Beregond Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 2 minutes ago, Dafansu said: handbrake can use for emergency braking if the normal brake fails 😁. actually very shiok to pull the thing and hear the zzzz sound. i think alot of craze about having the latest tech in car is like buying Handphone, die die must have the latest model. but does all the latest tech really give u advantage? like keyless start, push in the key and start the car also cannot do meh? u accidently drop the sensor or low bat then come kalanglabo 360' parking cam, u need that to park? if no cam u cannot park? my friend who just buy a nissan 2.0 come with that, i saw him look only at the cam when parking, he say 3 mth after buying that car, he dun know how to use side mirror any more. maybe i am just not a tech craze guy😐 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 minute ago, Watwheels said: That's the incorrect thing to do and not necessary if the car comes with the integrated safety pre-collision function. It will ebrake for the driver. I dont recall being tested or taught pulling the handbrake for e-braking when I was learning to drive. But I have told not to do that as it will cause the back of the car to slide out. If there's a car directly behind yours it will not come into contact with the rear crumple zone to absorb the impact rather it will may crash into your cars side door. u can pull up the handbrake slowly to slow down the car, not pull up hard and cause it slide out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 46 minutes ago, Beregond said: actually i dun know what wrong with pull hand brake?? work perfectly fine what? can do drift somemore. 😁 why so anal must be button handbrake then can brake meh??? I fully dig the drift part. Push button parking brake can't do drift for nuts... In fact, some manufacturers setup safety devices in the mech such that u cannot apply the push button parking brake when the car is over 10 kmh iirc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Dafansu said: u can pull up the handbrake slowly to slow down the car, not pull up hard and cause it slide out. How to do that "slowly" in a ebrake situation? I mean where to find more time to do that...slowly? 😂 No lah. In any case I wont want to lock up the rear wheels by pulling the handbrakes. I dunno where ppl got it from but it's dangerous rather than safe. With ABS I can still steer away from collision. I cant do that if I pull the handbrakes. Edited December 9, 2019 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 minute ago, Watwheels said: How to do that "slowly" in a ebrake situation? I mean where to find more time to do that...slowly? 😂 my emergency referring to cases like if the normal brake fails. then drop gear, use the handbrake to assist, not at high speed suddenly u pull hard, this will skid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 3 minutes ago, Dafansu said: my emergency referring to cases like if the normal brake fails. then drop gear, use the handbrake to assist, not at high speed suddenly u pull hard, this will skid. some car dun even allow u to use the button hand brake in that cases. i think they design the button cos it attract buyers rather then anything else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Beregond said: some car dun even allow u to use the button hand brake in that cases. i think they design the button cos it attract buyers rather then anything else. actually referring to physical handbrake, those with button don't think can work. Too many terms and different technology now. parking brake, emergency brake, handbrake. https://www.autoblog.com/2015/11/30/is-there-a-difference-between-a-parking-brake-and-an-emergency-b/#:~:targetText=The key difference between auxiliary,in reference to performance vehicles. Edited December 9, 2019 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Dafansu said: my emergency referring to cases like if the normal brake fails. then drop gear, use the handbrake to assist, not at high speed suddenly u pull hard, this will skid. Wont the handbrake cable break when you do this? In any case I wont do it becos it's hard to gauge whether you will lock up the rear wheels. If I have to do a frontal collision so be it rather than do a side impact by pulling the handbrake. Edited December 9, 2019 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 13 minutes ago, Beregond said: i think alot of craze about having the latest tech in car is like buying Handphone, die die must have the latest model. but does all the latest tech really give u advantage? like keyless start, push in the key and start the car also cannot do meh? u accidently drop the sensor or low bat then come kalanglabo 360' parking cam, u need that to park? if no cam u cannot park? my friend who just buy a nissan 2.0 come with that, i saw him look only at the cam when parking, he say 3 mth after buying that car, he dun know how to use side mirror any more. maybe i am just not a tech craze guy😐 Latest tech does have its advantage. I drive both 2011 Triton and 2018 Wildtrak. During reverse, i have a problem gauging the distance as ultrasonic sensor leave you with a large gap. On the other hand, Wildtrak has reverse camera which allows me to reverse really really close to the back. I drives these vehicles in Malaysia which has much larger car park box size than Singapore. With reverse camera, i could see oncoming vehicle rather than reverse blindly. Your friend problem maybe an individual problem. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Wont the handbrake cable break when you do this? Dont think will break so easily, that's how people play with handbrake turn. In fact in some write-up it's mentioned that originally, this secondary braking mechanism (handbrake) was intended to stop a vehicle when the main brake system failed, but today it is primarily used to keep a vehicle in place when parked, especially on steep inclines or declines. Some countries refer our physical handbrake as emergency brake also. Slowly all will be replaced by electronic parking brake. https://blog.firestonecompleteautocare.com/brakes/when-to-use-parking-brake/ Edited December 9, 2019 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 minute ago, inlinesix said: Latest tech does have its advantage. I drive both 2011 Triton and 2018 Wildtrak. During reverse, i have a problem gauging the distance as ultrasonic sensor leave you with a large gap. On the other hand, Wildtrak has reverse camera which allows me to reverse really really close to the back. I drives these vehicles in Malaysia which has much larger car park box size than Singapore. With reverse camera, i could see oncoming vehicle rather than reverse blindly. Your friend problem maybe an individual problem. i just speaking in general. i feel now alot of ppl buy car by comparing the latest tech instead of other more important stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 On 12/7/2019 at 5:18 PM, Pratakosong said: Yes, the Corolla Altis Elegance variant comes with Dynamic Radar Cruise Control and that together with the Steering Assist makes driving along the expressway / north south highway much less tiring. How does this feature makes driving along expressway less tiring le? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 2 minutes ago, Beregond said: i just speaking in general. i feel now alot of ppl buy car by comparing the latest tech instead of other more important stuff It is inevitable in the era of mobile phone. Honestly, a 60k MYVI has LED headlight while 100k Altis still stuck with Halogen light. This is really ridiculous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 (edited) 12 minutes ago, 13177 said: How does this feature makes driving along expressway less tiring le? can read more here, dynamic cruise will auto adjust the car speed or stop the car automatically in relation to the car in front. Normal cruise control doesn't do that, will need to brake and adjust accordingly yourself if not it will just crash to the vehicle in front. Edited December 9, 2019 by Dafansu 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 minute ago, inlinesix said: It is inevitable in the era of mobile phone. Honestly, a 60k MYVI has LED headlight while 100k Altis still stuck with Halogen light. This is really ridiculous. I think Borneo is always slow in adapting, and will remove this and that. Just like in Taiwan altis have cruise control long time ago, our local one still lacking till the new FL. Even cars like attrage have cruise control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 Just now, Dafansu said: I think Borneo is always slow in adapting, and will remove this and that. Just like in Taiwan altis have cruise control long time ago, our local one still lacking till the new FL. Even cars like attrage have cruise control. That's because Toyota sell itself. If customer stopped buying, BM have to up its game. Rem HRV/Vezel of Kah Motor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 minute ago, inlinesix said: It is inevitable in the era of mobile phone. Honestly, a 60k MYVI has LED headlight while 100k Altis still stuck with Halogen light. This is really ridiculous. personally i dun mind at all. as long as its bright, can shine, the design look nice, the cheaper to maintain the better for me. change 1 halogen bulb cost me 20 buks at most. change 1 HID cost me 300 per side (if no warrently, and AD demand he change 1 pair (600 buks ) (orginal HID ) led light CANNOT EVEN BE REPLACE, need change the whole set, will cost a few k ( but to be frank led light is extremely hard to break down ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 9, 2019 Share December 9, 2019 1 hour ago, Watwheels said: Lazy mah. Now the electronic handbrakes auto activate itself when you put to "P" and auto disengage when put to "D" mode. You dont even have to touch it. At traffic lights there's the auto hold function to temp engage the brakes. The electronic handbrake button is for aesthetics, (bai swee wan) only. You dont even use it. Who still wants to pull a handbrake? 😁 Electronic handbrake how does it work if you need to move off from a steep slope le? Most people get used on the normal handbrake, and know how to control the handbrake and accelerator. Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...