Lorry altercation with cyclist at Pasir Ris

1fast1

I just don't believe him.

"I thought I had enough space between the cyclist and me, so I was looking out for the taxi on my right," he said. He claimed that he then heard the taxi driver travelling on the right lane sound his horn, and then he heard a loud crash.

Thinking he had hit the taxi, he "instinctively" swerved to the left...."

Wasn't the loud crash on his left from the cyclist breaking the wing mirror or throwing a water bottle.

So why did he swerve left.

The uncle's explanation doesn't work for me.

There's no need to believe him. We make our own conclusion can liao [laugh] [laugh]

Did they try GAVIN SMITH? 

Or maybe they don't even know who to contact. 

I remember clearly many here always say our 154th ST is bias reporting one, many say cannot believe and many say dont even read.

This report by our 154th can believe or not? 

I remember clearly many here always say our 154th ST is bias reporting one, many say cannot believe and many say dont even read.

This report by our 154th can believe or not? 

Politics cannot believe, other can.  :XD:

There's no need to believe him. We make our own conclusion can liao [laugh] [laugh]

end of the day, who believe also no use, the judge believe can liao... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/experts-weigh-in-on-debate-about-right-of-way

Uncle steady... gives interview. ð

Last line of report -

"The Straits Times was unable to contact the cyclist for comment." ð¤£ð¤£ð¤£

Well, this not so uneducated lorry driver has a lot more advance mindset then the cyclist. Let it go and move on.

We all know traffic rules does not favour the driver and yet his is frank and open about what happen even with his lorry impounded (his living hood tool).

For all the education that the cyclist receive overseas, I'm not sure what it is worth given his behaviour.

Well, this not so uneducated lorry driver has a lot more advance mindset then the cyclist. Let it go and move on.

We all know traffic rules does not favour the driver and yet his is frank and open about what happen even with his lorry impounded (his living hood tool).

For all the education that the cyclist receive overseas, I'm not sure what it is worth given his behaviour.

They impounded his Lorry ..... that serious izzit ... checking for road worthiness or what ???

Ask them all poll money build a road bike cycling dome stadium lah.. Gaodim sai.. Tiong chia go race track.. Sepang.. So tiong bicycles in tiong tights should go race domes stadiums n cycle all they want!

Actually I got a feeling that the cyclist is advised by his lawyer to keep quiet until investigation over.  There is no sound at all, while lorry driver has been trying to give his side of the story. 

I hope the free lawyer beside helping him to write petition, will also tell him that whatever he said to the media is now openly recorded.  

Ask them all poll money build a road bike cycling dome stadium lah.. Gaodim sai.. Tiong chia go race track.. Sepang.. So tiong bicycles in tiong tights should go race domes stadiums n cycle all they want!

something similar was thought out by active sg already, but looks like a big let down.

the biggest stadium in jurong west was converted to a half running half cycling track last year after the renovation.  The inner 4 lanes is merged into one big red lane for running and jogging, without any other markings. The outer 4 lanes is merged into one big blue lane for cycling, center divided by metal railing. 

No bikes use the place , though some shared bikes used to cycle there in the evening, not anymore now. 

The place has now become a stupid stadium with ppl running in both the  big lanes, and no school can use the place for sports days any more. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/experts-weigh-in-on-debate-about-right-of-way

Uncle steady... gives interview. ð

Last line of report -

"The Straits Times was unable to contact the cyclist for comment." ð¤£ð¤£ð¤£

Hahaha....coz ST call n asked for Eric or rick mah. He don't exist anymore lah. Journo shld hv asked for Gavin Smith maybe still got chance. But better call quick, now lobang picar oredi tmr maybe name will change to Lance Armstrong..

I believe him.

If you hear a taxi on your right horning and then a knock my first instinct is not a cyclist breaking my left wing mirror.

Is that I hit the taxi.

The breaking of the wing mirror misled the poor driver into thinking he hit the taxi.

So breaking the mirror caused the accident.

• Praise 11

Hahaha....coz ST call n asked for Eric or rick mah. He don't exist anymore lah. Journo shld hv asked for Gavin Smith maybe still got chance. But better call quick, now lobang picar oredi tmr maybe name will change to Lance Armstrong..

Always get this reply

tenor.png

[laugh] [laugh]

They impounded his Lorry ..... that serious izzit ... checking for road worthiness or what ???

Can't help having the feeling that

1. Car hit pedestrian or cyclist are deem at fault no matter what happens

2. Looks affect initial impression and probably passing initial judgement... that lorry driver is guilty.. while the flat nose looks bad, the uncle looks uneducated, low class laborer that can easily bully

Piggy cyclist like bus drivers are alike.

They are empowered to behave like their grandfather owned the road.

Ultimately, it's LTA fault for not educating and giving out dubious directives.

Frankly I don't care.

What other countries (USA/Europe) have, which red pimple Singapore don't, are wide expense of land and miles of scenic roads that run through mostly unpopulated or rural countryside.

There is a reason why TdFrance is not called TdSingapore.

On the same note, if we cannot be good in skiing/snowboarding (ie.winter sports) due to our geographical limitations, that sucks but we live with it.

Just came back from Hokkaido and did some snowboarding there.

Frankly we care about things that matter to us.

Reason is simple, it is not mandatory for cyclist to have insurance to cover 3rd party injury

If you want ask why, feel free to write to LTA...

I don’t mind paying 3rd party liability cover.

That would mean every single bicycle needs it.

@mustank what’s your thought?

Usually the more educated ones (from overseas uni) have their nose up in the air.

Lucky me oni preambaree tree. Tio bo @bancoe