ChaosMyth 5th Gear October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Honestbee to open new high-tech Grocery & Dining Megastore https://www.greatdeals.com.sg/2018/10/17/honestbee-habitat-grocery-cafe-megastore-alexandra-opening-launch For those lazy to click on link and read, Ive done the hardwork for yall. Another place to hangout? Or just a matter of time when this will fail too............. How sustainable are these mega stores. Look at Decathlon, Don Don Donki. Are these also a matter of time in tiny SG? It won’t be just another online grocer or food delivery service for Honestbee as the company opens a new brick and mortar store that mixes supermarket with cafe concepts at Alexandra this week. Called the Habitat, it will be Honestbee’s first venture on a physical space that offers the world’s first tech-integrated multi-sensory grocery and dining experience. Habitat will come with a grocery section that carries fresh ingredients directly sourced from farmers and producers around the globe including Japanese spices, dry-aged meat, prosciutto on demand, limited edition balsamic vinegar and unique seasonal produce. It will also house over a dozen cafe and dining concepts including Korean fried chicken from KF Chua, milkshakes and premium ice cream from Milk Made, bubble tea and kombucha from Mr Bubbles, craft beers from White Moustache and much more. Food Meets Technology Besides good food and fresh groceries, Habitat by Honestbee will also be tech-enabled that offers cashless transactions, fully automated checkouts with robots and conveyor belts that manage the packing and collection. Habitat opens this Thursday, 18 October at 34 Boon Leat Terrace. Nearest MRT stations at Pasir Panjang and Labrador Park. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Saw this in the news yesterday. Very interesting. Important thing must be cheap, since they save on labor, should pass some savings to consumers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Saw this in the news yesterday. Very interesting. Important thing must be cheap, since they save on labor, should pass some savings to consumers. i doubt it will be cheap, more on the cafe and shopping experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 More importantly... got free parking? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Saw this in the news yesterday. Very interesting. Important thing must be cheap, since they save on labor, should pass some savings to consumers. i dun think will be cheap. look at the place , layout know liao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Given the track record of all the previous concepts before this, surely doomed to fail. If i wanted to buy groceries, i would go NTUC finest or what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Only winner here is the landlord.Period. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 (edited) so many merchant already trying to close their shop to go online they still open new shop. lets see how long it can last. Edited October 17, 2018 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 too far and out for me stick to my ikea/giant tampines.. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 I've been there already. It's basically an old warehouse converted into a snazzy and hipper looking warehouse that allows shoppers to buy groceries already available on Honestbee platform, without having to fork out cash or even use cards for that matter. The perishables are stored at the back of the 'store' in freezers and/or chillers with various temperatures. That sorta ensures freshness. The carpark lots are already taken up by the office staff, so don't expect any more than 20 lots on a working day, but you can park at ARC and take a short 5-8mins walk over. All in all, you wouldn't go there if you have a purpose cos of location, at least based on what I've seen. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChaosMyth 5th Gear October 17, 2018 Author Share October 17, 2018 I've been there already. It's basically an old warehouse converted into a snazzy and hipper looking warehouse that allows shoppers to buy groceries already available on Honestbee platform, without having to fork out cash or even use cards for that matter. The perishables are stored at the back of the 'store' in freezers and/or chillers with various temperatures. That sorta ensures freshness. The carpark lots are already taken up by the office staff, so don't expect any more than 20 lots on a working day, but you can park at ARC and take a short 5-8mins walk over. All in all, you wouldn't go there if you have a purpose cos of location, at least based on what I've seen. in just one post youve sorta jst destroyed their new megastore a day before their opening. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Location seems not say very good? Think there is not many parking available. Open such a megastore concept with limited parking, how to sustain in longterm? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Many high end condo in Alexandra... used to be cheap 1 rm 1 hall hdb 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Given the track record of all the previous concepts before this, surely doomed to fail. If i wanted to buy groceries, i would go NTUC finest or what. I give it 3 years. I've been there already. It's basically an old warehouse converted into a snazzy and hipper looking warehouse that allows shoppers to buy groceries already available on Honestbee platform, without having to fork out cash or even use cards for that matter. The perishables are stored at the back of the 'store' in freezers and/or chillers with various temperatures. That sorta ensures freshness. The carpark lots are already taken up by the office staff, so don't expect any more than 20 lots on a working day, but you can park at ARC and take a short 5-8mins walk over. All in all, you wouldn't go there if you have a purpose cos of location, at least based on what I've seen. Not enough parking?Don't feel like going liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 they are promoting a high technology supermarket will be like, all about adapting and experience. It may slowly implemented in more supermarkets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 sometimes i wondered why these investors plough money into something that seems will fail because of location, competition, small market I am suspicious there may be some laundry mat in the making (money laundrying) on a serious note: I believe Honest Bee may work as they are vertically connected if you care to check who their investors, you will ...... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 sometimes i wondered why these investors plough money into something that seems will fail because of location, competition, small market I am suspicious there may be some laundry mat in the making (money laundrying) on a serious note: I believe Honest Bee may work as they are vertically connected if you care to check who their investors, you will ...... That’s why u r still being employed Rather than self employed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Location seems not say very good? Think there is not many parking available. Open such a megastore concept with limited parking, how to sustain in longterm?ARC parking. surrounded by many offices. Good location for weekday human traffic. weekend probably will be like ARC. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...