immigrations. Able to pay $12 and skip the weekend/public holiday queue at immigration is godsend. But I go JB only during weekday off-peak hours with busses. So I don't think I will use RTS that much unless it is really cheap during weekday. I believe it will be the same arrangement as KTM. If Msia Digital Arrival card continues, no issue with clearing both immigration fast. Unless got ppl stuck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 12 Share January 12 I love ktm 🤪 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 11:13 AM, inlinesix said: I believe it will be the same arrangement as KTM. If Msia Digital Arrival card continues, no issue with clearing both immigration fast. Unless got ppl stuck I was hoping that they have some new immigration clearance system for the RTS. Read that they are proposing some passport free QR code system ? https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/singapore-malaysia-special-economic-zone-mou-johor-passport-free-travel-4039876 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 11:31 AM, Starry said: I was hoping that they have some new immigration clearance system for the RTS. Read that they are proposing some passport free QR code system ? https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/singapore-malaysia-special-economic-zone-mou-johor-passport-free-travel-4039876 The automated gear very fast already. Mai Hiam. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 sekali SGD20 one way from SG to JB and JB to SG is RM70 (20X3.5)......need to hit ROI faster mah... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged January 12 Share January 12 (edited) On 1/12/2024 at 12:06 PM, Spidey10 said: sekali SGD20 one way from SG to JB and JB to SG is RM70 (20X3.5)......need to hit ROI faster mah... SGD20 one-way is ok with me if I can just sit inside the RTS from Woodlands to JB without the need to get out for immigration clearance during weekends. Weekdays, I will take $2 busses. lol😁 Edited January 12 by Starry 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 (edited) Probably same as like the rest said going in will be in 12sgd and out will be maybe not 12rm but 20rm. Then for sure more Malaysian will take the coming out one and better for productively for SG as workers will be more on time. higher cost going in to reduce number of idle people heading in easily from SG. 😁 Edited January 12 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 12 Share January 12 On 1/12/2024 at 12:22 PM, Mkl22 said: Probably same as like the rest said going in will be in 12sgd and out will be maybe not 12rm but 20rm. Then for sure more Malaysian will take the coming out one and better for productively for SG as workers will be more on time. higher cost going in to reduce number of idle people heading in easily from SG. 😁 Need to recover 9% gst lost through singkies spending in MY... 😗 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 12 Author Share January 12 Quote Immigration, Custom and Quarantine (ICQ) As an international link between Malaysia and Singapore, the RTS Link Project includes the building of a new Immigration, Customs and Quarantine (ICQ) facility next to the station at Bukit Chagar. Similarly, the RTS Link Station in Woodlands North in Singapore will also have Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) facilities. What is unique is that the Malaysian ICQ and Singaporean CIQ facilities will be co-located within the same building. This will allow the entire immigration process of leaving and entering both countries to be completed at the departing station. Upon arrival, passenger will just leave the station without needing to go through border crossing formalities again. https://www.mymrt.com.my/projects/rts-link/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...