2019 12th Gen Toyota Corolla Sedan

gemmoglock

2 hours ago, fkborneo said:

PSA: Borneo has asked for top-up

According to SE, Borneo Motors has not asked for top up since 2016. This is now October 2019.

Ordered in July when COE price was S$26.7k; recent round was S$32.3k. Borneo asked us to top up. Gave us the option of either topping up S$2k (non-guaranteed) or waiting another few months. Apparently Borneo is only willing to bid S$27k.

Thought I should share this because when I bought the car, I tried looking up Borneo's call history online. Could not find so relied on SE who told me no need to buy guaranteed as no chance of top up.

Pretty annoyed because I checked with our SEs from Honda, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, Suzuki - apparently all their customers got their cars.

TLDR: Borneo sucks. Should have bought a Hyundai!

Pay a premium but still get treated as a second class. 

I paid peanuts for Hyundai and still get treated like a customer at least. Collected car in less than a month from first signing of the papers. 

2 hours ago, ferrytales said:

You are one hell of an interesting fella, slam Toyota but you went to buy one of your own. 

After I bought then realize the truth... the truth will affect my resale value... but I cannot lie...

if they still don’t change soon.. they will lag behind... IoT is the trend.. they need to know firmware or software need to patch or update regularly to prevent security breach and also improve user experience...

I am sure if Toyota new Altis model still the same old tech with poor quality control .. their sales will be down especially with BM who do not know how to retain customer... lol

On 10/22/2019 at 6:57 PM, Ingenius said:

The world doesn't revolve around you, your opinion means nothing to them  Statistically, Toyota is the top car selling brand in the world for 2018, and Corolla is the top selling model in the world. And it doesn't look to change. 

True, no matter which make/model and how well that make/model sells, sure to have some people hate it. But the make/model would not get affected with this group of people lo. I still think toyota cars still continue to be popular and best selling in the world.

Agreed. Mostly these group of ppls always self claimed they are smarter than toyota's engineers. Keep degrading toyota or other japanese brands that it has stupid designs & systems, bombard the brand for the sake of bombard without actual facts.

They are even more "intelligent" to ask stupid question repeatedly all over here & even resort to create clone accounts to further degrade the brand. I really feel sad for them from the bottom of my heart seriously.

11 hours ago, Sugimoto said:

Agreed. Mostly these group of ppls always self claimed they are smarter than toyota's engineers. Keep degrading toyota or other japanese brands that it has stupid designs & systems, bombard the brand for the sake of bombard without actual facts.

They are even more "intelligent" to ask stupid question repeatedly all over here & even resort to create clone accounts to further degrade the brand. I really feel sad for them from the bottom of my heart seriously.

Build their own car lor. Build own house. Generate own power, extract own water. If anything goes wrong, Everything is own fault. No others to blame. 

wait wait.... maybe their will say the steel no good, or plastics no good. 

cannot blame people... their $1 is like bullock cart wheel size. 

if not happy with the car just sell lor. Then they are too kiam to bear to loss, so complain. 
pity the service people who has to put up with them. 

Edited by Mkl22

2 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

Cannot blame people... their $1 is like bullock cart wheel size. 

if not happy with the car just sell lor. Then they are too kiam to bear to loss, so complain. 
pity the service people who has to put up with them. 

I really like this comment! My father always say those kiam siam fellows their 一块钱大过牛车轮🤣

No worries for the service peoples lah, most of these ppls normally dun own a toyota or any other cars in the 1st place. Even if they do, if they are found too unreasonable to the relevant dept, they will be place in the so called blacklist & only "entertain" them if got free time. (Heard from 1 of my friend from this line)

Edited by Sugimoto

BM customer service rated very lousy by me as they don’t know how to service customer..  They cannot provide any good explanation or alternative.. but if you make a call to other workshop you got so many option! BM either is don’t bother or they don’t know how.. only know how to use lies.. dishonest can’t get too far...

they thought just provide that fake smile and action, customer cannot see thru? They really need to wake up! Lol

to future car buyers, i hope you do not find yourselves in the same unenviable position as i do. 

