[Help] Less than 3 month new car got hit and run by van

howdeepisyourlove127

He really damn guai lan despite I courteously asked for his cooperation to provide insurance company.

Then just do at outside ws. After repairs, your cannot cannot be classified as an accident free car already Edited by RogerNg_185295

this is the 1 important part u confuse.

if accident, no inj, 

u just go make accident report.

whether u do private settlement or claim insurance, or 3rd party claim , all that come later.

u make accident report is just to have a case there for further action if needed. 

and most importantly it make u comply with LTA  law.

It does not mean u make accident report mean u must claim any thing,

in this case, the van driver dun have any agreement with u . 

if u never make any report, and the van driver go make 1, and say that u are the 1 moving and side wipe him. 

do u believe it will be rule in his favour???

yeah it will happen, cos he comply with law by making report, and u didnt.

tenor.gif

I will just do a private settlement and move on but that's just me.

All those you asked say don't do private settlement is because they are not the one doing the claim, paperwork, sending car to workshop, the hassle, etc.

Maybe you can ask those colleagues who said to make a claim to cover your duties while you do all the paperwork. Who knows, they may just say do private settlement...haha. Just joking.

Just ask him for $$$.

Is the van white? The white scratches are they the van paintwork or the base coat? If it's the van paintwork, sometimes it can even be polished by Scratch X remover. I didn't see any dents from the photo. Take the money and go for a good meal.

I done this for my friend with just scratch X remover, a microfibre cloth and elbow strength. [:p]

Nevertheless, it's up to you. All the best!

attachicon.gif21652D5B-D707-4EF9-9C9B-11DB8CD3B5D9.jpegattachicon.gif61EE969A-9E98-4541-AC3A-EA83A04DC982.jpeg

Similar to mine.

post-163127-0-38386100-1538536692_thumb.jpeg

post-163127-0-75406500-1538536724_thumb.jpeg

How does one settle privately? 

if let's say I did not report accident and insurance go repair and the cost is $500. When I present the invoice to the hit and run driver if he doesn't want to pay or deem expensive, what should I do since i miss the within 24 hours reporting?

My main concern is he doesn't want to pay up.

mini and mazda are under euroka group, they will chop u carrot for any repair carry out by them.

the repair cost of my cooper s was $11k charged by euroka, what do u think they will charge u for your mazda?

I got my wife clubman repaired at a reputable workshop outside only cost me less than $1k with 3 days of downtime.

for your case I think the cost of repair will be ard $150 to $250 if there is some dents, else will be much cheaper

if just surface repair on paint work.

if I would you. I will make a police report and get my lawyer to send him the repair invoice with a lawyer letter. sometime it

is not because of money but more on teaching those "fu-ker" a lesson.

How does one settle privately? 

if let's say I did not report accident and insurance go repair and the cost is $500. When I present the invoice to the hit and run driver if he doesn't want to pay or deem expensive, what should I do since i miss the within 24 hours reporting?

My main concern is he doesn't want to pay up.

I think Beregond has provided a good answer on this. Going through an accident repair and claim is very troublesome, went through 3 of them almost 10 years ago within 2 years so learnt quite abit.

Insurance coy will not proceed to allow shortlisted workshop repair until it is clear how the claim is to be made - own damage (OD) or 3rd part? If claim OD, workshop can proceed to repair straightway. It will arrange for surveyors from insurance coy to assess the damage and agree on what to repair, then the workshop can proceed to do the repair. If 3rd party, insurance coy on both side need to agree on who is responsible which will take time and might end up court case. 

But whatever the scenario, you are advised to report the incident to your insurance coy within 24hrs in case of counter-claim, which you have followed so far. Now that you know the options with the repair cost, you will need to decide how to proceed. If you claim OD, repair can proceed straightaway but your premium would increase next year by upto 100%, and possibly  the next too depending on coy. It could also be negligible increase since the amount is only $2.5k which is small for the coy. This you can check further with the coy about the premium loading. If you think ok, then proceed to do OD claim easier.

But if you still want to pursue 3rd party claim to teach the van driver a lesson, the process will be lengthy with no sure outcome you will win. I would advice you to do private settle by repairing it at outside workshop which should bring the cost down to about $300. Worse case swallow it yourself. Just ask the insurance coy how the coy to proceed with private settlement to prevent premium loading.

Good luck.

I think Beregond has provided a good answer on this. Going through an accident repair and claim is very troublesome, went through 3 of them almost 10 years ago within 2 years so learnt quite abit.

Insurance coy will not proceed to allow shortlisted workshop repair until it is clear how the claim is to be made - own damage (OD) or 3rd part? If claim OD, workshop can proceed to repair straightway. It will arrange for surveyors from insurance coy to assess the damage and agree on what to repair, then the workshop can proceed to do the repair. If 3rd party, insurance coy on both side need to agree on who is responsible which will take time and might end up court case.

But whatever the scenario, you are advised to report the incident to your insurance coy within 24hrs in case of counter-claim, which you have followed so far. Now that you know the options with the repair cost, you will need to decide how to proceed. If you claim OD, repair can proceed straightaway but your premium would increase next year by upto 100%, and possibly the next too depending on coy. It could also be negligible increase since the amount is only $2.5k which is small for the coy. This you can check further with the coy about the premium loading. If you think ok, then proceed to do OD claim easier.

But if you still want to pursue 3rd party claim to teach the van driver a lesson, the process will be lengthy with no sure outcome you will win. I would advice you to do private settle by repairing it at outside workshop which should bring the cost down to about $300. Worse case swallow it yourself. Just ask the insurance coy how the coy to proceed with private settlement to prevent premium loading.

