2019 12th Gen Toyota Corolla Sedan

gemmoglock

10 minutes ago, 9V-BNR said:

BM invited me several times, but I have not responded as I do not own a Toyota now.

Does the Elegant version come with ACC?  This feature (ACC) is on top on my list, besides blindspot monitoring.  I will probably not bother to go down to BM if the new Altis does not come with ACC.

Hmm.. the sales guy didn't mention ACC at all, not too sure whether come with it.

I am ok with the handbrake actually. However with a car close to 100k, and only come with a super tiny head unit with thick black border, no Apple car play & Android auto, not to mention that the car loan is only up to 60% due to higher ARF. I would rather look at other cars.

Untitled-1.jpg

2 hours ago, 9V-BNR said:

BM invited me several times, but I have not responded as I do not own a Toyota now.

Does the Elegant version come with ACC?  This feature (ACC) is on top on my list, besides blindspot monitoring.  I will probably not bother to go down to BM if the new Altis does not come with ACC.

Yes, the Corolla Altis Elegance variant comes with Dynamic Radar Cruise Control and that together with the Steering Assist makes driving along the expressway / north south highway much less tiring. 

2 hours ago, tonychuacl said:

Hmm.. the sales guy didn't mention ACC at all, not too sure whether come with it.

I am ok with the handbrake actually. However with a car close to 100k, and only come with a super tiny head unit with thick black border, no Apple car play & Android auto, not to mention that the car loan is only up to 60% due to higher ARF. I would rather look at other cars.

Untitled-1.jpg

Only in Singapore, this car cost about 100k. In other countries and even country of origin, this car will not cost 5 times more than ours. So this head unit is very appropriate. Not appropriate here is the price of the car and not the headunit.

Edited by Renegade777

4 hours ago, tonychuacl said:

Was invited to view the new altis yesterday at BM Ubi, they hide their new altis at 4th level. 

Standard (93k) - Haloegen headlight, no safety sense active safety features.

Elegant (98k) - LED headlight, Pre-Collision Safety, Lane Departure Warning with Steering Assistant, Auto High-Beam and Blindspot Monitoring System but still using old school handbrake with no electronic parking and auto hold. No Apple Carplay and Android Auto. (Quite disappointed 😞)

Now left only white and silver with immediate delivery. Others colors need to wait till new shipment around next year March.

Btw, they are launching this new altis next year Jan.

Huh, even the thailand version or the Malaysia version have electric handbrake.

And of course China, USA, Australia, Europe version all using electric handbrake

So SG gets the most jialat version.... really 1st world country

6 hours ago, tonychuacl said:

Untitled-1.jpg

All the way BM sell this type of features to sinkie ma. 

On 12/7/2019 at 5:18 PM, Pratakosong said:

Yes, the Corolla Altis Elegance variant comes with Dynamic Radar Cruise Control and that together with the Steering Assist makes driving along the expressway / north south highway much less tiring. 

Thanks for the info.  Yes, I too find the Dynamic Radar Cruise/ACC very useful, especially for higher speed cruising.

As mentioned often here in this forum, we are paying top dollar but getting almost stripped-down versions in SG.  Often during my overseas rentals, the Toyota rental cars (when I get them) tend to be the most basic versions, but even these basic versions come with the full safety sense features, including adaptive cruise, etc.

On 12/7/2019 at 6:38 PM, t0y0ta said:

Huh, even the thailand version or the Malaysia version have electric handbrake.

And of course China, USA, Australia, Europe version all using electric handbrake

So SG gets the most jialat version.... really 1st world country

Bro, our Altis 1.6 is just a 1.6E with some 1.8G dashboard parts. 1.6J and 1.6E uses the good old handbrake lever. It is correct. 1.6 is always the base taxi/fleet models in most Asian country where it is sold. U see the 1.6E Altis used as taxis in Bangkok. They also have the handbrake lever. 

BM also sell the hybrid model right? That one should have push button parking brake liao. Have u checked it out?

On 12/7/2019 at 9:58 PM, Kia7200 said:

All the way BM sell this type of features to sinkie ma. 

Bolehland Altis also got this POS... Then again, Toyota sells by the badge alone. Even if they give u a single DIN HU with a big hole under, like the G9 Hipporolla of 20 yrs ago, people will still buy in droves de

On ‎12‎/‎7‎/‎2019 at 1:38 PM, tonychuacl said:

Was invited to view the new altis yesterday at BM Ubi, they hide their new altis at 4th level. 

Standard (93k) - Haloegen headlight, no safety sense active safety features.

