Regardless of Class

Wind30

I am sure envy over material goods or holidays that classmates boast about especially after each school holiday is common. I myself have felt envy with regards to those stuff. 

It's how the child is brought up, the values being inculcated by the parents that will make a difference between fleeting moments of envy to protracted period of jealousy, bitterness and destructive moral compass.

Reminds me of this advertisement...

Really depend on how socially confident that kid is to retort. It's not even about IQ.

primary school or sec school Kids always envy the kids with the nicer "stuff". Our time also the same lah. don't need to paint it over. 
I also envied my classmates (since i never had such nice "stuff")

Edited by Vratenza

I am sure envy over material goods or holidays that classmates boast about especially after each school holiday is common. I myself have felt envy with regards to those stuff. 

It's how the child is brought up, the values being inculcated by the parents that will make a difference between fleeting moments of envy to protracted period of jealousy, bitterness and destructive moral compass.

our time maybe not holidays eg skiing at niseko hahaha  [:p]  [laugh]

But now even pre-schoolers been to different countries, but they just talk about it as matter of fact.

but walkman, discman, those trading cards (idol cards), some fancy-ass pencil case or what not, haha i definitely remember  [:p]

both kids and adult must learn to be contented.

But being contented doesnt mean that you dont try to do better

It means that you are grateful

Therefore, i say it over and over , the race is always with yourself.

Edited by Throttle2

What is our definition of poverty?

I read this article a few years back about 2 british guys who went to experience what true poverty was like in india for 1 month.

These are fairly high functioning fellas, uni grads etc.

So they went there, started living like the families they were staying with. surviving on what is poverty level in india. maybe surviving on 20-30 usd worth of food for the month.

After 1 month, they were completely drained, starving.

They literally could not do any higher function work, they couldn't do more complex mental sums, they were only at best suitable to do menial work just like the people that was beside them.

That's true poverty, boys and girls.

This really explains rich dad poor dad principle.. and how the rich will never understand the poor

KTV class.

https://youtu.be/WbZ38NUHc8g

Anyway. There will be people with differing abilities. Social construction might entail identifying the survival difficulties and maintaining a set minimum standard of care.

A radiologist or someone like alala could could out of poverty stricken homes so it is not a lost cause.

What is not mentioned is the elephant in the room.

Regardless of xxxx, language and ..... followed by ???

Compounding factor that is a continual irritation.

Affirmative action causes friction at the lower levels.

Even at public scholarship level. 

You know its true. Those who live on the reservation.

Edited by Datsun366

This really explains rich dad poor dad principle.. and how the rich will never understand the poor

There are all kinds of behaviour that the lower socio-economic strata exhibit, that the upper middle class just label as counter-productive.

But it might as well being a commentary on 2 animals in different ecosystems.

"Short termism" behaviours are definitely all there in the poorest poor.

I personally feel that "class" or social divides can be taught or advised according since young. Some parents actually instil certain values in their children that make them feel more superior than others. Example having holidays in Japan versus Batam. Allow me to share a true story that happen to my son. 

There was one morning when parents have to attend an P1 school event before a long break. I was there and theres's this boy who ask my son where he is going for holiday. My son told him we are going Batam, a short visit. His friend actually laugh at him saying he's going Japan and not to stupid batam . I was a bit shock not at the boy, but at the mum who then chipped in saying why only Batam and its yucky . What I did replied her was that we have time constraint and my boy never been to Batam before.

I hope parents here will always tell their children to respect every single human being who does decent work and behaves decently.

Luck, lots if it.

Luck, lottery of womb being the first one

Luck, no luck no good teacher

Luck, no luck no job to showcase your talent.

Human nature to internalise success...due to own hard work, discipline, talent etc

But externalise failures...due to arse luck

塞翁失马焉知非福,bad luck? Not til the fat lady sings.

I personally feel that "class" or social divides can be taught or advised according since young. Some parents actually instil certain values in their children that make them feel more superior than others. Example having holidays in Japan versus Batam. Allow me to share a true story that happen to my son. 

