Heartlander Turbocharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 from the photo cannot see the damage got dented or not. if no dented, the white marking can be polish back, ( as good as new) i assume the van is white colour. if dented must go workshop already , if u can find video of him knocking into u , u can go do 3rd party claim on him , but must have quite solid evidence and ask the workshop/ lawyer see the evidence enough or not. if do 3rd party claim, u will be given a brand new door. do not be worry about opposite side didnt make accident report, as long as u have evidence on your side. your 3rd party workshop can chut lawyer letter to the other side to make report for the claim to go through, if no comply will be court case. 'the cruical part is evidence enough or not ' If this kind of minor scratch can do whole car respray, then very wrong. Even got DVR can only record front and back and not sideway. With this kind of incident, the car will not even moved a bit so will not triggle parking mode recording unless it is not recording 24/7 instead of event to save power. If no strong evidence, which kuku workshop will dare to do 3rd party claims? Do not 教坏 the TS lah, or give him false hope. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 U never Install camera that run 24/7? Might not help depending on the area of impact. i have kena scratches on the driver side door also, but front /back cameras unable to capture the evidence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 (edited) I will just do a private settlement and move on but that's just me. All those you asked say don't do private settlement is because they are not the one doing the claim, paperwork, sending car to workshop, the hassle, etc. Maybe you can ask those colleagues who said to make a claim to cover your duties while you do all the paperwork. Who knows, they may just say do private settlement...haha. Just joking. Just ask him for $$$. Is the van white? The white scratches are they the van paintwork or the base coat? If it's the van paintwork, sometimes it can even be polished by Scratch X remover. I didn't see any dents from the photo. Take the money and go for a good meal. I done this for my friend with just scratch X remover, a microfibre cloth and elbow strength. Nevertheless, it's up to you. All the best! Edited October 3, 2018 by Fcw75 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 If this kind of minor scratch can do whole car respray, then very wrong. Even got DVR can only record front and back and not sideway. With this kind of incident, the car will not even moved a bit so will not triggle parking mode recording unless it is not recording 24/7 instead of event to save power. If no strong evidence, which kuku workshop will dare to do 3rd party claims? Do not æå the TS lah, or give him false hope. No workshop will want to go into all that trouble and whatever lawyer letter just to earn a mere 200 dollars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 When SE says void warranty with 24 hour Cam you need to clarify void what warranty. The whole car? The electrical system? Or just the battery? If just battery screw the warranty lah. Battery only $120. Peace of mind priceless. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
howdeepisyourlove127 1st Gear October 3, 2018 Author Share October 3, 2018 If this kind of minor scratch can do whole car respray, then very wrong. Even got DVR can only record front and back and not sideway. With this kind of incident, the car will not even moved a bit so will not triggle parking mode recording unless it is not recording 24/7 instead of event to save power. If no strong evidence, which kuku workshop will dare to do 3rd party claims? Do not 教坏 the TS lah, or give him false hope. It's ok, I genuinely enjoy different view and opinion. I also hope other can gain experience from this thread. Update from the claim department I asked for me a rough estimation of the cost if respray right side door, fix the dent and respray right side mirror. They told replied via replacement of door panel & side mirror total cost 2k to 2.5k. My car is Mazda 6 2018 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 I will just do a private settlement and move on but that's just me. All those you asked say don't do private settlement is because they are not the one doing the claim, paperwork, sending car to workshop, the hassle, etc. Just ask him for $$$. Nevertheless, it's up to you. All the best! In mcf, talk is cheap. Talk is free. I do agree with you private settlement is best for him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 If this kind of minor scratch can do whole car respray, then very wrong. Even got DVR can only record front and back and not sideway. With this kind of incident, the car will not even moved a bit so will not triggle parking mode recording unless it is not recording 24/7 instead of event to save power. If no strong evidence, which kuku workshop will dare to do 3rd party claims? Do not 教坏 the TS lah, or give him false hope. thats y i say must have solid evidence. under gov law, new car under a certain year ( 2 years?? i forgot) all damage is replace brand new parts, no panel beating / repair. i kenna before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lava 5th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 I