Mcf777 Turbocharged October 18, 2018 Author Share October 18, 2018 This 20c charge is stupid because it is overpriced to begin with. Now kena expose cannot squeeze hawker try to pass to customer look even stupider. Look at Kopitiam at sengkang Square (opp Compass One) when they 1st started, most of the food stalls items are costly due to high rental. all stall holders slowly die off and it became a deserted hawker centre. Look at it now, so vibrant. Must be due to low cost rental and the food not expensive. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 I go Yishun one, many of the stallholders also don't seem to care about the tray anymore. If it's just a bowl of noodle, can carry without tray. Sometimes, they even provide extra plate below the bowl so it won't spill. Good initiative to get away from the stupid tray deposit system. same here at AMK. such a stupid initiative, all it encourages is to dont use tray and make life harder for everyone as now to clear the table, you don't have tray.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 Ban all trays in hawker! Just use hand to carry the bowl/plate? Make more trips? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 Ban all trays in hawker! Just use hand to carry the bowl/plate? Make more trips?tray itself is innocent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 I thought they are social enterprises, not for profit? Not for profit does not equal no profit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 tray itself is innocent. Can't help if you have incompetent imbeciles managing it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 What’s wrong with collecting money from people if they don’t behave. Not returning tray is misbehaving? For so many years, it was the norm leh. And it also creates valuable jobs for those that need it. Don't mistake cost saving measures for social grace. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
uniquely_ad 5th Gear October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Its 50 cents at Marsiling Mall. So Jurong West 20 cents very cheap what ... mai comprain ... Must standardise if $1 then all hawker charge $1 if 20cents then all do 20cents..this is what NS taught me. Must follow. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 I'll gladly pay $0.20 for every tray IF they can assure me all the aunties and uncle table wipers remain gainfully employed and having an lighter work load. The sad reality is that once the foodcourt/hawker centre operators find that they have less need for these workers, they will let them go in a jiffy. Hard truths. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WangWang888 5th Gear October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 I go Yishun one, many of the stallholders also don't seem to care about the tray anymore. If it's just a bowl of noodle, can carry without tray. Sometimes, they even provide extra plate below the bowl so it won't spill. Good initiative to get away from the stupid tray deposit system. Wait they charge for plate, spoon, chopsticks then how? Nowadays eat at hawker also so stressful liao... Better cook maggi at home... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 I'll gladly pay $0.20 for every tray IF they can assure me all the aunties and uncle table wipers remain gainfully employed and having an lighter work load. The sad reality is that once the foodcourt/hawker centre operators find that they have less need for these workers, they will let them go in a jiffy. Hard truths. yup its all about min spending N max profits. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 I'll gladly pay $0.20 for every tray IF they can assure me all the aunties and uncle table wipers remain gainfully employed and having an lighter work load. The sad reality is that once the foodcourt/hawker centre operators find that they have less need for these workers, they will let them go in a jiffy. Hard truths. like eating at fast food restaurant, i would still clear my own table at a HC as i believe it would lighten the job of the cleaners. They still need to wipe the table though. But looking at the current trend of customers at HC, i am probably the 10% or less doing so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 like eating at fast food restaurant, i would still clear my own table at a HC as i believe it would lighten the job of the cleaners. They still need to wipe the table though. But looking at the current trend of customers at HC, i am probably the 10% or less doing so. Not if all you are doing is increasing profit margin for operators by allowing them to sack cleaners.. while still increasing food and rental prices.. hawkers don't benefit I'll gladly pay $0.20 for every tray IF they can assure me all the aunties and uncle table wipers remain gainfully employed and having an lighter work load. The sad reality is that once the foodcourt/hawker centre operators find that they have less need for these workers, they will let them go in a jiffy. Hard truths. Precisely.. By collecting 20c from hawkers, they were originally intending to profit while concurrently reducing cleaners. In the first place, if our returning trays do not result in lower cost, what's the point when we know it's just increasing crony capitalism profits. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) Not if all you are doing is increasing profit margin for operators by allowing them to sack cleaners.. while still increasing food and rental prices.. hawkers don't benefit frankly i care less of what P&L is about, its a habit or culture i would want to cultivate and inculcate to my children which i believe they have been nurtured to do similar. Edited October 19, 2018 by Hamburger 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Can't help if you have incompetent imbeciles managing it.. When government get in the way, people will find way to lobby the government. Take government as a big excuse at the expense of people. To me this shows the government is weak. Cannot make firm ground/stand to prevent such things from happening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) Hawker saga is actually the story of our lives. Landlords and rentiers who do nothing but own all the properties/monopolise all services constantly squeezing avg singaporeans one way or another. Especially that the social enterprise have the POWER of government as backup. Wtf man.. Edited October 19, 2018 by Yewheng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Based on my understanding, stalls in existing NEA controlled hawker centres are at subsidized rates as it is meant as a means for low income family to make a living. However, many have abused this system by sub-renting the same stall to earn extra income. Having this SEHC allows the authority to circumvent this problem as it is on a different platform as the public hawker centres. By having a high rental fee and a ceiling on affordable food prices, this may prevent stall owners from sub-renting out their stalls but to run the stalls themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 frankly i care less of what P&L is about, its a habit or culture i would want to cultivate and inculcate to my children which i believe they have been nurtured to do similar. What's your thought behind that habit or culture? Will you also want to clear your table at a restaurant? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...