Drivers who service their car should learn and read up more

carloverguy2017

On 11/24/2018 at 3:31 PM, Privacy said:

i aspires to be like you when im older n retired.... spend a good afternoon doing things that i would never have done when i was younger...

but whenever i tries to repair something it will end up worse. some people just don't have the touch! haha

i not retired yet.....still have more than a decade if follow our cpf rule....

It is actually a software that needs to be installed and operated within a vpn environment. 

I bought it from an eBay seller ... This is an example:

This is mainly a very detailed manual which covers all mercedes models produced to date. Like where and in what sequence to remove the parts to an area. The parts numbers so that you can order the spare parts or accessories. 

On 11/24/2018 at 10:57 AM, Ct3833 said:

hi, can share lobang in case i need one?  So far my workshop is able to OBD dump and workshops like Sonic Racing is able to  SW upgrade, but any better lobang would be appreciated .

On 11/25/2018 at 12:25 AM, Vratenza said:

It is actually a software that needs to be installed and operated within a vpn environment. 

This is mainly a very detailed manual which covers all mercedes models produced to date. Like where and in what sequence to remove the parts to an area. The parts numbers so that you can order the spare parts or accessories. 

Thanks for sharing the lobang! Got it the instant i saw it. 

On 11/25/2018 at 12:25 AM, Vratenza said:

Thanks. Good to have a service manual so that do not have to figure things out. In fact at times when i see mechanics trying to figure things out , i am quite worried.

On 11/25/2018 at 3:52 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Nowadays, newer cars have a lot of sensors for troubleshooting. But often, when one part or one sensor is faulty, other sensors also detects something wrong, then it depends on experience to locate the root cause.

Some AD, just blindly follow their internal software and change one part, then another part, then another part.. when all you need could just be a single part change.

It's not blindly following. It's following the manufacturers procedure. To you it's blindly, to the agent it's following sop.

Your thinking need to change

On 11/25/2018 at 3:52 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Nowadays, newer cars have a lot of sensors for troubleshooting. But often, when one part or one sensor is faulty, other sensors also detects something wrong, then it depends on experience to locate the root cause.

Some AD, just blindly follow their internal software and change one part, then another part, then another part.. when all you need could just be a single part change.

Agree. Or some agents will just replace the entire assembly when a sub assembly replacment will do the job. Edited by Ct3833

On 11/24/2018 at 2:16 AM, Beregond said:

but the thing is even if the mech bring the spark plug right to the guy, he also dun know how to judge the conditions.

like some bro say we cannot be the master of all trade.

my dentist send me invitation letter to go check up and do teeth maintenance every 6 mth.

1 time 80buks. is it necessary?? i dun know i am not dentist

but last time before i register my account there, i went 3 years once, my teeth still in very good condition. ever since i register , 6 mth must go once.

if u get wat i mean.

Dentists love PG card holders! They will max out the annual limit! [thumbsdown]

On 11/25/2018 at 4:40 AM, Ct3833 said:

Agree. Or some agents will just replace the entire assembly when a sub assembly replacment will do the job.

not only ad lor.....some normal ws will also recommend to change whole system. My friend's aircon had a prob, sg workshop say need to change condenser need to change compressor in the end he went to a jb ws and they added a washer to the existing aircon clutch....less than 50rm and its been 8 yrs liao....

My current AD workshop has never upsell anything to me before. Always, i am the one to tell them what i want. Last servicing, ask them to change battery, knn they go do battery capacity test and show me results that battery still good.

And i always leave my car there in the morning and collect in the afternoon.

But when comes to repair, wow, their knife very sharp.

On 11/26/2018 at 6:15 AM, Adrianli said:

My current AD workshop has never upsell anything to me before. Always, i am the one to tell them what i want. Last servicing, ask them to change battery, knn they go do battery capacity test and show me results that battery still good.

And i always leave my car there in the morning and collect in the afternoon.

But when comes to repair, wow, their knife very sharp.

actually my ws very similar to your case.

they alway check every thing even for basic servicing, 

some time i request stuff like replace brake disc, they say dun need, just replace brake pad enough.

but their price not the cheapest around.

i would say above average, but i like their upfront and honestly. 

Most of the time I don't even trust AD workshop. Read from online that engine flush should not be done unless your mileage is high, but my AD workshop asks me do engine flush and aircon servicing when my mileage is only 20k, I rejected them. When should engine flush be done? Comments experts?

On 11/26/2018 at 6:28 AM, Daniu82 said:

Most of the time I don't even trust AD workshop. Read from online that engine flush should not be done unless your mileage is high, but my AD workshop asks me do engine flush and aircon servicing when my mileage is only 20k, I rejected them. When should engine flush be done? Comments experts?

When i was driving a COE car, 15 years old car, all workshops i go to say dont do engine flush. Later everywhere also leak. And older car must use thicker lub oil.

Newer car dont do engine flush. Old car dont do engine flush. So my conclusion is engine flush is snake oil.

On 11/25/2018 at 6:25 AM, Eviilusion said:

not only ad lor.....some normal ws will also recommend to change whole system. My friend's aircon had a prob, sg workshop say need to change condenser need to change compressor in the end he went to a jb ws and they added a washer to the existing aircon clutch....less than 50rm and its been 8 yrs liao....

On 11/26/2018 at 6:35 AM, Tianmo said:

When i drove the optra, there is one interesting fact which not many WS know. That is there is a regulator valve under the compressor, which needs to be replace every 60k km. I only manage to get it done at 3 places, once in woodlands, once in toh guan rd east and once in JB. Cost $150, but in JB i got it done at RM320 because I didnt want the filter.

All other WS told me need to change the whole compressor, S$480... <_<[laugh][laugh]

jb is bestest....

i no expert, but flush at 20k abit c--k??

new car 20 k aircon want service wat?? if got problem should'nt it be under warrently??

at most if the cabin filter very dirty, then just replace that only.

( personally i flush and put ceratec at around 40-50 k interval. )

Edited by Beregond

hahha ..... you are correct .  :D  you shld suan them abit .  [grin]