asked my SE, colleagues and friends immediately after I discovered the dent all said the same thing go report don't do private settlement. The farker just bang and drove off, he did not leave a contact. It was after few hours I was at Mazda making the reporting the security guard caught him return and told him to call me. Despite he is at fault he still can raise his voice. It strengthen my resolve to settle via third party claim. Sorry to hear that, how much does the repair cost? I sent this cooper S hatch to habitat to repaired this cost $11k (changed whole door n front fender). but the clubman was repaired by outside workshop cost less than $1k. therefore, be prepared to chop big carrot if you wanna send your car to the agent for repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 I asked my SE, colleagues and friends immediately after I discovered the dent all said the same thing go report don't do private settlement. The farker just bang and drove off, he did not leave a contact. It was after few hours I was at Mazda making the reporting the security guard caught him return and told him to call me. Despite he is at fault he still can raise his voice. It strengthen my resolve to settle via third party claim. Actually a lot of people give advice without knowing the full detail. To them it is free, no need cost or do anything else whereas you are the 当事人 you will be busy doing the work. Some might not even be knowledgeable. And some might be just angry with the fact that it is a hit-and-run case and want to see some justice being served, but you will be the headless chicken doing the work unfortunately. I am surprise your Mazda SE could give this kind of advice if damage is only contained in the picture. Can PM me his contact I ask my Mazda SE kaki to check if he really know what he is doing. I quite familiar with a few SEs in Ubi. I know you are pissed off by the attitude of the van driver, but sometimes you have to learn to let go when you know it is minor in the first place and not worth you wasting more time on it. Can be sure if you report insurance, the excess you have to pay would be double or triple the $200 to repair it on your own. Perhaps you can share how much is your insurance excess or you are clueless about the claiming process? If go 3rd party claim, the process will take months with no confirmation that you will succeed. You sure it will be worth your time over such a minor incident? Pardon me being frank, I do not like to see fellow citizen being egg on to bigger mess. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 thats y i say must have solid evidence. under gov law, new car under a certain year ( 2 years?? i forgot) all damage is replace brand new parts, no panel beating / repair. i kenna before. TS already mentioned no solid evidences Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 It's ok, I genuinely enjoy different view and opinion. I also hope other can gain experience from this thread. Update from the claim department I asked for me a rough estimation of the cost if respray right side door, fix the dent and respray right side mirror. They told replied via replacement of door panel & side mirror total cost 2k to 2.5k. My car is Mazda 6 2018 From the photo you posted, no need to replace side mirror at all unless got broken somewhere that not shown. The respray of right side door only cost < $200 which Mazda will subcon to outside workshop inclusive of putty to fix any dents. The side mirror seems only scratches which can respray at lesser cost. Anyway if you intend you go ahead, then by all means. I am not the one doing the leg works so I definitely no objection haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
howdeepisyourlove127 1st Gear October 3, 2018 Author Share October 3, 2018 Actually a lot of people give advice without knowing the full detail. To them it is free, no need cost or do anything else whereas you are the 当事人 you will be busy doing the work. Some might not even be knowledgeable. And some might be just angry with the fact that it is a hit-and-run case and want to see some justice being served, but you will be the headless chicken doing the work unfortunately. I am surprise your Mazda SE could give this kind of advice if damage is only contained in the picture. Can PM me his contact I ask my Mazda SE kaki to check if he really know what he is doing. I quite familiar with a few SEs in Ubi. I know you are pissed off by the attitude of the van driver, but sometimes you have to learn to let go when you know it is minor in the first place and not worth you wasting more time on it. Can be sure if you report insurance, the excess you have to pay would be double or triple the $200 to repair it on your own. Perhaps you can share how much is your insurance excess or you are clueless about the claiming process? If go 3rd party claim, the process will take months with no confirmation that you will succeed. You sure it will be worth your time over such a minor incident? Pardon me being frank, I do not like to see fellow citizen being egg on to bigger mess. Hi Heartlander, Thank you for your active participation in this thread, I don't think is my SE fault as he was overseas and just ask me to report if I got video camera footage. I also do not wish to sabo him. Hope u can understand that. As for my vehicle Insurance excess is $600 and yes I'm a bit clueless about the claim process. I created this thread so I can gather more information and learn from it. The claim executive did told me no confirmation I'll succeed some may drag a year plus with no conclusion. Despite I made a TP accident report and Insurance accident report can I still settle privately? IMG_9039.JPG I sent this cooper S hatch to habitat to repaired this cost $11k (changed whole door n front fender). but the clubman was repaired by outside workshop cost less than $1k. therefore, be prepared to chop big carrot if you wanna send your car to the agent for repair. $11,000? Seriously? