2019 12th Gen Toyota Corolla Sedan

gemmoglock

20 minutes ago, Cheefarn said:

The cabin is smaller yes.. esp rear legroom is lesser. And the protruding mid dash design made long legged humans a challenge to be comfortable up front. Your legs keep banging on the dash. U slide the seats back some more and your rear passengers will initate in car rage at you. 

The TNGA platform somehow made the car smaller than the G11 

Ext it is abit shorter also. The Cerato and Avante are noticeably longer and perhaps abit wider by comparison. 

You have sat in one yet? 

Watched a few reviews and there weren't complaints on the rear space. Perhaps the previous version was a tad bigger but this version is fine in room. Unless you are comparing it to the hatch, which is really much smaller. 

Here's a screenshot from Bobby angs review on the rear legroom. He's about 1.8m btw and the front was with his sitting position. Looks comparable to the civic. 

IMG_20191211_085813.jpg

50 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Saw the latest Corolla Touring in Osaka. And the Corolla sedan too.

the JDM models really look nice.

plenty of Crowns here also, the design is 👍

Unfortunately the JDM G12, although they may look similar to western markets ones, they are even smaller than what we got here. Their G12 sedan is about Axio size only, prob to comply with their tax structure where road tax class are calculated based on car width. 

On 12/9/2019 at 10:56 AM, inlinesix said:

I change my car dip light which is halogen bulb a few months ago.

The Xenon bulb is the still the original factory 1.

I believe LED light will last the lifetime of the car in Singapore.

In term of brightness, LED no horse run

until one side of the LED fails to work. then will look ugly. the facelifted w212 has the LED rear lights. can see many many with "blown" LED rear lights. changing it cost $$$$

6 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

until one side of the LED fails to work. then will look ugly. the facelifted w212 has the LED rear lights. can see many many with "blown" LED rear lights. changing it cost $$$$

I had blown E39 LED taillight.  I think it was about $400.  LED was ok.  It was the soldering point that's problematic. 

I have a semi blown Mini R56 LED taillight.

Are you saying Toyota quality is worse than Perodua?  MYVI is using LED headlight for the entire range from the cheapest 1.3L to 1.5L.

Edited by inlinesix

5 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I had blown E39 LED taillight.  I think it was about $400.  LED was ok.  It was the soldering point that's problematic. 

I have a semi blown Mini R56 LED taillight.

Are you saying Toyota quality is worse than Perodua?  MYVI is using LED headlight for the entire range from the cheapest 1.3L to 1.5L.

no. Japanese quality should be good. its conti that is rubbish!

it is $400 of needless expense in your case.

i have been there and done that with a semi powerful conti. now i'm back to Japanese basics, Cat A and less power. cannot tahan the needless expense of part "wear and Tear".

Edited by Mkl22

Just now, Mkl22 said:

no. Japanese quality should be good. its conti that is rubbish!

That's why this Altis is a joke.

60+k MYVI also got LED headlight.  90k Altis don't even have LED headlight.

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

money paid for other things lor. LED so what...

bottom line, its Borneo not bringing in the only the LED version and pricing it cheaper.

Edited by Mkl22

6 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

money paid for other things lor. LED so what...

bottom line, its Borneo not bringing in the only the LED version and pricing it cheaper.

1.5L MVVI 71k uses LED headlight.

1.6L Altis 90k uses halogen headlight.

Other than TNGA, both car uses Toyota technology.

😂😂

Edited by inlinesix

22 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

1.5L MVVI 71k uses LED headlight.

1.6L Altis 90k uses halogen headlight.

Other than TNGA, both car uses Toyota technology.

😂😂

Myvi 1.5 uses an even more primitive 1.5L than Vios 1.5. The same engine also see duty in Aruz and the CMI Toyota Avanza 

But that 2NR-VE block is quite rev happy. It sounds smooth even at 4500rpm. It was prob designed as such since most of its applications ended up with GB ratios that are super short... 3600rpm@100kmh kind

4 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Its like that la... an above 200K BMW only comes with fake (artificial) leather seat wheras a much cheaper VW Passat comes with a full nappa leather seats and the driver seats comes with massage and cooling function as well.

cheers.

3 hours ago, Zxcvb said:

is it illegal to change from halogen to LED for the same Altis? 

yes, its illegal, your car ship to sg is what, u go inspection must be what.

(change colour also cannot)

anw i dun see hid or led as an upgrade over halogen. there is really bright halogen bulb around also, at a faction of hid and led.

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

yes, its illegal, your car ship to sg is what, u go inspection must be what.

(change colour also cannot)

anw i dun see hid or led as an upgrade over halogen. there is really bright halogen bulb around also, at a faction of hid and led.

It is legal if your aftermarket LED bulb is built to meet TUV and Jap DOT standards. And that your LED bulb beam throw angle must be the same as hologen. And if your halogen bulb comes in H4, the LED bulb must be H4 in type also. Drop in plug and play is the keyword here. 

And nothing over 6000K in color temp. You wouldn't want to go beyond 6000K anyway. Our eyes tends to view such bluish output as dim when it is actually not. >6000k also poses a big trouble when the env is foggy or during heavy rain. Can't see at all. 

LED bulbs are not expensive if you order from taobao. No one buys locally for such parts la.. Taobao will have tons of choices. 

1 hour ago, Cheefarn said:

LED bulbs are not expensive if you order from taobao. No one buys locally for such parts la.. Taobao will have tons of choices. 

Taobao better make sure the headlight is made for RHD not LHD.

had a cruze last time, order off taobao for LHD, made driving at night a bit hard, but wanted it to look nice with DRL and all. unfortunately cruze not many parts for RHD so no choice.. corolla should have plenty choices but still it's taobao so if for china will most prob be LHD set..

7 hours ago, Cheefarn said:

It is legal if your aftermarket LED bulb is built to meet TUV and Jap DOT standards. And that your LED bulb beam throw angle must be the same as hologen. And if your halogen bulb comes in H4, the LED bulb must be H4 in type also. Drop in plug and play is the keyword here. 

And nothing over 6000K in color temp. You wouldn't want to go beyond 6000K anyway. Our eyes tends to view such bluish output as dim when it is actually not. >6000k also poses a big trouble when the env is foggy or during heavy rain. Can't see at all. 

Don't know don't anyhow say lah. If the car is sent to lta homologation with halogen headlight, even you replace it with ORIGINAL led headlight is also illegal & fail inspection.

Those inspection centres has the pictures of the cars taken during batch homologation in their database.

19 minutes ago, Sugimoto said:

Don't know don't anyhow say lah. If the car is sent to lta homologation with halogen headlight, even you replace it with ORIGINAL led headlight is also illegal & fail inspection.

Those inspection centres has the pictures of the cars taken during batch homologation in their database.

True. Your vehicle details will state if the headlights are LED or halogen when registered. So during inspection, if it’s different, they will fail you. Even if you install original or swap in from another Altis LED headlight will also fail. That is how crap our system is. And I wonder if we upgrade stock drum break to a better original disc brake, will it fail inspection too?? Such fallacy we have here.