carloverguy2017 5th Gear December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 I am considering a car cover when I am away for more than a month from my car. I won't be using or letting anyone take over my car during the period and the car will be parked in covered shelter carpark. But there is a high chance of rain water at my 1/4 of my car's rear so I am thinking of buying a car cover to wrap up the car for a month. Does anyone use car covers and what are their pros and cons ? My only worry is cats are going to hide under the covers and sleep ( scratch my body paint work ) .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 The wild birds around my neighbourhood drop some nasty bombs, so car covers are recommended if you park under the trees. Back to topic, I don't think there's really any cons - after all the car is just going to be parked there. Unless you need to make a quick getaway, haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 I am considering a car cover when I am away for more than a month from my car. I won't be using or letting anyone take over my car during the period and the car will be parked in covered shelter carpark. But there is a high chance of rain water at my 1/4 of my car's rear so I am thinking of buying a car cover to wrap up the car for a month. Does anyone use car covers and what are their pros and cons ? My only worry is cats are going to hide under the covers and sleep ( scratch my body paint work ) .. cat probably prefer warm engine. Probably not an issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 I am considering a car cover when I am away for more than a month from my car. I won't be using or letting anyone take over my car during the period and the car will be parked in covered shelter carpark. But there is a high chance of rain water at my 1/4 of my car's rear so I am thinking of buying a car cover to wrap up the car for a month. Does anyone use car covers and what are their pros and cons ? My only worry is cats are going to hide under the covers and sleep ( scratch my body paint work ) .. Car Cover,i am using,sometime big Wind,also can blew up the Cover,if you are not around...just forget it,or if Possible for a Basement Carpark,no Wind,No Rain can get it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 (edited) Cover too loose, cats, insects will get in and with the right amount of wind, it gets blown away. With winds and associated rubbing motion, you paints will be scratched unless you use silk cloth. Cover too tight, your car cannot breathe, you may see many many rust spots not only on metal parts, but also chromed plastics.... Also, under hot sun, the cover material may have interesting reaction on the car paint. On return, please watch out for uninvited guests building the nests... birds, bees, snakes inside engine compartment. Edited December 25, 2018 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 Park somewhere with full shelter lah. Then don't need cover. Alamak, park in shelter carpark still can tio rain. What kind of shelter carpark is this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 Park somewhere with full shelter lah. Then don't need cover. Alamak, park in shelter carpark still can tio rain. What kind of shelter carpark is this? My estate MSCP also like that. Park central row get rain drip from top floor. Park side row get rain from big opening Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sp0ink Neutral Newbie December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 make sure to get car cover that is waterproof. some are only dustproof and not waterproof. even some waterproof ones might still get wet underneath if heavy rain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 My estate MSCP also like that. Park central row get rain drip from top floor. Park side row get rain from big opening Most HDB MSCP design all like that Almost impossible to siam water plus parked under the LED light will have so much dead insects on car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 I use when not using the car for a week or more. But only after a wash. Parked in basement covered carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 25, 2018 Share December 25, 2018 if Possible for a Basement Carpark,no Wind,No Rain can get it. Beware the once in 50 years flood can! So make sure not the lowest basement floor hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
carloverguy2017 5th Gear December 26, 2018 Author Share December 26, 2018 It's actually the washed down dirtied water from the parapet between the Deck A and Deck B. It always washed my every car's boot that way whenever it rained. I tried to park a little forward but it is not convenient for other users to drive out / park on it's opposite lot. Also risk poor judgement drivers hitting my front too. I use my car everyday so if it rains and get black ( really , it's black water from the washed down from level seven to level 4 where I parked ) and it's OK that I clean up. But.. i was thinking.. one month I will be away... siao liao.. by the time I come back, the car back side confirm caked with black carbon sludge dried like a slush cake. Maybe I will consider getting a big sheet of plastic to cover only the rear part. But it does make sense then to just get a car cover to cover it completely ain't ? Then I scared cat. Now people start to scare me with creatures building nest, LOL.. really.. I think I need to consider a lot.. haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...