Good luck.

And someone suggest engage lawyer to teach him a lesson. Who pay? The person who suggested definitely will not pay

But whatever the scenario, you are advised to report the incident to your insurance coy within 24hrs in case of counter-claim, which you have followed so far. Now that you know the options with the repair cost, you will need to decide how to proceed. If you claim OD, repair can proceed straightaway but your premium would increase next year by upto 100%, and possibly  the next too depending on coy. It could also be negligible increase since the amount is only $2.5k which is small for the coy. This you can check further with the coy about the premium loading. If you think ok, then proceed to do OD claim easier.

Good luck.

ya the most sensible way in the end is forget it, pay 300 own pocket spray back, save trouble.

esp when ts mention no solid evidence.

the worst action is go AD , cos they super inflat and your own insurance and pocket burn big hole.

only when u got evidence and super tulan that van driver die die must teach him lesson,

and 3rd party workshop promise u in BLACK N WHITE u dun need pay a single cents confirm can claim.

Then u go ahead.

ya the most sensible way in the end is forget it, pay 300 own pocket spray back, save trouble.

the worst action is go AD , cos they super inflat and your own insurance and pocket burn big hole.

only when u got evidence and super tulan that van driver die die must teach him lesson,

and 3rd party workshop promise u in BLACK N WHITE u dun need pay a single cents confirm can claim.

Then u go ahead.

黑白讲?

And someone suggest engage lawyer to teach him a lesson. Who pay? The person who suggested definitely will not pay

i will definitely take up the legal cost if the other party is so KL.

Then u go ahead.

Bro, even with video evidence don't think workshops would give it to you in writing that the claim would be successful. All it takes is the driver of the other vehicle to be found out doing drink driving (for example) and all hell will be loose and you are on your own...happened to one of the fellow bro's in this forum as well. 

The entire insurance industry is in terrible shape. As paying customers we are always left to pay and get no value or poor value in return ...got evidence doesn't make it fool proof for us. It is just another added layer of comfort at least in SG - people flip worse than roti prata and these evidences make them think may be thrice before they chance their flipping.

TS u can look for jdm autocare, he do repair for mazda cars... Look for CY.

Sometimes life is like that. Less is more.

The more things u have, the more things u have to worry

Bro, even with video evidence don't think workshops would give it to you in writing that the claim would be successful. All it takes is the driver of the other vehicle to be found out doing drink driving (for example) and all hell will be loose and you are on your own...happened to one of the fellow bro's in this forum as well. 

The entire insurance industry is in terrible shape. As paying customers we are always left to pay and get no value or poor value in return ...got evidence doesn't make it fool proof for us. It is just another added layer of comfort at least in SG - people flip worse than roti prata and these evidences make them think may be thrice before they chance their flipping.

yeah u hit the spot, 

imagine u kenna buang, u 100+1% sure u can win, and do 3rd party claim.

but did u ever wonder if claim didnt win?? how??

your car already repair, confirm some 1 need to pay the bills, it would be u 

imagine opposite come out new video evidence after every thing done, and make u no case at all.? that will be si bei jialat.

'normally' good n responsible 3rd claim workshop will advice according, if after talking to their lawyer if they no confidence they will ask u ,

if u still want to go ahead and try, cos u sibei confident , or damn tulan the opposite side.

normally they will ask u sign paper first if claim fail,  u need pay the bill yourself.

i dun know wat is the standard procedure like, just be very careful when sign any thing.

this is also the reason, why every claim is so inflat, the industry is so bad,

every 1 super kiasu, inflat as much as possbile,

so even if claim 50% of the amount only, owner still dun need pay anything.

Edited by Beregond

Best check with your insurer if can wait until the TP incident report result out then make claim.

If yes and the result shows the van driver is liable then proceed to claim. If not then self repair.

Sorry to hijack this thread... reading all these posts make me wonder, in an accident, we should inform insurance regardless of claiming or not? If not claiming what impact will this have in terms of future premimims and NCD?

It's ok, I genuinely enjoy different view and opinion. I also hope other can gain experience from this thread.

Update from the claim department I asked for me a rough estimation of the cost if 

respray right side door, fix the dent and respray right side mirror.

They told replied via replacement of door panel & side mirror total cost 2k to 2.5k.

My car is Mazda 6 2018

Bro private settlement lah.... this type you can either polish off 90% easily (the rest your fading memory will take care) at near 0 dollar, or go respray 1 panel  will be couple hundreds.

If you claim... it will be out of your own pocket. No matter whose fault, next few years your insurance will pad thick thick... end up you pay back many thousands. From my old sad experiences.

Best to chill and cool down.

Hi Heartlander,

Thank you for your active participation in this thread, I don't think is my SE fault as he was overseas and just ask me to report if I got video camera footage. I also do not wish to sabo him. Hope u can understand that.

As for my vehicle Insurance excess is $600 and yes I'm a bit clueless about the claim process. I created this thread so I can gather more information and learn from it. The claim executive did told me no confirmation I'll succeed some may drag a year plus with no conclusion. 

Despite I made a TP accident report and Insurance accident report can I still settle privately? 

$11,000? Seriously?

14wc.gif

$600 excess? solution for you. 

1) like many bro mention around $200 will settle, I myself spend $200 on such damage before. this save you $400.

2) save you NCD

3)YOLO not every battle need to fight and need to win in life! the time you spend doing claims, yet not sure can claim or not might end up self pay might as well 1) spend time with kids if you have 2) bring your wife to a romantic dinner 3) primitive sex or sexcapade with your GF or BF

better time and money well spend yeah on the $400 saving  :)

Edited by D3badge