Closing of Bukit Merah Library 30 Nov 2018

Weez911

On 12/4/2018 at 12:27 AM, Adrianli said:

Reading this thread is so funny, talk talk from bukit merah until Queenstown. Anyway, i am not familiar with these two areas. I am a Balestier boy.ð

I was thinking along that line too.

Bukit merah library to Queenstown!

Really can OT.

Anyway as for queentown that is one aspect I strongly urge government to preserve. Those bushy big decades old trees! It felt so serene just by walking from queentown sec all the way to the mosque. Cooling and quiet. Me and wife love to walk that path home from the macdonald.

On 12/4/2018 at 12:57 AM, 13177 said:

Bt merah and Queenstown consider quite near to each other la. Lol. Balestier area also another place very long liao, quite a few old building along the Balestier Rd and housing estate there also at least more than 40 years.

Stop!!!!

Don't bring balestier in..otherwise surely like hokkien saying song song go jurong.

On 12/4/2018 at 1:12 AM, Kopites said:

I was thinking along that line too.

Bukit merah library to Queenstown!

Really can OT.

Anyway as for queentown that is one aspect I strongly urge government to preserve. Those bushy big decades old trees! It felt so serene just by walking from queentown sec all the way to the mosque. Cooling and quiet. Me and wife love to walk that path home from the macdonald.

Stop!!!!

Don't bring balestier in..otherwise surely like hokkien saying song song go jurong.

On 12/4/2018 at 1:15 AM, 13177 said:

Lol, sorrie. So we just continue discussion on bt merah and OT to queenstown only. [:p]

Jalan Bukit merah, Kim tian, tiong bahru, great world, river valley vicinity all really bring back lot of memories.

Queenstown changes a lot.

I was at Queenstown library two weekends ago and I noticed those newly build BTO ,tanling halt sers, are so small! Free yours can go check it out.

Further down opp the delta swimming pool there are easily 10 plus high rise condo sprucing up!

On 12/4/2018 at 1:24 AM, Kopites said:

Queenstown changes a lot.

I was at Queenstown library two weekends ago and I noticed those newly build BTO ,tanling halt sers, are so small! Free yours can go check it out.

Further down opp the delta swimming pool there are easily 10 plus high rise condo sprucing up!

Redhill MRT near the delta swimming pool area, whole area there developed into condo lo. So many condo there.

New BTO size same as everywhere la, all are small. But the price for these BTO esp in good location is very expensive.

On 12/4/2018 at 1:28 AM, 13177 said:

Redhill MRT near the delta swimming pool area, whole area there developed into condo lo. So many condo there.

New BTO size same as everywhere la, all are small. But the price for these BTO esp in good location is very expensive.

The one at Queenstown especially small!

You free go take a look. I was shocked when I see those window pane! You know some old house government did enlarge by adding a utility room? Those are the size of room at Queenstown!

Talking about BM anyone any idea what are they going to do with the plot of area opposite the BM polyclinic.

Those 4/5 storeys houses under sers.

Edited by Kopites

On 12/4/2018 at 1:32 AM, Kopites said:

The one at Queenstown especially small!

You free go take a look. I was shocked when I see those window pane! You know some old house government did enlarge by adding a utility room? Those are the size of room at Queenstown!

Talking about BM anyone any idea what are they going to do with the plot of area opposite the BM polyclinic.

Those 4/5 storeys houses under sers.

Window panel small doesnt mean inside is small? Maybe the design for these BTOs, the window panel is tiny de. Anyway, nowadays difficult to find big window panel.

singapore is really small lah...

bukit merah does encompass quite a large area.. whereas compared to queenstown,

but relatively near.. only separated by 1 mrt station..  ( nearest to BM is redhill mrt)

those HDB BTO SERS in queenstown are only 86 sq m for 4 room.. compared to 20 years ago.. was 95 sq m...

but alot new condos .. margaret ville, commonwealth towers, queens peak..  on opposite site is queens & stirling residences.. alexis... xD

if i have spare $$, sure buy 1 for old time sake..

On 12/3/2018 at 2:46 PM, Gunzy said:

it was indeed very unique and they should have preserved it :a-panic:

almost applied the bto there when it was announced

pretty sure the BTO are oversub by 8- 10 times..

have to be very lucky..

On 12/3/2018 at 3:08 PM, 13177 said:

How many suicide cases happened? This 14 storey always have picture show the front part, wonder any picture show the other side of the building le?

This forfar house design indeed very special and unique. But the block a bit too long and big, dont think they would preserve and keep it. Furthermore this block was said to be famous for suicide, better tear it down.

the other side is just a mirror image of this side for forfar house...

my home main door was the other side.. had a little porch before the door..

51 sq m for a 3 room flat.. i squeezed in with my 3 othe sibling ..lol

the time i lived there no suicides.. so maybe it was the period before i was born ..

On 12/4/2018 at 3:10 AM, Mrmilktooth said:

singapore is really small lah...

bukit merah does encompass quite a large area.. whereas compared to queenstown,

but relatively near.. only separated by 1 mrt station..  ( nearest to BM is redhill mrt)

those HDB BTO SERS in queenstown are only 86 sq m for 4 room.. compared to 20 years ago.. was 95 sq m...

but alot new condos .. margaret ville, commonwealth towers, queens peak..  on opposite site is queens & stirling residences.. alexis... xD

if i have spare $$, sure buy 1 for old time sake..

pretty sure the BTO are oversub by 8- 10 times..

have to be very lucky..

the other side is just a mirror image of this side for forfar house...

my home main door was the other side.. had a little porch before the door..