3 months ago, when car prices were low, i made the huge mistake of choosing to go with a toyota under borneo motors, instead of some other make/model. i was told by the SE "sure get - don't need to buy guaranteed". tried looking for top-up call history then but none was available online. i am now committing this/the above to internet history for the benefit of all future buyers. 

in just the past few days, since starting this thread and commenting on a number of others, both here and in mycarforum, i can now say that the SE was wrong and that borneo has a history of asking for top-ups all the time. people have come out the woodwork to say borneo asked for topups in 2017, 2018, 2019 and as recently as just last week and over the past 3 months (me). 

buying a car is alot like investing - there is a strike price that each person considers to be a good entry for them. however, that is only 1 part of the equation - the other part is your executing banker/broker/SE. no point spotting the right price but not being able to execute. in my case, my SEs from all the other car brands could execute (i checked) - only borneo could not deliver. thankfully, like many car owners, this is not my only car and i can afford to wait for the next dip in the cycle.

this was my first time dealing with borneo (as many threads note, their prices/offerings have been uncompetitive for years). this will also be my last time.

TLDR: if you are looking to buy a toyota from borneo, and are wondering about their top up history - it's really bad. u r better off elsewhere. i missed my chance thanks to them. i hope you don't miss yours!

EDIT: i just want to clarify that coe prices have not climbed astronomically since i signed the sales agreement; the difference at signing and some of the bids is just S$4k-6k. so take note that if u choose to buy a toyota/borneo (don't), ur non-guaranteed contract is pretty much contingent on coe prices remaining the same or dropping, with no threshold for increase (unlike other makes/models). this has nothing to do with their profit margins being low; it just means they want to maintain a certain (fat) margin.

• Dislike 2

28 minutes ago, fkborneo said:

to future car buyers, i hope you do not find yourselves in the same unenviable position as i do. 

3 months ago, when car prices were low, i made the huge mistake of choosing to go with a toyota under borneo motors, instead of some other make/model. i was told by the SE "sure get - don't need to buy guaranteed". tried looking for top-up call history then but none was available online. i am now committing this/the above to internet history for the benefit of all future buyers. 

in just the past few days, since starting this thread and commenting on a number of others, both here and in mycarforum, i can now say that the SE was wrong and that borneo has a history of asking for top-ups all the time. people have come out the woodwork to say borneo asked for topups in 2017, 2018, 2019 and as recently as just last week and over the past 3 months (me). 

buying a car is alot like investing - there is a strike price that each person considers to be a good entry for them. however, that is only 1 part of the equation - the other part is your executing banker/broker/SE. no point spotting the right price but not being able to execute. in my case, my SEs from all the other car brands could execute (i checked) - only borneo could not deliver. thankfully, like many car owners, this is not my only car and i can afford to wait for the next dip in the cycle.

this was my first time dealing with borneo (as many threads note, their prices/offerings have been uncompetitive for years). this will also be my last time.

TLDR: if you are looking to buy a toyota from borneo, and are wondering about their top up history - it's really bad. u r better off elsewhere. i missed my chance thanks to them. i hope you don't miss yours!

EDIT: i just want to clarify that coe prices have not climbed astronomically since i signed the sales agreement; the difference at signing and some of the bids is just S$4k-6k. so take note that if u choose to buy a toyota/borneo (don't), ur non-guaranteed contract is pretty much contingent on coe prices remaining the same or dropping, with no threshold for increase (unlike other makes/models). this has nothing to do with their profit margins being low; it just means they want to maintain a certain (fat) margin.

Yes we heard your story but why do you need to spam across so many threads?!??

Instead of airing your grievance, you piss people off. You think that is clever? And your nick...aiyo...

you may rightfully ask, what is my agenda? get back at borneo? hope that someone from their management sees this and starts calling up all buyers with unsuccessful bids? ... of course not. my business is irrelevant to them, and to be fair, why would it be? it is of no financial consequence.

when i was buying, i tried looking up borneo's top-up history. the internet was strangely sanitary about this. i had no choice but to rely on the SE's word, which we now know to be very false. i'm now posting this everywhere so that future buyers know what they are getting into. knowledge that i could not find.

finally, 1 closing point - i would not have made duplicate posts in multiple toyota threads if i could have created a new thread. unfortunately, that is a privilege that is not yet available to me. hence, i chose to post multiple times so that this information would not get buried under other posts in those threads.

many times when people complain online, it is based not in empirical fact and very subjective. in my case, it is. i was painted a picture that borneo last called for top-up in 2016, and based on replies, i now know borneo calls for top-up all the time. i hope this information is readily available to potential car buyers.  

EDIT: just want to add, i knew/know very well that by having duplicate posts in multiple threads, i would rub some people the wrong way (including the borneo SES that engage in web frivolities like all of us). my sincere apologies. again, the way i see it, my case is over - but the knowledge gleaned and lesson learnt should not be lost, and definitely not buried under other posts.  