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Hi Heartlander, Thank you for your active participation in this thread, I don't think is my SE fault as he was overseas and just ask me to report if I got video camera footage. I also do not wish to sabo him. Hope u can understand that. As for my vehicle Insurance excess is $600 and yes I'm a bit clueless about the claim process. I created this thread so I can gather more information and learn from it. The claim executive did told me no confirmation I'll succeed some may drag a year plus with no conclusion. Despite I made a TP accident report and Insurance accident report can I still settle privately? You can always call the insurance company to tell them that you wish to do private settlement if you decide to change your mind, but you might need to furbish some disclaimer document from the other party to have closure for the case. Otherwise it might decide to increase your premium next year to buffer for possible loss. You better check with the insurance company as different company have different policy. Now is time for you to decide what to do after knowing all the options. We definitely appreciate your intention to create awareness and sharing for all to learn. I am sure some of us might not even know what is excess for, anything just try to claim and claim until the reality bite. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Hi Heartlander, Thank you for your active participation in this thread, I don't think is my SE fault as he was overseas and just ask me to report if I got video camera footage. I also do not wish to sabo him. Hope u can understand that. As for my vehicle Insurance excess is $600 and yes I'm a bit clueless about the claim process. I created this thread so I can gather more information and learn from it. The claim executive did told me no confirmation I'll succeed some may drag a year plus with no conclusion. Despite I made a TP accident report and Insurance accident report can I still settle privately? I doubt the van driver willing. Afterall you mention his response is negative Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
howdeepisyourlove127 1st Gear October 3, 2018 Author Share October 3, 2018 (edited) You can always call the insurance company to tell them that you wish to do private settlement if you decide to change your mind, but you might need to furbish some disclaimer document from the other party to have closure for the case. Otherwise it might decide to increase your premium next year to buffer for possible loss. You better check with the insurance company as different company have different policy. Now is time for you to decide what to do after knowing all the options. We definitely appreciate your intention to create awareness and sharing for all to learn. I am sure some of us might not even know what is excess for, anything just try to claim and claim until the reality bite. How does one settle privately? if let's say I did not report accident and insurance go repair and the cost is $500. When I present the invoice to the hit and run driver if he doesn't want to pay or deem expensive, what should I do since i miss the within 24 hours reporting? My main concern is he doesn't want to pay up. Edited October 3, 2018 by howdeepisyourlove127 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
howdeepisyourlove127 1st Gear October 3, 2018 Author Share October 3, 2018 I doubt the van driver willing. Afterall you mention his response is negative He really damn guai lan despite I courteously asked for his cooperation to provide insurance company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 (edited) How does one settle privately? if let's say I did not report accident and insurance go repair and the cost is $500. When I present the invoice to the hit and run driver if he doesn't want to pay or deem expensive, what should I do since i miss the within 24 hours reporting? My main concern is he doesn't want to pay up. this is the 1 important part u confuse. if accident, no inj, u just go make accident report. whether u do private settlement or claim insurance, or 3rd party claim , all that come later. u make accident report is just to have a case there for further action if needed. and most importantly it make u comply with LTA law. It does not mean u make accident report mean u must claim any thing, in this case, the van driver dun have any agreement with u . if u never make any report, and the van driver go make 1, and say that u are the 1 moving and side wipe him. do u believe it will be rule in his favour??? yeah it will happen, cos he comply with law by making report, and u didnt. Edited October 3, 2018 by Beregond ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...