Lorry altercation with cyclist at Pasir Ris

1fast1

I also used to cycle on the road alot, always keep very close to the kerb most time in whatever markings there where possible. But I always see those MAMIL cyclists cycling in the middle of the lane thinking they have the right of way. 

Now at least there is clarity.

I think cuz you haven't cycle long enough. I used to cycle on the double yellow lines. Now I don't. I cycle 50cm to 1m out from the double yellow lines. Dunno far left enough or not. But TP pass by never say anything, I guess still fine. Only got stopped by TP once when I was cycling on the roads, and it was not because I never keep left enough.

官字两个口 we should understand TP reserves the right even if the RTA seemed silent or ambiguous.  the TP can just say you all interpreted the RTA wrongly.....haha

I guess so. Its the same for the careless driving and reckless/dangerous driving. Anything they decide is wrong and not inside RTA, just issue summon under one of those.

Edited by Nzy

I think cuz you haven't cycle long enough. I used to cycle on the double yellow lines. Now I don't. I cycle 50cm to 1m out from the double yellow lines. Dunno far left enough or not. But TP pass by never say anything, I guess still fine. Only got stopped by TP once when I was cycling on the roads, and it was not because I never keep left enough.

I guess so. Its the same for the careless driving and reckless/dangerous driving. Anything they decide is wrong and not inside RTA, just issue summon under one of those.

Hi do u cycle a roadbike? Since u have been cycling on the double yellow lines, can u share with me, what makes u want to cycle 50cm to 1m out more nowadays? Thks

breaching traffic rules by riding his bicycle in the middle of the leftmost lane, instead of keeping to the far left edge of the road

breaching traffic rules by riding his bicycle in the middle of the leftmost lane, instead of keeping to the far left edge of the road

Please sticky this to all AMDK and AMDK wannabe bicyclist

Hi do u cycle a roadbike? Since u have been cycling on the double yellow lines, can u share with me, what makes u want to cycle 50cm to 1m out more nowadays? Thks

Maybe following examples of the ang moh mamils?

Waiting for the reply since you want black and white. I asked how far left must we cycle. The TP I encountered is the one that is always stationed outside Thomson medical centre. That one told me so long keep to left lane unless turning right can already.

I am very sure you have consulted TP, no offense to any TP who might be here reading, I strongly trust DPP know the laws more than TP.

@Nzy I suggest you take a screenshot or attach the link below, and clarify again with whoever you corresponded with at TP. I do not want to see you being charged in court as it carries a fine of up to S$1,000 or 3 months' jail !!!  :o

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/cyclist-and-lorry-driver-in-viral-pasir-ris-altercation-charged-in-court

Cheung is also charged with breaching traffic rules by riding his bicycle in the middle of the leftmost lane, instead of keeping to the far left edge of the road, thereby causing obstruction to faster moving vehicles.

I don't know how much clearer this must be to get into the head of a numbskull. 

Edited by Fcw75

breaching traffic rules by riding his bicycle in the middle of the leftmost lane, instead of keeping to the far left edge of the road

Dont lah, constructive discussion. Peace.....haha

No use la. They will shout at u quoting all their dumb self-made rules....

Just let another AMDK create trouble n since judgement precedent has been set, the leotard can kpkb in prison all he wants or at changi airport after he loses his employment pass or PR gets revoked for having a guilty court record. All becoz of recreational cycling.....Haha

As usual, AMDK will get away with slap on wrist.  Drivers will still continue to KPKB ONLY.

breaching traffic rules by riding his bicycle in the middle of the leftmost lane, instead of keeping to the far left edge of the road

This rules is similar to setting up traffic light at Newton Circus

Provided still can stay alive to inflate his ego.

I remember quite many years back some cycling event they used to give decals shouting out to give 1.5m distance to bikers (which I guess is from the kerb)  so 0.50m to 1m is within the comfort or safe zone; dunno if it was just for awareness or is there a rule for motorists to keep 1.5m distance  

Typical Singaporeans.

Everything must be spoon fed must be regulated.

It's common sense that should be guiding us, not legislation especially when it's dubious in the first place.