Elegant (98k) - LED headlight, Pre-Collision Safety, Lane Departure Warning with Steering Assistant, Auto High-Beam and Blindspot Monitoring System but still using old school handbrake with no electronic parking and auto hold. No Apple Carplay and Android Auto. (Quite disappointed 😞)

Now left only white and silver with immediate delivery. Others colors need to wait till new shipment around next year March.

Btw, they are launching this new altis next year Jan.

I thought someone said saw this new model on the road already? If that's the case why need to hide at 4th level? They allowed u test drive?

Hiding is due to homologation not finalised yet. If it is then no need to hide anymore. If confirm saw on the roads then definitely homologation completed for sure.

On ‎12‎/‎7‎/‎2019 at 6:14 PM, Renegade777 said:

Only in Singapore, this car cost about 100k. In other countries and even country of origin, this car will not cost 5 times more than ours. So this head unit is very appropriate. Not appropriate here is the price of the car and not the headunit.

I think no point compare car prices in Singapore v rest of the world. Pointless comparison if u ask me as our tax system plus COE makes prices highest in the world.

What can and shld be implemented by the authorities is that safety features shld be exempted from taxes. I know it will be difficult to implement but that shld be considered as otherwise we would be shortchanged n driving cars that are lacking in these features when other markets have it.

actually i dun know what wrong with pull hand brake?? 

work perfectly fine what? can do drift somemore. 😁

why so anal must be button handbrake then can brake meh???

7 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Lazy mah. Now the electronic handbrakes auto activate itself when you put to "P" and auto disengage when put to "D" mode. You dont even have to touch it. At traffic lights there's the auto hold function to temp engage the brakes. The electronic handbrake button is for aesthetics, (bai swee wan) only. You dont even use it. Who still wants to pull a handbrake? 😁

5 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Lazy mah. Now the electronic handbrakes auto activate itself when you put to "P" and auto disengage when put to "D" mode. You dont even have to touch it. At traffic lights there's the auto hold function to temp engage the brakes. The electronic handbrake button is for aesthetics, (bai swee wan) only. You dont even use it. Who still wants to pull a handbrake? 😁

actually its not all advantages for these new tech esp this

'Now the electronic handbrakes auto activate itself when you put to "P" and auto disengage when put to "D" mode'

imagine your car cannot start at carpark, u cannot engage to N to push the car out for towing.

or like some benz, u switch to N inside the driver seat. u open door it auto switch to P again, and car cannot  start ,struck in parking Lot.

most of the time the tow truck guy will force pull the car out, and u got extra damages report when WS call u .

1 hour ago, Cheefarn said:

Bolehland Altis also got this POS... Then again, Toyota sells by the badge alone. Even if they give u a single DIN HU with a big hole under, like the G9 Hipporolla of 20 yrs ago, people will still buy in droves de

precisely.... so why would Toyota care about you griping continuously. However over here we do, cause we are very very sian.

34 minutes ago, Beregond said:

handbrake can use for emergency braking if the normal brake fails 😁. actually very shiok to pull the thing and hear the zzzz sound. 

12 minutes ago, Beregond said:

actually its not all advantages for these new tech esp this

'Now the electronic handbrakes auto activate itself when you put to "P" and auto disengage when put to "D" mode'

imagine your car cannot start at carpark, u cannot engage to N to push the car out for towing.

or like some benz, u switch to N inside the driver seat. u open door it auto switch to P again, and car cannot  start ,struck in parking Lot.

most of the time the tow truck guy will force pull the car out, and u got extra damages report when WS call u .

Ppl will ask you how often do what you say happen. Compared to how often you use the handbrake function.

8 minutes ago, Dafansu said:

handbrake can use for emergency braking if the normal brake fails 😁. actually very shiok to pull the thing and hear the zzzz sound. 

That's the incorrect thing to do and not necessary if the car comes with the integrated safety pre-collision function. It will ebrake for the driver.

I dont recall being tested or taught pulling the handbrake for e-braking when I was learning to drive. But I have been told not to do that as it will cause the back of the car to slide out. If there's a car directly behind yours it will not come into contact with the rear crumple zone to absorb the impact rather it will may crash into your cars side door.

53 minutes ago, Spring said:

I thought someone said saw this new model on the road already? If that's the case why need to hide at 4th level? They allowed u test drive?

Hiding is due to homologation not finalised yet. If it is then no need to hide anymore. If confirm saw on the roads then definitely homologation completed for sure.

some already collected, also already saw one PHV on the road last week