My 4th Telco TPG Sim Card

Inlinefour

26 minutes ago, Kusje said:

I wouldn't go so far. It's still FOC....

That is the only redeeming positive, if I have only 1 line and TPG can't guarantee service 99% of the time, who would pay for it?  At this rate, can only use it as a second phone but how many are willing to pay more than $5-10 a month when a sim only plan is just $20 a month now. The incumbents really screwed up TPG plan to enter the market with minimal capex spendings.

12 hours ago, Voodooman said:

That is the only redeeming positive, if I have only 1 line and TPG can't guarantee service 99% of the time, who would pay for it?  At this rate, can only use it as a second phone but how many are willing to pay more than $5-10 a month when a sim only plan is just $20 a month now. The incumbents really screwed up TPG plan to enter the market with minimal capex spendings.

How can you compare something that if FOC and not meant to be commercial with the 20$ plans in the market? The whole reason they are giving it FOC is because they know the signal quality is poor. I wouldn't knock down their brand until they start charging and still have such poor quality. My phone bills are paid by company but I still wouldn't mind giving them a try in the future.

I would say their plan was screwed by the timing which was set by IDA? Why would a new comer invest so much in 4g when 5g is round the corner? Maybe they were looking to buy some cheap and used 4g equipment but their plan was screwed by huawei sanctions and general delays in 5g rollout.

Edited by Kusje

5 minutes ago, Kusje said:

How can you compare something that if FOC and not meant to be commercial with the 20$ plans in the market? The whole reason they are giving it FOC is because they know the signal quality is poor. I wouldn't knock down their brand until they start charging and still have such poor quality. My phone bills are paid by company but I still wouldn't mind giving them a try in the future.

I would say their plan was screwed by the timing which was set by IDA? Why would a new comer invest so much in 4g when 5g is round the corner? Maybe they were looking to buy some cheap and used 4g equipment but their plan was screwed by huawei sanctions and general delays in 5g rollout.

Maybe it works for you but not for me.  My point is why do i need a second line that don’t work 99% of the time and I need to pay for it, even if it is $10 a month (for example)?

Before TPG came in, do you get $20 a month plan with 12-15G data?  After the incumbents dropped their price, TPG has less room to move.  Not sure if the capex plan involves buying used huawei equipment but the 5G rollout may be the reason why they are delaying the launch. It looks like they are screwed again and will need to continue to provide free trial services for another 1-2 years?

14 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Maybe it works for you but not for me.  My point is why do i need a second line that don’t work 99% of the time and I need to pay for it, even if it is $10 a month (for example)?

Before TPG came in, do you get $20 a month plan with 12-15G data?  After the incumbents dropped their price, TPG has less room to move.  Not sure if the capex plan involves buying used huawei equipment but the 5G rollout may be the reason why they are delaying the launch. It looks like they are screwed again and will need to continue to provide free trial services for another 1-2 years?

I didn't say it works for me.... It doesn't work for me which is why I am still on my m1 plan. I'm saying I won't judge their future performance based on their current performance when I'm not even paying a cent.

I also didn't say they are looking to buy used huawei equipment. I mean they would be looking to buy used 4g equipment from someone upgrading to 5g huaweiequipment . the used equipment can be some other brand.

I'm not disagreeing with you that their roll out is not smooth - my point is that we don't need to rule them out (fxxking up the TPG name) until they actually start to charge for money and still cannot perform.

who uses TPG as MAIN line ?? I doubt so ... 

I love it cos it's FREE !! [thumbsup]

I dunno where Mr voodoo stays or works, but for me TPG works 99% of the time. As for JB, only some ulu areas it didn't work. Else its actually quite decent. 

Edited by Othello

27 minutes ago, Othello said:

I dunno where Mr voodoo stays or works, but for me TPG works 99% of the time. As for JB, only some ulu areas it didn't work. Else its actually quite decent. 

I use most of my data on my way to and from work. TPG is really quite lousy within the MRT tunnels.

5 minutes ago, Kusje said:

I use most of my data on my way to and from work. TPG is really quite lousy within the MRT tunnels.

Does not work in the basements of most Shopping Centres also.... At least in the east. I will have to switch back to ST if I need to use data during such times. 

1 hour ago, Othello said:

Same for me too. In fact I've cancelled my M1 monthly $10 data passport since it works in the area I visit frequently in JB, and on the roads.

Activating it back only takes additional $5 but I would have saved already.

5 hours ago, Othello said:

Didn’t work for me 99% of the time, maybe 90%  but it is free, so i better STFU.  🤪

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

Didn’t work for me 99% of the time, maybe 90%  but it is free, so i better STFU.  🤪

wah, means you suay. 

Even for normal telcos, location can be no joke one. I've a friend. Her apartment inside for dunno what reason the Singtel signal is super super bad. She went to ST and bang table and even invited them to her house before they agreed to terminate her contract. 

For me, Green not so good in my house. Yellow better [;)]

3 minutes ago, Othello said:

wah, means you suay. 

Even for normal telcos, location can be no joke one. I've a friend. Her apartment inside for dunno what reason the Singtel signal is super super bad. She went to ST and bang table and even invited them to her house before they agreed to terminate her contract. 

For me, Green not so good in my house. Yellow better [;)]

Last time, what M1 will do is give you some signal booster which you are supposed to attach to your internet router. Damn ugly one.

But these days, if your phone as VoWIFI, signal indoors at home doesn't matter much.

Got this email:

Dear TPG subscribers,
Thank you for your ongoing support of our service trial plan.
Based on subscriber feedback on the trial roaming services to Malaysia and Indonesia, we have decided to suspend Malaysia and Indonesia roaming from 16 January 2020 temporarily. We are reviewing options to provide better quality and coverage and expect to resume roaming services to these two destinations shortly.
We are also pleased to announce that TPG will be offering free trial roaming to the Philippines from 31 January 2020.

Wah lau, who go and KPKB to TPG about roaming in Malaysia lousy? HAIZ...

Edited by Fcw75
  • Angry 1

27 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Got this email:

Dear TPG subscribers,
Based on subscriber feedback on the trial roaming services to Malaysia and Indonesia, we have decided to suspend Malaysia and Indonesia roaming from 16 January 2020 temporarily. We are reviewing options to provide better quality and coverage and expect to resume roaming services to these two destinations shortly.
We are also pleased to announce that TPG will be offering free trial roaming to the Philippines from 31 January 2020.

and suspend just before CNY ... [crazy]

1 hour ago, Fcw75 said:

Got this email:

Dear TPG subscribers,

see lah see lah !!! 😫

3 minutes ago, Othello said:

see lah see lah !!! 😫

Ya lor bro. Free one complained so much.

I used it when I go into JB. No doubt some parts no signal but overall ok. Free leh...haiz

aiyah...dont complain so much....ALL FREE leh. so far no issue for me .....later no more free trial serve u all RIGHT...😎