Edited by fkborneo

1 hour ago, fkborneo said:

you may rightfully ask, what is my agenda? get back at borneo? hope that someone from their management sees this and starts calling up all buyers with unsuccessful bids? ... of course not. my business is irrelevant to them, and to be fair, why would it be? it is of no financial consequence.

when i was buying, i tried looking up borneo's top-up history. the internet was strangely sanitary about this. i had no choice but to rely on the SE's word, which we now know to be very false. i'm now posting this everywhere so that future buyers know what they are getting into. knowledge that i could not find.

finally, 1 closing point - i would not have made duplicate posts in multiple toyota threads if i could have created a new thread. unfortunately, that is a privilege that is not yet available to me. hence, i chose to post multiple times so that this information would not get buried under other posts in those threads.

many times when people complain online, it is based not in empirical fact and very subjective. in my case, it is. i was painted a picture that borneo last called for top-up in 2016, and based on replies, i now know borneo calls for top-up all the time. i hope this information is readily available to potential car buyers.  

EDIT: just want to add, i knew/know very well that by having duplicate posts in multiple threads, i would rub some people the wrong way (including the borneo SES that engage in web frivolities like all of us). my sincere apologies. again, the way i see it, my case is over - but the knowledge gleaned and lesson learnt should not be lost, and definitely not buried under other posts.  

I agreed with you... at least we knew how cunning this BM maybe... if I would have more people here sharing their true experiences I would not have make my mistake too... so many agents or related people here which have their own agenda.. but nothing wrong with their post too as this is open forum...

Let's be fair lah, there are also many happy customers. If everyone kenna the same treatment like you two, you think BM business can last for decades?

When asked by agent to top up, is your choice whether to agree or not, they never use gun to point your head what. If not happy, then don't agree and keep trying the following rounds till the agreement expires. 

Edited by Roh96

36 minutes ago, Contented said:

BM lasting the next decade maybe an question mark? Who know... restructuring may happen next year... 

If my memory didn't fail me, Borneo Motor secured COE for you at a higher price (compared to the COE price when you sign on the dotted line) without asking you to top up. This is so, despite you signing the non-guaranteed package. Paper value wise you profited but you never thank them.

Your Altis Elegance is a free upgrade from standard (the difference is $6k) which will give you better resale value in future. Again you benefitted from the promo from them but you never say anything.

Then.. the features didn't work like how you expect them to work.. You complain about them everyday..

Have you ever thought that you are also largely or 100% responsible for not checking/ensuring how the features works during the test drive before you made the purchase?

Like what some have suggested.. if BM/Toyota is really so bad, lugi abit list it on sgcarmart and sell it away lor. I believe your new Altis should not be difficult to sell if you price it right.

Learn to give and take la.

Edited by Derf8988

26 minutes ago, Derf8988 said:

If my memory didn't fail me, Borneo Motor secured COE for you at a higher price (compared to the COE price when you sign on the dotted line) without asking you to top up. This is so, despite you signing the non-guaranteed package. Paper value wise you profited but you never thank them.

Your Altis Elegance is a free upgrade from standard (the difference is $6k) which will give you better resale value in future. Again you benefitted from the promo from them but you never say anything.

Then.. the features didn't work like how you expect them to work.. You complain about them everyday..

Have you ever thought that you are also largely or 100% responsible for not checking/ensuring how the features works during the test drive before you made the purchase?

Like what some have suggested.. if BM/Toyota is really so bad, lugi abit list it on sgcarmart and sell it away lor. I believe your new Altis should not be difficult to sell if you price it right.

Learn to give and take la.

yeah and dont forget people always say buy honda/toyota cause higher resale value blahblahblah. time for him to prove that there is indeed a higher resale value. thats why people are willing to pay more for their cars regardless of features.

buy already make so much noise, not happy just sell it off since toyota supposedly can fetch a higher resale value anyway. 🙄

Just now, ferrytales said:

yeah and dont forget people always say buy honda/toyota cause higher resale value blahblahblah. time for him to prove that there is indeed a higher resale value. thats why people are willing to pay more for their cars regardless of features.

buy already make so much noise, not happy just sell it off since toyota supposedly can fetch a higher resale value anyway. 🙄

I am not implying that Toyota has a higher resale value as compared to other brand.

I mean he got a free upgrade ($0 top up) to elegance from standard altis.

His elegance resale value definitely is better than the standard altis. He benefitted from that but he kept quiet.. Only complain about the negative which he himself should be responsible with it.