There was one morning when parents have to attend an P1 school event before a long break. I was there and theres's this boy who ask my son where he is going for holiday. My son told him we are going Batam, a short visit. His friend actually laugh at him saying he's going Japan and not to stupid batam . I was a bit shock not at the boy, but at the mum who then chipped in saying why only Batam and its yucky . What I did replied her was that we have time constraint and my boy never been to Batam before.

I hope parents here will always tell their children to respect every single human being who does decent work and behaves decently.

If that is so, really quite low class parent.

Children usually just treat the event as it is, going somewhere.

Of course they may have preferences, like going batam obviously is << then going disneyland  [laugh]

I personally feel that "class" or social divides can be taught or advised according since young. Some parents actually instil certain values in their children that make them feel more superior than others. Example having holidays in Japan versus Batam. Allow me to share a true story that happen to my son.

There was one morning when parents have to attend an P1 school event before a long break. I was there and theres's this boy who ask my son where he is going for holiday. My son told him we are going Batam, a short visit. His friend actually laugh at him saying he's going Japan and not to stupid batam . I was a bit shock not at the boy, but at the mum who then chipped in saying why only Batam and its yucky . What I did replied her was that we have time constraint and my boy never been to Batam before.

I hope parents here will always tell their children to respect every single human being who does decent work and behaves decently.

IMO,it is a lost cause bro. How to respect every human? We link income with jobs. Tell me,if someone tells u he is a school teacher and another is a top lawyer, straightaway u will quickly form an opinion of that person already. For example,compared to the nation building years,teachers were well respected but nowadays they are not only looked down upon by parents but by students too. I have personally heard a conversation between a parent and her son. If u dun study hard huh,u will end up like your poor teacher. Can only afford a Altis after all these years in teaching.

https://www.nybooks.com/articles/2018/10/11/michael-young-red-baron/

Very good read. The man who coined meritocracy also identified the pitfalls of meritocracy. Which we can see playing out here in both sg, and in an extreme example, usa.

It's not to absolve blame but it's also an understanding of the limitation of the principles that brought our nation to this day.

Just imagine you are LHL buddy, the answer to your future is settled. So whether you have PhD or work 18 hours a day, they will be able to place you in right place. Haha

yes. people whom you know and if they are relatives ... it’s more or less a done deal

of course must have education or simply get a lao ya uni degree from overseas can liao

the people you know, the relation you have, the connection that establish ... 70% win liao

for the man on the street to achieve that 70% level probably take 1/2 of his/her lifetime

Just imagine you are LHL buddy, the answer to your future is settled. So whether you have PhD or work 18 hours a day, they will be able to place you in right place. Haha

I was reading this article which is quite interesting.

There was this survey done and the respondents were asked to rank the three most important things for a person to get out of poverty trap from the third most important to the most important

1. most important

3 third most important

The choices were

a. Education

b. Ability

c. the people you know

d Hard work

e Luck

What is your answer? The answer you choose say something about you...

Mine is

1. Ability

2. Education

3. Hard work

1. The people you know

2. Ability

3. Luck

Education is not everything. You can have a gift (footballing, art, singing etc) that doesn't require formal education. Although I think a good character is a must.

But having a gift is useless if there's no one to spot you.

That's when luck comes in.

Some people have a 贵人 .. that's who you know.

In short, not everyone gets what they deserve. Not everyone deserves what they get.

天时,地利,人和

1. The people you know

2. Ability

3. Luck

Education is not everything. You can have a gift (footballing, art, singing etc) that doesn't require formal education. Although I think a good character is a must.

But having a gift is useless if there's no one to spot you.

That's when luck comes in.

Some people have a 贵人 .. that's who you know.

In short, not everyone gets what they deserve. Not everyone deserves what they get.

天æ¶ï¼å°å©ï¼äººå

In short, go out n meet more people..

most importantly, be humble.. n the elusive 贵人 will appear soon.. @ Dach tio boh?

in short ... you must be from “good family” ...

In short, go out n meet more people..

most importantly, be humble.. n the elusive 贵人 will appear soon.. @ Dach tio boh?

in short ... you must be from âgood familyâ ...

Normal familee... just happened to met some 贵人along the way ..But must work harder than others to prove to the 贵人...So got pros n cons one hor.. .. not like some people here..