Closing of Bukit Merah Library 30 Nov 2018

Weez911

I realise i could not find my favourite stall that sell prawn mee and lor mee at the central hawker center liao?! Did the stall closed down liao?

Edited by 13177

I think the town centre has been dying ever since HDB moved out more than 10 years ago. Doesn't help that they have no MRT nearby.

I used to stay around there too (it was the nearest bus interchange).

this is sad... used to visit often this area..

but my home ground was in queenstown..

hope that library at magaret drive never close!!

everything there is already tore down for condos... hopefully the library never  die!!!..

You still frequent that ulu library?

I think that library at queenstown should close down eventually. Although still can find people go to that library.

the library is now under preserved list hence won't be gone. The place will soon be busy again once the surrounding hdb/apartment were up.

Wished the hawker centre was left alone, after revamp, not a single wonton mee stall left, and now have to deal with the $1 tray system.  Actually I think there are too many fishball noodle stalls, drink stalls, rice stalls already.

Oh this is bad. Last time when I was young, my mom sometimes asked me to tabao wanton mee from one stall that was nearest to the overhead bridge to Redhill Close. The hawker allowed me to pay only $1.00 because they know we are poor, but gave us more noodles so that I can share with my younger sister. The 人情味 is gao gao one. No chance for us to repay our "debts" liao.  [grouphug]

Last time I go Bukit Merah swimming pool to swim

Then go Bukit Merah central to jiak dinner

I love Bukit Merah

Same here. I love Bukit Merah and Redhill. [bounce1]

Sad. Bukit Merah Central used to be so happening. Now even the library is relocating.

Swimming pool. Gone.

Cinemas. Gone.

Library...gone.

All these places, including the Emporium and A&W, hold special memories for me. Each and every one of them. Sigh.

the library is now under preserved list hence won't be gone. The place will soon be busy again once the surrounding hdb/apartment were up.

Under preserved list? Then the building wont be gone but they might still close down the library and convert the building into something else. Same like the building beside the library, used to be a polyclinic but now have become a dormitory.

everything there is already tore down for condos... hopefully the library never die!!!..

My favourite places in Queenstown are gone also. The bowling Center, bakuteh and the football noodles (now at Meiling Hawker).

Almost everything in Queenstown are gone, now left only the library, old polyclinic building and blk 38 food centre. I just realise even the old driving centre building also gone liao. 

Missed those four storey flats at magaret drive and the coffeeshop @ the 2 story block which resemble the one @ Dakota :wub: 

Oh this is bad. Last time when I was young, my mom sometimes asked me to tabao wanton mee from one stall that was nearest to the overhead bridge to Redhill Close. The hawker allowed me to pay only $1.00 because they know we are poor, but gave us more noodles so that I can share with my younger sister. The 人情味 is gao gao one. No chance for us to repay our "debts" liao.  [grouphug]

Same here. I love Bukit Merah and Redhill. [bounce1]

All these places, including the Emporium and A&W, hold special memories for me. Each and every one of them. Sigh.

yeh, bukit merah, redhill and queenstown rocks!!!

Hehee, the bowling center has this famous witch lady at the counter and the lanes has so many potholes [:p]

You still frequent that ulu library?

When I only had one kid I would drive there to the library just to spend time reading and borrow books. Now I have 2.. I rarely bring the elder there to read.

They better not close the damn library!!!...

Kfc was so good in my childhood memories too.

Don't know it's nostalgia or kfc standards really fell

I think KFC standards dropped a lot, especially in the last 5 years.

We had 2!!!!!2 cinemas !!! Queenstown n Queensway!! But they were side by side. Lolol. The Bowling alley had kfc beside and later on a arcade, pool, billiards saloon.

I watched my first Jurassic Park movie there!!! And there was a KTV place in front of this building as well. I was too young to know what it was about back then.

There was a hawker... polyclinic , dental clinic at Margaret drive back then.

A old wet market with some gawker food as well. That ntuc and big bookshop on second floor. CC beside where I shot hoops as well. Many green fields there to catch hoppers and spiders. Even my primary school was there. They closed and supposedly there was a haunted house behind.

Eventually I know it’s probably a black n white colonial house.

Almost everything in Queenstown are gone, now left only the library, old polyclinic building and blk 38 food centre. I just realise even the old driving centre building also gone liao.

That place is now a ghost town.

I remembered it with emporium on the 2nd floor. And there were those 20 cents ride in the middle of the building on the 2nd floor.

Once while I was riding it (once in a long while treat), the machine conked up and kept going without stopping. I rode it for like 15 min, got sian and let the next kid take over.

Land there is expensive .. sell to developer for Pc. Psf 2000 +

Our Govt always need $$...

Missed those four storey flats at magaret drive and the coffeeshop @ the 2 story block which resemble the one @ Dakota :wub:

yeh, bukit merah, redhill and queenstown rocks!!!

Hehee, the bowling center has this famous witch lady at the counter and the lanes has so many potholes [:p]

Those 4 storeys were rentals. And I did play Football with some friends after school there. Lol

The landed hdb there also were buy out by Govt. Now they changed the roads and build few thousand hdb for more $$$ lo...

That place is now a ghost town.

I remembered it with emporium on the 2nd floor. And there were those 20 cents ride in the middle of the building on the 2nd floor.

Once while I was riding it (once in a long while treat), the machine conked up and kept going without stopping. I rode it for like 15 min, got sian and let the next kid take over. ð

I remembered that emporium. And the dim sum restaurant too. My neighbour Uncle brought me n my siblings there for dim sum. Nice folks.