noobcarbuyer 5th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 (edited) 47 minutes ago, Twich said: Car Review - Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 Elegance (A) ..... Powering the Altis is a 1.6-litre naturally aspirated powerplant producing a modest 129bhp and 159Nm of torque, effectively unchanged from its predecessor. It's not a particularly peppy or quick car - 0-100km/h takes a leisurely 12.9 seconds. There is some improvement in drivetrain refinement, but overall it's still a functional if unremarkable package. The previous Altis generation (11 Gen) goes from 0-100km/h in a time of 11.1 s! With the same powerplant and same CVT transmission, this 12 Gen Altis goes from 0-100km/h in a time of 12.9 s! Source for 11 Gen Altis : https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/toyota-corolla-altis-2017-facelift-review-singapore-price/ Source for 12 Gen Altis : https://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=1575&GASRC=sgcm Edited January 30, 2020 by noobcarbuyer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 1 minute ago, noobcarbuyer said: The previous Altis generation goes from 0-100km/h in a time of 11.1 s! With the same powerplant and same CVT transmission, this 12 Gen Altis goes from 0-100km/h in a time of 12.9 s! Source : https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/toyota-corolla-altis-2017-facelift-review-singapore-price/ That seconds do not matter to altis buyers. This is called nitpicking on the altis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wongpumpkins 2nd Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 0-100km/h in few second is not so important for Daily driving for work and family in sg..actually most of road yet hit 70km/h then have to stop on next trafic light already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 3 minutes ago, wongpumpkins said: 0-100km/h in few second is not so important for Daily driving for work and family in sg..actually most of road yet hit 70km/h then have to stop on next trafic light already I dun understand why so many altis haters here. If cannot afford it, then buy the korean brands. Short n simple. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, wongpumpkins said: 0-100km/h in few second is not so important for Daily driving for work and family in sg..actually most of road yet hit 70km/h then have to stop on next trafic light already Yes, I agree! But I am honestly curious as to why the 12 Gen Altis is close to 2 seconds slower than the 11 Gen Altis when they share the exact same engine and CVT transmission? And why would the 12 Gen Altis be slower than the Mazda 3 when the Altis has a larger and more powerful engine? Try test driving the 12 Gen Altis and compare the acceleration with the new Mazda 3 in start and go traffic. Honestly I blame our COE and road tax structure. The Altis needs minimally a 1.8L engine to even begin to take advantage of the TNGA platform. Source for 11 Gen Altis : https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/toyota-corolla-altis-2017-facelift-review-singapore-price/ Source for 12 Gen Altis : https://m.sgcarmart.com/articles/articleinfo.php?CT=r&AID=1575&GASRC=sgcm Source for new Mazda 3 : https://www.torque.com.sg/reviews/mazda-3-sedan-driven-in-singapore/ Edited January 30, 2020 by noobcarbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 1 minute ago, noobcarbuyer said: Yes, I agree! But I am honestly curious as to why the 12 Gen Altis is close to 2 seconds slower than the 11 Gen Altis when they share the exact same engine and CVT transmission? And why would the 12 Gen Altis be slower than the Mazda 3 when the Altis has a larger and more powerful engine? Try test driving the 12 Gen Altis and compare the acceleration with the new Mazda 3 in start and go traffic. Honestly I blame our COE and road tax structure. The Altis needs minimally a 1.8L engine to even begin to take advantage of the TNGA platform. Source for 11 Gen Altis : https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/toyota-corolla-altis-2017-facelift-review-singapore-price/ Source for 12 Gen Altis : https://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=1575&GASRC=sgcm Source for new Mazda 3 : https://www.torque.com.sg/reviews/mazda-3-sedan-driven-in-singapore/ Hello friend These are simply put....."paid positive reviews".They need agents to put advertisments in their magazines.. These ads will in turn generate revenue for the mags. As a mag writer, there is some form of control as to how they can write. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 (edited) On 1/28/2020 at 5:07 PM, Spring said: I owned 2 Mz3 before. Yes the pick up is not there and yes handling is always good. In fact I would say Mazda cars are the closest Jap cars to Conti. Having said that, Toyota comes across as more refined vs Mazda. Its quiet and supposedly fuel efficient but now Chris Tan says otherwise Deleted..... Edited January 30, 2020 by Kia7200 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wongpumpkins 2nd Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 1 hour ago, noobcarbuyer said: Yes, I agree! But I am honestly curious as to why the 12 Gen Altis is close to 2 seconds slower than the 11 Gen Altis when they share the exact same engine and CVT transmission? And why would the 12 Gen Altis be slower than the Mazda 3 when the Altis has a larger and more powerful engine? Try test driving the 12 Gen Altis and compare the acceleration with the new Mazda 3 in start and go traffic. Honestly I blame our COE and road tax structure. The Altis needs minimally a 1.8L engine to even begin to take advantage of the TNGA platform. Source for 11 Gen Altis : https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/test-drives/toyota-corolla-altis-2017-facelift-review-singapore-price/ Source for 12 Gen Altis : https://m.sgcarmart.com/articles/articleinfo.php?CT=r&AID=1575&GASRC=sgcm Source for new Mazda 3 : https://www.torque.com.sg/reviews/mazda-3-sedan-driven-in-singapore/ if BM raise the entry level of altis to 1.8 then this car may not sell well..so have to accept our local constraint lo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 6 minutes ago, wongpumpkins said: if BM raise the entry level of altis to 1.8 then this car may not sell well..so have to accept our local constraint lo The basic altis omv already close to 20k. If 1.8, how is the agent going to sell? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 On 1/13/2020 at 9:33 AM, 13177 said: Why dont like mazda 3? Interior mazda 3 looks nicer than altis i think. Even though i have not see the actual new altis interior yet. Exactly. The Mazda 3 is so nice 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wongpumpkins 2nd Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 19 minutes ago, RogerNg_185295 said: The basic altis omv already close to 20k. If 1.8, how is the agent going to sell? then end up like msia..only 1.8 for altis, if u want entry level toyota,buy vios... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 30, 2020 Share January 30, 2020 Just now, wongpumpkins said: then end up like msia..only 1.8 for altis, if u want entry level toyota,buy vios... Then the haters will have other stuff to hate about the 1.8 altis. It's never ending one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derf8988 3rd Gear January 31, 2020 Share January 31, 2020 (edited) 22 hours ago, noobcarbuyer said: Is this reviewer new to Toyota vehicles? Shouldn't the staff at BM have showed him how to do this? Failing which, the reviewer should just refer to the owner's instruction book! Perhaps the he is so used to other brands having the vehicle functions controlled from the infotainment system / console that he can't comprehend Toyota's retro 90's system of controlling auto door functions by a complicated sequence of steps involving the gear shift, door lock button and a stop watch. To auto unlock car's doors when the gear is shift to P : 1. Turn on the engine (the gear is naturally at P when you start your car). 2. Press and hold the unlock button for estimate 5 seconds & release (I did it by counting to myself. No need stop watch. ownself Arga will do) 3. You will hear a lock and unlock sound - Done. Once we perform the above, the door will auto unlock next time we shift our gear to P. All done in 5 seconds. V complicated meh? -.- This works for my previous gen altis. Not sure if that works for the current gen altis. Edited January 31, 2020 by Derf8988 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear January 31, 2020 Share January 31, 2020 21 minutes ago, Derf8988 said: To auto unlock car's doors when the gear is shift to P : 1. Turn on the engine (the gear is naturally at P when you start your car). 2. Press and hold the unlock button for estimate 5 seconds & release (I did it by counting to myself. No need stop watch. ownself Arga will do) 3. You will hear a lock and unlock sound - Done. Once we perform the above, the door will auto unlock next time we shift our gear to P. All done in 5 seconds. V complicated meh? -.- This works for my previous gen altis. Not sure if that works for the current gen altis. Yes exactly the right sequence of steps. Has been the same sequence of steps for most Toyota cars since the 1990's (when I first started driving). Trust me. It takes more than 5 seconds because the damn car needs you to press and hold the button for exactly 5 seconds or else there won't be the unlocking sound when you let go of the button. So need to try a couple of times. But definitely more complicated than just diving into the infotainment or console menus and choosing from the options given. That was why the sgcarmart reviewer was so confused. He wasn't driving since the 1990's and is used to selecting options from a touch screen. We are already in 2020. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic January 31, 2020 Share January 31, 2020 On 1/30/2020 at 10:31 AM, RogerNg_185295 said: I dun understand why so many altis haters here. If cannot afford it, then buy the korean brands. Short n simple. I hate Altis, but I like Corolla loads!🤣🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged February 3, 2020 Share February 3, 2020 On 11/16/2018 at 12:49 PM, Cheefarn said: All these high tech stuff may be very important for Toyota in other countries where it is sold, but here in sg, where we have the most expensive car prices in the world, it is almost 100% certain we won't get such nice stuff here. The reasons as follows: 1. OMV will be high. BM profit margins needs to be insane high as usual. 2. 1.8L hybrid Corolla. Cannot import that. The taxi Prius model cannot sell liao. Same drivetrain. That taxi Prius can command a ridiculous price of $130+k just becos its a Prius. 3. 1.2L Turbo... cannot import that either. CHR can;t sell liao. 4. 2L Dynamic force engine... Thats a show piece for Toyota...but cannot import that either. Else new Camry cannot sell liao 5. And all the above engines will mean Corolla will be a Cat B car, and thats bad for many folks even though Cat B prices are often lower than Cat A. Somehow folks will scream when u show them a B n B Cat B car. 7. Continue with the ancient and weak 1.6L engine will do. This is Corolla ley. The nameplate can sell by itself. BM could delete all airbags and ABS and put 14" wheels into the new Corolla and then charge customers $100k each and there will still be queues at the showroom for this. 8. The majority of Corolla customers are older folks who refused to acknowledge that other makes from Korea are much better designed n built than Toyota, and alot cheaper.... So all the high tech geewhiz and high equipment count means nothing to them in the end. They prob don't know its existence nor how to use it. 9. And this new G12 Corolla will be deployed as PHV cars again in large numbers. No point intro finesse or high tech stuff to the model in sg for its a PHV car. PHV drivers couldn't and won't care what the car have inside. Most of the new Corolla will be abused hard from day 1 and many prob crashed or totaled within a month due to reckless driving. Spot on in your comments, a year moving forward - you can predict the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear February 8, 2020 Share February 8, 2020 12 Gen Altis standard now going for $ 91,888. Anyone visiting the showrooms? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
vknightan Neutral Newbie February 8, 2020 Share February 8, 2020 17 minutes ago, noobcarbuyer said: 12 Gen Altis standard now going for $ 91,888. Anyone visiting the showrooms? Test drive before this promo, now still contemplating between Kia cerato, Hyundai Avante, Honda HRV and Altis. In terms of driving experience, Altis offers the best experience but price is kind of high than rest. May revisit the showroom if they can offer lower than $90K. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...