51 sq m for a 3 room flat.. i squeezed in with my 3 othe sibling ..lol

the time i lived there no suicides.. so maybe it was the period before i was born ..

Bt merah area no MRT and nearest is tiong baru or redhill, and yet many people still like to stay in that area?! Lol. But even though there is one MRT at queenstown, but actual distance from some of the flats to the MRT also quite a distance lo. Example those flats near the dawson mall and the queenstown sec school area.

Didnt know last time 3 room flat size can be 51 sqm only? I always thought 59 sqm already consider small liao. How long did you stay in forfar square flat?

Edited by 13177

On 12/4/2018 at 3:17 AM, 13177 said:

Bt merah area no MRT and nearest is tiong baru or redhill, and yet many people still like to stay in that area?! Lol. But even though there is one MRT at queenstown, but actual distance from some of the flats to the MRT also quite a distance lo. Example those flats near the dawson mall and the queenstown sec school area.

Didnt know last time 3 room flat size can be 51 sqm only? I always thought 59 sqm already consider small liao. How long did you stay in forfar square flat?

Dawson mall to Queenstown MRT actually not long if use the inner road. Around 10 minutes walk.

The Redhill MRT to Former a&w look long but actually quite averge distance. Walk along the Redhill market road it take around 10 minutes. Now there is a traffic light junction so no need to climb the overhead bridge.

The headache are those residents from leng kok bahru. There one up on the hill kind of difficult to navigate down to Redhill mrt on foot.

One of the reason Redhill property so red-hot is the close proximity to aye, pie, cte. It take around less than 10 minutes drive to Orchard and Chinatown.

Edited by Kopites

On 12/4/2018 at 4:28 AM, Kopites said:

Dawson mall to Queenstown MRT actually not long if use the inner road. Around 10 minutes walk.

The Redhill MRT to Former a&w look long but actually quite averge distance. Walk along the Redhill market road it take around 10 minutes. Now there is a traffic light junction so no need to climb the overhead bridge.

The headache are those residents from leng kok bahru. There one up on the hill kind of difficult to navigate down to Redhill mrt on foot.

But for many people theory, 10 mins walk is consider not near. Near is 5 mins or less, anything more than that is not near. Lol.

On 12/4/2018 at 4:30 AM, 13177 said:

But for many people theory, 10 mins walk is consider not near. Near is 5 mins or less, anything more than that is not near. Lol.

I wont want to stay within 5 minutes walking distance to an mrt. noisy and crowded. 10 to 15 minutes I am still OK with it.

On 12/4/2018 at 4:34 AM, Kopites said:

I wont want to stay within 5 minutes walking distance to an mrt. noisy and crowded. 10 to 15 minutes I am still OK with it.

People are lazy nowadays. If possible they would want to stay near an MRT within 5 mins walk. No one would want to buy a flat needs to walk 10-15 mins to MRT de. Imagine on a raining or hot day, it might be quite troublesome to walk 10-15 mins. But i also quite ok to walk 10-15 mins to MRT la, just treat it as an exercise.  [:p]

Edited by 13177

On 12/4/2018 at 4:38 AM, 13177 said:

People are lazy nowadays. If possible they would want to stay near an MRT within 5 mins walk. No one would want to buy a flat needs to walk 10-15 mins to MRT de. Imagine on a raining or hot day, it might be quite troublesome to walk 10-15 mins. But i also quite ok to walk 10-15 mins to MRT la, just treat it as an exercise. [:p]

I have seem some hdb along the MRT track line and station. Definitely around 5 minutes walk however they are also mostly surrounded by soundproof "wall".

On 12/4/2018 at 4:38 AM, 13177 said:

People are lazy nowadays. If possible they would want to stay near an MRT within 5 mins walk. No one would want to buy a flat needs to walk 10-15 mins to MRT de. Imagine on a raining or hot day, it might be quite troublesome to walk 10-15 mins. But i also quite ok to walk 10-15 mins to MRT la, just treat it as an exercise.  [:p]

true la.. lazy to walk ...

after enbloc, moved to new block in queenstown a stone throw away from MRT track.

i can literally throw a stone onto the tracks..  stayed there and gotten used to the noise... wasn't that bad..

and getting to orchard road by direct bus.. 10 mins will reach.. faster than mrt..

On 12/4/2018 at 3:17 AM, 13177 said:

until SERS came along... should be 50+/ 99 years left when HDB buy back..

was the very first flat in queenstown.. very small but ok la....

there were many green fields around to play football back then.. now they should have covered the long kang through magaret drive and built alot flats...

On 12/4/2018 at 5:30 AM, Mrmilktooth said:

true la.. lazy to walk ...

after enbloc, moved to new block in queenstown a stone throw away from MRT track.

i can literally throw a stone onto the tracks.. stayed there and gotten used to the noise... wasn't that bad..

and getting to orchard road by direct bus.. 10 mins will reach.. faster than mrt..

Not bad now you still stay in queenstown, although your flat is so near to the mrt track. Lol. Taking mrt to orchard still need to change train lo, take bus direct but bus waiting time also long la. Also depends which part of orchard you go, if tanglin mall or lido side still fast, but if go further down of orchard, might heavy traffic.

On 12/4/2018 at 9:34 AM, 13177 said:

Not bad now you still stay in queenstown, although your flat is so near to the mrt track. Lol. Taking mrt to orchard still need to change train lo, take bus direct but bus waiting time also long la. Also depends which part of orchard you go, if tanglin mall or lido side still fast, but if go further down of orchard, might heavy traffic.

Still got people go Orchard ? I dont even know what aliens are in Orchard now