ChaosMyth 5th Gear November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 SINGAPORE: Commuters may soon be required to put their belongings through an X-ray scanner and walk through a metal detector before entering fare gates at MRT stations. This is part of enhanced security screening being tested at several stations, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Monday (Nov 5). The trial will begin on Nov 12. LTA said the data from the trial will enable it to "streamline and optimise its security screening processes, and reduce the future impact on daily rail operations". "We will also collect feedback from commuters and public transport operators to improve the effectiveness of future security operations and emergency exercises." LTA chief executive Ngien Hoon Ping said the authority will continue to enhance its security measures to ensure that the transport system remained safe and secure for all commuters. "By the end of this year, public transport operators will also progressively introduce the use of handheld metal detectors in their security checks at bus interchanges and MRT stations," he added https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/commuters-to-undergo-security-screening-at-mrt-stations-as-part-10898938 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChaosMyth 5th Gear November 5, 2018 Author Share November 5, 2018 (edited) A bit like taking the train in Bangkok? Havent taken mrt in a long long long time. Edited November 5, 2018 by ChaosMyth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 Lol, machiam taking aeroplane lidat.. lol.. on a serious note, who's gonna pay for the new machines and labor to do this screening?? Then next time enter any premises also need to scan everything? Scanner vendor sure huat liao... Dunno who they are.. hmmm... This is playing into the bad guy's playbook,to make your life as uncomfortable as possible until you give in to them, n do their bidding to stop the inconveniences.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 Just travel naked lah. All those naked people getting kpkb on STOMP are not siao lang, just ahead of their time. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 (edited) On 11/5/2018 at 9:28 AM, Lurpsexx said: Lol, machiam taking aeroplane lidat.. lol.. on a serious note, who's gonna pay for the new machines and labor to do this screening?? Then next time enter any premises also need to scan everything? Scanner vendor sure huat liao... Dunno who they are.. hmmm... This is playing into the bad guy's playbook,to make your life as uncomfortable as possible until you give in to them, n do their bidding to stop the inconveniences.. In response to your last para, a bit of a philosophical tangent, but just imagine...in a world without "bad guys" or any ill-intent at all, you: - wouldn't need locks on your house, cars or drawers - wouldn't need passwords or antivirus software on your PC. Think of the speed increase. - wouldn't even need legal contracts. A simple handshake would do, even to buy or sell a house. Terrorism is just the new bugbear we're all supposed to be paranoid about. But if you really think about it, we need to jump through hoops in our daily lives simply because most humans are scum. Lol (sad laughter). Edited November 5, 2018 by Turboflat4 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 I cannot imagine the "jam" during peak hours. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 Is not so bad if all just guai guai do it.... Is always those few idiots that think they no need scan then kena tarik back or scan some don't scan all China already have and is not that bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 (edited) Shxt what will happen to be my metallic balls what will happen to cai png mistaken as C4 On 11/5/2018 at 8:58 AM, ChaosMyth said: SINGAPORE: Commuters may soon be required to put their belongings through an X-ray scanner and walk through a metal detector before entering fare gates at MRT stations. This is part of enhanced security screening being tested at several stations, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Monday (Nov 5). exercise-station-guard-2018-photo-1.jpg The trial will begin on Nov 12. LTA said the data from the trial will enable it to "streamline and optimise its security screening processes, and reduce the future impact on daily rail operations". "We will also collect feedback from commuters and public transport operators to improve the effectiveness of future security operations and emergency exercises." LTA chief executive Ngien Hoon Ping said the authority will continue to enhance its security measures to ensure that the transport system remained safe and secure for all commuters. "By the end of this year, public transport operators will also progressively introduce the use of handheld metal detectors in their security checks at bus interchanges and MRT stations," he added https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/commuters-to-undergo-security-screening-at-mrt-stations-as-part-10898938 Edited November 5, 2018 by Ash2017 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 Need body search, body grope also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 I don’t mind body search by Chio security personnel. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 more for heightened security where the threat level is very high. Good to allow commuters to get use to such screening, so that when there's a need the flow will be smoother. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 Shanghai already have this for many years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 On 11/5/2018 at 11:51 AM, Davidtch said: I donât mind body search by Chio security personnel.Have seen some aetos or cisco minah xmm quite hot, certainly don't mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teckmeister 1st Gear November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 I think this is bulls**t. Calling bulls**t on this.If they have money to spend on all the security equipment and personnel, why not spend that on maintenance instead? Why not just make sure the trains don't break down? That should be their priority. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 (edited) On 11/5/2018 at 9:54 AM, Turboflat4 said: In response to your last para, a bit of a philosophical tangent, but just imagine...in a world without "bad guys" or any ill-intent at all, you: - wouldn't need locks on your house, cars or drawers - wouldn't need passwords or antivirus software on your PC. Think of the speed increase. - wouldn't even need legal contracts. A simple handshake would do, even to buy or sell a house. Terrorism is just the new bugbear we're all supposed to be paranoid about. But if you really think about it, we need to jump through hoops in our daily lives simply because most humans are scum. Lol (sad laughter). hmm this could only happen if we were like ants under the control of a queen ant. Sounds like a sci-fi show. "We are hive, we are legion" Edited November 5, 2018 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic November 5, 2018 Share November 5, 2018 More and more like animal farm. Basically no more privacy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 6, 2018 Share November 6, 2018 Frankly behind the times and behind many other cities. So many siaolang in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 6, 2018 Share November 6, 2018 this will probably discourage some people taking the mrt and not so crowded ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...